We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Value and Old & Worn. 1 Side faces LOUDspeakers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Oriental Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105, Penang Road, George Town, Penang Island 1000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in George Town
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location & Value and Old & Worn. 1 Side faces LOUDspeakers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed 3 times in last 3 years. Can't argue with the location, value and service. It looks old and worn because it is old and worn. Some reviewers say it's not clean. I think they're mistaking old and worn for not clean. At full blast the air con is perfect for aging sides of beef but is easily regulated by the sliding panels over the outlet.

There is a mosque close by on the east side of the building. Their loudspeakers easily defeated my industrial strength ear plugs. East is the side facing the ferry, Chinatown, etc. Get a room on the side facing Jln Penang street which is west.

Room Tip: East side faces a mosque's loudspeakers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItDontMeanAThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ostrow Wielkopolski, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it's enough! The hotel needs to be updated a lil bit but it's okay. Only RM 80 for double bed. The room is spacious with a big bed. The bathroom is also big but a litlle bit old and not clean. The staff is okay too many people in the hotel so they don't actually know you. There is a car parking behind the hotel so you can leave your car there for free. If you find something better don't stay in Oriental.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that are not facing mosque. If you get it u'll hear the prayers at 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Oriental offers basic and very clean hotel rooms for an excellent price. For 80 MYR only, you can sleep quietly within walking distance to most of the highlights of UNESCO World Heritage Georgetown. Cold central AC system and lots of hot water and access to free WIFI. Enjoy the very friendly service of the dedicated hotel staff. everyone speaks excellent English and does their utmost to please the guests. The hotel offers free parking behind the hotel, and I was just informed that I can leave my car there for the 10 days that I will go to Sumatra.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 9th or 10th floor, on the street side, otherwise the mosque at the back sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank René M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the Oriental for 4 nights at a cost of RM87 per night. Hotel obviously does need updating and seems to have had no work done over the past few years. Having said that it gave the hotel a bit more character than the big soul-less chains have. The staff were very helpful, and booking taxis etc was much cheaper through them. The room (10th floor) was large, clean and the shower was good. No tea or coffee in room but I did see room service being taken to rooms. My only complaint was that they didn't advertise any of their services. The air con is the old type that works centrally through the building - it is very cold but once we realised you can adjust it by closing the doors it was fine. Excellent value if you just want a basic room with a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachygirl187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed here about 7 years ago and it was fine then, but I stayed again this year and it was very dirty, the internet did not work at all and my friend who was staying in the next room was bitten by bedbugs. It's a great location and the price is on the low side for the location, but it's just to old and dirty for me.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, check the bed for bedbugs and check the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy50210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland - new zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hotel is very dated and does need some freshening up but our room was clean, bed was comfy, shower was great, view from our room on the 10th floor was awesome, the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is also in an excellent location being within walking distance of most of the tourist attraction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twodeezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We arrived in the evening and we choose to stay in Chinatown, we saw a lot of guest houses and hotels in Lebuh Chulia that were terrible or worst than terrible.
In the end we ended up at the Oriental hotel, a ten story concrete building, where air con was at arctic levels. The price anyway was good (80 ringit) compared to the others, and we also had hot shower in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ComeTiCucinoIlWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#41 of 72 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
Tune Hotel Downtown Penang
#33 of 72 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#30 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#27 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#21 of 72 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
1.4 mi away
1926 Heritage Hotel
1926 Heritage Hotel
#40 of 72 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel

Address: 105, Penang Road, George Town, Penang Island 1000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Oriental Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Georgetown
Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing