We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's alright!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oriental Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105, Penang Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 1000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Ostrow Wielkopolski, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's alright!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it's enough! The hotel needs to be updated a lil bit but it's okay. Only RM 80 for double bed. The room is spacious with a big bed. The bathroom is also big but a litlle bit old and not clean. The staff is okay too many people in the hotel so they don't actually know you. There is a car parking behind the hotel so you can leave your car there for free. If you find something better don't stay in Oriental.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that are not facing mosque. If you get it u'll hear the prayers at 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
8
30
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Oriental offers basic and very clean hotel rooms for an excellent price. For 80 MYR only, you can sleep quietly within walking distance to most of the highlights of UNESCO World Heritage Georgetown. Cold central AC system and lots of hot water and access to free WIFI. Enjoy the very friendly service of the dedicated hotel staff. everyone speaks excellent English and does their utmost to please the guests. The hotel offers free parking behind the hotel, and I was just informed that I can leave my car there for the 10 days that I will go to Sumatra.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 9th or 10th floor, on the street side, otherwise the mosque at the back sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the Oriental for 4 nights at a cost of RM87 per night. Hotel obviously does need updating and seems to have had no work done over the past few years. Having said that it gave the hotel a bit more character than the big soul-less chains have. The staff were very helpful, and booking taxis etc was much cheaper through them. The room (10th floor) was large, clean and the shower was good. No tea or coffee in room but I did see room service being taken to rooms. My only complaint was that they didn't advertise any of their services. The air con is the old type that works centrally through the building - it is very cold but once we realised you can adjust it by closing the doors it was fine. Excellent value if you just want a basic room with a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed here about 7 years ago and it was fine then, but I stayed again this year and it was very dirty, the internet did not work at all and my friend who was staying in the next room was bitten by bedbugs. It's a great location and the price is on the low side for the location, but it's just to old and dirty for me.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, check the bed for bedbugs and check the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland - new zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hotel is very dated and does need some freshening up but our room was clean, bed was comfy, shower was great, view from our room on the 10th floor was awesome, the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is also in an excellent location being within walking distance of most of the tourist attraction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We arrived in the evening and we choose to stay in Chinatown, we saw a lot of guest houses and hotels in Lebuh Chulia that were terrible or worst than terrible.
In the end we ended up at the Oriental hotel, a ten story concrete building, where air con was at arctic levels. The price anyway was good (80 ringit) compared to the others, and we also had hot shower in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

i was staying there on 29th feb till 3 march (3days 2 nights). on the upper floors(10th floors)the Oriental Hotel was Excellent Hotel..
The view was amazing from our room & wifi was good
Friendly and helpful staff...cleanliness superb..location perfect... & excellent value...so certainly a good recommendation from me...Will definitely come back ! thanks!

Room Tip: better stay on upper floors...nice view from up there..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel

Address: 105, Penang Road, Georgetown, Penang Island 1000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oriental Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Georgetown
Oriental Hotel Penang/Georgetown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.