We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1926 Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1926 Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
1926 Heritage Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Jalan Burma, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in George Town
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Booked a superior terrace triple with a rollaway bed for total 4 adults and a child. Like the idea of platform bed, which the kid get to play at the platform instead of the beds.
No problem with check in and check out, the hotel charged when checked in, so no bill to pay when I was checking out, save time as I needed go to airport after that. Staffs are friendly and helpful.
Room is ok size, even with an extra bed, there was still room to move around. Clean room with hard tiles floor. Bathroom is basic and clean with shower only. A door open to the car park which the car was parked under shade. Swimming pool look nice and clean.
Breakfast is limited selection but it FOC, no complain about it.
Overall, happy with the room and rate. Nice place to snap some pictures. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    124
    109
    20
    20
See reviews for
54
61
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The reception and restaurant could do with some smartening up to bring them in line with the rooms. Usually it's the other way around.
Rooms are spacious, ensuite & with terrace or balcony. I couldn't get my a/c working but within 5 minutes of reporting this to reception, maintenance were there to reset for me.
Staff friendly, pool clean & quiet, breakfast varied to cater for many nationalities although did not vary much, was good.
The malls are a good 30 minute walk but very handy for Gleneagles Medical Centre.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

it was only one night i liked the decoration and the staff just the bathroom need maintenance location was not that good i recommend it to all
it was only one night i liked the decoration and the staff just the bathroom need maintenance location was not that good i recommend it to all

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Was a lone traveller who stayed in the hotel in february.Old hotel with old fashioned hallways and a nice pool.good prompt service.Had a bit of language issues at the reception .No atms at the hotel so be sure to have local currency in hand when ur there.I had to run around early morning searching for an atm and currency converter at 7 am to pay the hotel.nice big pool.gud quiet place but far away from ferrengini beach .they get u a cab for an hourly rate from the hotel to travel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked a double room for a couple and 4 yo girls then.

Extra bed was provided upon request and the housekeeping team was fast and efficient.

It's a wooden floor above ground. Bathroom was just basic.

Breakfast should be considered basic but I dunno why/ it was like so good... ppl were not getting enough (especially Singaporeans). Fortunately, the kitchen top up when food ran out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel based on my sister's recommendation because she stayed here before with her friends. Due to Malaysia Day, the rooms are fully booked so we booked a family room instead for 4 of us. It consist of 3 queen sized beds with plenty of pillows. The hotel provide minimum basic amenities such as 6 bottles of mineral water, soaps, shower caps, coffee, tea, sugar & creamer. These are replenish on a daily basis. They provide an electric kettle for hot water. We stayed on the 2nd floor with not much view from our window. The air conditioner works well which is definitely a plus point during the hot weather.

The best part of this hotel is the location. It is located strategically in Georgetown, near all the tourist spots & street foods. Few doors up the road is where the best hokkien mee (aka prawn mee) at Old Green House Restaurant for dinner. We can just easily walk across Him Heang to eat the famous Penang Tambun biscuits.

However, we have to point out that the wifi in the hotel doesn't work. We would definitely stayed in this hotel again due to its location.

Room Tip: The hotel is old thus if there are children running on the 2nd floor, it is very noisy because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 8 days here on a family-history search, so we enjoyed the heritage aspect of the hotel. We had the large corner heritage room on the 2nd floor & loved the balcony from which we could watch lightning storms at night. The breakfast was good but rather monotonous if you stay as long as we did. Great Haininese restaurant next door - best springs rolls we've ever had! Limited TV for English-speakers: CNN was available in the lobby but not in the rooms. No phone service either - to call a taxi we had to borrow a cell phone at the reception desk at a cost of 6 ringgits. We enjoyed the pool in the afternoons, though we noticed that posted clothing rules are not enforced. (We observed a Muslim woman in full garb in the pool, while her young son was naked.) Good location - 7/11 nearby (beer available), walking distance to Komtar (bus depot), Gurney Drive, Chowrasta Market area. Bus stops on the street outside the hotel will take you to Pilau Tikkus for shopping & food courts. All in all, we had a lovely stay at this hotel & especially enjoyed its heritage atmosphere.

Room Tip: Take the corner king-size heritage room, worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to 1926 Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1926 Heritage Hotel

Address: 227 Jalan Burma, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1926 Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1926 Heritage Hotel has just undergone a refurbishing program which involves changing of all furniture an bedding in all categories of room, the basic amenities are 32" LCD flat panel TVs, tea and coffee making and mini fridge (with the exception of standard room and cottage room) Free wi-fi is standard feature in all rooms and in the public areas.The original building was built in 1926, the property once served as a home to British colonial immigration officers and local administrators of Penang. Located off Imigresen Road and Burma Road, 1926 Heritage Hotel occupies 24 heritage link houses beautifully restored to its former glory.In 1999 The State Government of Penang under PDC (Penang Development Corporation) invested a significant amount of funds to refurbish this colonial property as a heritage hotel with most of its Anglo-Malay architectural essence still intact. Surrounded by spacious rooms, wooden interiors, long corridors, balmy balconies, beautiful victorian windows as well as pictures of the old Penang, a sense of nostalgia can be felt throughout the property. And we top that experience with warm, friendly service.The Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the historic city of Georgetown, founded in 1786 by Captain Francis Light. Listed as a UNESCO heritage city, Georgetown is a one of a kind melting pot of cultures, heritage, foods and festivals from diverse communities.1926 Heritage Hotel is all about bringing you the wholesome experience of the British colonial era and the spirit of Malaysian hospitality from the very moment you step into our lobby. We at 1926 Heritage Hotel are ever ready to go the extra mile to ensure your stay with us will be most memorable. Your satisfaction is our number one priority and we hope that every second you spend with us will be filled with nostalgia of the colonial era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your 1926 Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1926 Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1926 Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.