We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1926 Heritage Hotel

Save Saved
You added 1926 Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1926 Heritage Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Jalan Burma, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 50 hotels in Georgetown
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was a last minute decision and this hotel offered the best price among all available hotels. It's a good basic hotel that offers a clean shower and firm beds. Good location too. The pool looked inviting, but didn't have time for a dip. Would definitely consider staying here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    107
    95
    18
    18
See reviews for
39
54
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

stayed for four nights. staff were friendly enough, depending who was on shift! the hotel itself was charming with its colonial lay out and huge corridors! room seemed nothing like in pictures, was quite dark as cupboard blocked half the window, the view was only of neighbouring room window and tiny courtyard. the first night didn't get much sleep due to very noisy Aircon system outside and extremely hard bed. also a dog barking constantly! have noticed other ppl have had a similar complaint! the second night the dog started again we asked to be moved which they did easily. our second room was the exact same layout except the maintenance of the room dropped significantly... the bathroom floor was peeling off, the shower rail was broken, the ceiling in room and bathroom were leaking during storms and there was mould patched up from these leaks. have noticed that some balcony rooms have been done up so perhaps staying in one of them would make for a more pleasant stay? the sheets had holes in them and didnt fit the bed. the pool was nice though had tiles missing in sections. location was handy and lots of little restaurants to explore. tv only had 1 English channel and no subtitles for ther channels. breakfast had little choice ie 'fruit platter' had one type of fruit... but in a whole was edible... i won't be staying here again and would struggle to recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks and couldn't have been happier. The hotel is beautiful and historic. Our twin bed room was a good size with tea and coffee making facilities. The reception staff were most helpful and friendly. Breakfast catered for different nationalities and was very tasty. The pool was a decent size and had shaded areas for lounging. The restaurant, which was packed out on weekend with locals, has amazing food with excellent prices.

I know the hotel is old and not in perfect condition but you couldn't ask for a better place to stay in. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room with a private courtyard which was great for us to sit outside and also to dry our was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangi, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Everthing was perfect until one morning at 7 am, a group of people went to the swimming pool with lots of noise. They did not care of other customers in the hotel. They act like they were the only group staying in the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good location for visiting Penang , you can really get a feel for it's colonial past .
Original layout with nice rooms featuring original floors and doors , but with modern plumbing ,A/C , fridge and comfortable beds .
By busy road , but convienient for old town , Gurney Drive and transport hub .
Useful 7/11 store nearby . Excellent food at in hotel Hainanese restaurant.Many other eating options around .
Pleasant helpfull staff , tours and taxis organised on site.
Many thanks to manager Peter who went out of his way to get our laptop fixed with no fuss .

Room Tip: Only slept in one so do not know what others are like 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Easy access to all types of restaurants/ food and other parts of Penang. Rooms are pretty old & dark but clean & everything is in working condition. But if you stay on ground floor, you will need to close the curtains. Suitable for short 2-night stay & the price is reasonable - RM 110 per night

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights from 11 Feb 2013 at very low cost. We arrived from the aiport late evening and were told the room we had booked with balcony was not available till the next day because of problems with a ceiling in another room. However we were not only moved the next morning but were given an "upgrade" - tho' we are not sure what the difference was between our original booking and this. A very big room, big bathroom and big bed but we found the mattress too hard for our comfort (but had much the same experience of a haard bed in the two other more expensive hotels we stayed in in Penang, including the top one, the E & O. ). Towels and soap provided and at the low cost one would not expect further luxuries. Breakfast reasonable for the cost, coffee excellent .The pool is delightful to come back to and sit by after visiting the town. However the location is not ideal for exploring the China town and Little India areas. Jalan Burma is one way with the traffic going out of town when we were there - and it was not clear how to get a bus going into town, so we walked the 20 mins. to Komtar (a bus centre as well a a chopping centre) which in greater heat is tiring. However we gathered from the paper that Jalan Burma was about to be made one way in the other direction - into town. The staff were mostly very pleasant and helpful, although the Bangladeshi chamber boys had no English and could not read the difference between the "Do Not disturb" and "Please Make up my room" signs so were liable either to charge in or to neglect the room having failed to read the sign on the door. It is true there are no room safes but the advice is to ask Reception to take custody of valuables in a safe - we risked it by hiding our passports etc as beest we could.The manager, when we asked the best way to get to Penang Hill, expecting to have a complicated bus journey, immediately provided his hotel car and driver to take us there for only 30 ringits (it is easy to get a bus back from there) - a 20 min journey in the morning which would otherwise have taken at least an hour. We ate in the food hawker market almost next door - this is divided by a side road and the section on the further side gives a better choice of food in our view, but fresh fruit juice is only available on the nearer side.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1926 Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1926 Heritage Hotel

Address: 227 Jalan Burma, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 1926 Heritage Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1926 Heritage Hotel has just undergone a refurbishing program which involves changing of all furniture an bedding in all categories of room, the basic amenities are 32" LCD flat panel TVs, tea and coffee making and mini fridge (with the exception of standard room and cottage room) Free wi-fi is standard feature in all rooms and in the public areas.The original building was built in 1926, the property once served as a home to British colonial immigration officers and local administrators of Penang. Located off Imigresen Road and Burma Road, 1926 Heritage Hotel occupies 24 heritage link houses beautifully restored to its former glory.In 1999 The State Government of Penang under PDC (Penang Development Corporation) invested a significant amount of funds to refurbish this colonial property as a heritage hotel with most of its Anglo-Malay architectural essence still intact. Surrounded by spacious rooms, wooden interiors, long corridors, balmy balconies, beautiful victorian windows as well as pictures of the old Penang, a sense of nostalgia can be felt throughout the property. And we top that experience with warm, friendly service.The Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the historic city of Georgetown, founded in 1786 by Captain Francis Light. Listed as a UNESCO heritage city, Georgetown is a one of a kind melting pot of cultures, heritage, foods and festivals from diverse communities.1926 Heritage Hotel is all about bringing you the wholesome experience of the British colonial era and the spirit of Malaysian hospitality from the very moment you step into our lobby. We at 1926 Heritage Hotel are ever ready to go the extra mile to ensure your stay with us will be most memorable. Your satisfaction is our number one priority and we hope that every second you spend with us will be filled with nostalgia of the colonial era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your 1926 Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1926 Heritage Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1926 Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.