We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and worn, but OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Oriental Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105, Penang Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 1000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old and worn, but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Though hotel furniture & equipment is really overaged & worn, but we could sleep well in this hotel and all things were at least working. Walls and ceilings shout for a new painting.
AC is centralised, you cannot adjust temperature, but luckily it was not too cold for us (usually we set AC to 25-27 °C).
Quiet rooms, comfortable bed & cussions. Religious speakers at 06:10 AM opposite hotel are pretty loud, but stop after few minutes.

Room Tip: Upper floors = nice view & less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
9
29
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saska Kepa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A bit old, but clean. Rooms very spacious with huge windows. AC .......... freezing, but you have got "door" to close it :) New bathroom, daily cleaning service.
Location is advantage of this hotel: close to Little India, in the center, just few steps from Bus stop to Penang Hill.
We'd seen 5 guesthouses before Oriental hotel - it was the best choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed as an overnighter, the rooms are pretty old, air-conditioning was freezing. As the location was quite good and the price reasonable it is ok for short stay. Next time I will stay elsewhere as there are better options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Oreintal Hotel 93Ringgit = $30.00AUD
Basic budget hotel very tired rooms/ aircon but too cold/TV no English channels/great shower but grotty bathroom/Wi Fi in room/staff helpful/there are better around in this area but alright for an overnighter

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel ok as a budget hotel .... But I get a call from reception saying there is someone to speak to me .... A girl was asking fir my wife and knew my full name , nationality and room number ... Something only hitel staff knew.... I go down later and guy at reception says 3 girls came in with my info so someone at the hotel is giving out personal info .... Not sure if they were going to rob me or were prostitutes or what but made me feel very unsafe and I checked out first thing

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Reasonable price. Old interior room with centralized air cond. However located in very strategic place.
Not recommended for family with baby or infant. Make sure you cover the bed before put your baby sleep on bed.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed 3 times in last 3 years. Can't argue with the location, value and service. It looks old and worn because it is old and worn. Some reviewers say it's not clean. I think they're mistaking old and worn for not clean. At full blast the air con is perfect for aging sides of beef but is easily regulated by the sliding panels over the outlet.

There is a mosque close by on the east side of the building. Their loudspeakers easily defeated my industrial strength ear plugs. East is the side facing the ferry, Chinatown, etc. Get a room on the side facing Jln Penang street which is west.

Room Tip: East side faces a mosque's loudspeakers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel

Address: 105, Penang Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 1000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oriental Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Georgetown
Oriental Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.