We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service & Wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 1926 Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bookmark
You added 1926 Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
1926 Heritage Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Jalan Burma, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in George Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bad Service & Wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. Checked in late evening and the check in process is slow it took about 20 minutes to complete the process. We booked for 2 Standard Double Room. The room decoration just simple but toilet a bit rundown, the shower head spoilt and the shower curtain is dirty. The pool is great but when request for swimming towels at the reception, we were informed that "No More Swimming Towels" can get it next morning. Next morning when we asked again for swimming towel at the reception, again they told me "No More Swimming Towels". No greetings from Receptionist whenever you passed the Reception Counter, but the housekeeper are very friendly. Totally No WIFI reception in room, called up reception to enquired and asked for assistance and their feedback "Is Like that", feel disappointed. The hotel location is away from old Penang Road but easy access to all types of restaurants/food and other parts of Penang.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    111
    97
    18
    18
See reviews for
41
56
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It's really nice hotel and good location. The hotel room is really spacious and nice balcony. All things are seem new and renovated. Breakfast is so good with alot of choices. The out door swimming pool is cool and fresh. The Manager- Mr. JP.Wong is really friendly and helpful. Hotel have a tour desk could help you to book any thing here like tours, car rental...

Room Tip: Should bargain if you take the taxi outside. There is a nice place is old city which a lot of thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Chose the hotel based on location (a 20 min walk to pulau tikus night market and the core heritage area). This was, however, a poor choice due to service and room experience. The manager/front desk personnel (Hanakim) disregarded my presence and served the European customer behind by getting him to come in front of me. The fact that the other free staff went to serve the european customer as well made me furious as my brother and I stood there for close to 5min without being attended.

The rooms were not exactly clean, our feet were rather dirty after taking off our shoes when we stepped into the room. To those who are sensitive to spiritual beings, we also felt that the room was eerie and wasn't clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with out teenage children after a trek in Sumatra. Great pool, comfortable and close to transport ( Bus 101 from the street outside to the beach) Very quiet we managed to sleep in seriously every morning. Our teens appreciated wi fi internet, although they had to ring reception fr the password. Easy access to all of Penang by taxi or bus and helpful staff. Great out side restaurants - really cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. It's located a bit outside the old centre of Georgetown, but you can walk there in about 20 minutes. There are very good (simple local) eateries just more or less next door. The charm of the hotel is the old building with its long corridor on two floors hold in cool white. It has the sphere of a colonial building. Nice swimming-pool although the garden around it is not very big. Even if it is located at a big road, it is quiet inside. There is parking space if you need it. The hotel is well maintained, spotless clean and comfortable. Our room was quite small, but comfortable, modern with a good bed. The bathroom is simple but ok. You get a breakfast buffet with Western and Asian choice. The staff is friendly and helpsome. We recommend this hotel – good price/value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick60
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked into here for one night on a visa run from Thailand. It was cheap and cheerful. Room was clean but very basic. Bathroom was ok but shower had a very dirty shower curtain and poor shower, towels were old and grey and very used. The plus was the hotel was in a good location,,ample parking spacing and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We online booking about 2 master 1 superior and 1 small room for our family trip, however they didn't notice us one room cannot over than 10ppls until we check it they just advice to us need take two more small room! Hotel never free breakfast for all rooms we stay except the small room they force us to take at last min got 2ppl free breakfast only! Well, after that 2nd day our family ppl go for breakfast then the serivce guy never advice them to go counter redeem ticket just asking got voucher? If not need to pay rm12/person! After that, we go to counter checking the voucher, the Indian service "lady" is damn no manner at all, direct told us no free breakfast for all our group room, and never check for us!! I never think Penang still got this such hotel service at all, never come here against!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1926 Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1926 Heritage Hotel

Address: 227 Jalan Burma, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1926 Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1926 Heritage Hotel has just undergone a refurbishing program which involves changing of all furniture an bedding in all categories of room, the basic amenities are 32" LCD flat panel TVs, tea and coffee making and mini fridge (with the exception of standard room and cottage room) Free wi-fi is standard feature in all rooms and in the public areas.The original building was built in 1926, the property once served as a home to British colonial immigration officers and local administrators of Penang. Located off Imigresen Road and Burma Road, 1926 Heritage Hotel occupies 24 heritage link houses beautifully restored to its former glory.In 1999 The State Government of Penang under PDC (Penang Development Corporation) invested a significant amount of funds to refurbish this colonial property as a heritage hotel with most of its Anglo-Malay architectural essence still intact. Surrounded by spacious rooms, wooden interiors, long corridors, balmy balconies, beautiful victorian windows as well as pictures of the old Penang, a sense of nostalgia can be felt throughout the property. And we top that experience with warm, friendly service.The Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the historic city of Georgetown, founded in 1786 by Captain Francis Light. Listed as a UNESCO heritage city, Georgetown is a one of a kind melting pot of cultures, heritage, foods and festivals from diverse communities.1926 Heritage Hotel is all about bringing you the wholesome experience of the British colonial era and the spirit of Malaysian hospitality from the very moment you step into our lobby. We at 1926 Heritage Hotel are ever ready to go the extra mile to ensure your stay with us will be most memorable. Your satisfaction is our number one priority and we hope that every second you spend with us will be filled with nostalgia of the colonial era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1926 Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1926 Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1926 Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.