We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly maintained - dirty - good location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Puteri Bayu Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Puteri Bayu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Puteri Bayu Beach Resort
Pantai Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Pangkor
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Badly maintained - dirty - good location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights xmas 2011. We paid for a Garden Villa but were given Beach Villa on arrival. The hotel must once have been nice but it is now dirty and badly maintained and is not worth the expensive price.

The landscaped gardens are well maintained and the chalets look nice.... from the outside only.The hotel appears to please the mainly Malay guests but it is does not meet western expectations of cleanliness. The rooms were dirty - filthy smeared windows - bathrooms smelt of dirty drains that came from the drain pipe nearby that had broken and water was flowing under the cabin. King size beds with sheets that do not fit- they had placed two single bed sheets overlapping on the bed. Air con worked but was so noisy we couldn't sleep so didn't use it. Pool area dirty and poorly maintained - did not use this at all. Breakfast was Fair to Poor not much choice - fried rice, fried noodles or rice porridge. You can hear the Karaoke from the restaurant late into the night.

The service was OK. We asked for help with a couple of small issues and they attended to them quite quickly - we did not however ask them to fix the whole category of problems with the room as this was simply not their priority.

Having said all this the beach is lovely - we were there for Xmas and the midweek after. We were the only people on the beach midweek as the weekend rush had gone - incredible to be alone on the whole very long beach on Dec 26, 27, 28 busy busy periods on other islands.

We spent most evenings eating in restaurants on Silver beach, close to Nipah beach.

For the price this hotel simply is not worth it. It has poor poor standard of cleanliness. Had we paid something more akin to a hostel price then maybe this would have been acceptable. DO NOT stay here if you want to 'treat yourself' - it does not warrant the expense. If however you have money to burn and don't care on what - just want to lie on the beach - will eat elsewhere - and can turn a blind eye to the filth then you will be alright.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    17
    13
    15
See reviews for
20
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woodland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I travelled to Pulau Pangkor recently and stayed at this resort which was recommended to me
by a friend. Though the resort claims to be around for more than 15 years I found the overall
environment very serene and peaceful. Its location, right next to the beach (which was not
crowded), with its glorious evening sunsets, is second to none! For the price I have paid for a two nights stay at their standard hotel room I have absolutely no complaints. The breakfast was tasty and adequate and the service staff attended to me very well and politely. The room I stayed in was quite small but tastefully furnished, clean and comfortable.

I have travelled quite a lot around the world but find that this resort has a unique attraction of its own. You just have to be here yourself to feel the difference. But if you do come, come with an open mind and not to expect the moon. I am sure you will find your stay here most satisfying.

Yes the resort might be a bit rundown and old but then again for the price that I paid it was well worth it. I am sure in due time the powers to be that is managing this property will bring back this resort to its former glory. I will surely come back and stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I just came back after a meeting in this hotel. Overall this hotel is so badly maintained. I wonder whether the staf are trained in the first place. The staf at the reception are so inefficient. The rooms are small with small beds. The bathroom door is the funniest i've seen. The meeting room was so smelly and dirty, signs of not been cleaned for long. The management seems to only want to charge for everthing but not interested in providing quality services. If this is the story of one wellknown hotel in Pangkor, only God can help to save the tourism industry in this island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed in an ocean view cabin, supposedly the honeymoon suite. Well, I'd be dead if I took partner here on our honeymoon. The cabin was probably nice when it was built but they are just not performing appropriate maintenance on the entire resort. Here is a short list of issues we had with our stay.

- the water to all chalets was not working until midnight the day we arrived. Staff let us use a hotel room for showers which was nice, but they seemed to think having us walk 10 minutes from our chalet to find a toilet was an ok solution. Even worse, even though the cause was clearly something in a large exposed pipe open hole, staff all said that the issue was island wide and nothing they could do. We checked at a couple places round the corner, no issues and come on, water was fine in the hotel – they just didn't want to own up to it.
- Sheets on bed were too small. We had a king bed. They had, queen sheets, maybe. There was a foot of exposed mattress at the bottom of the bed. We specifically asked for the bed to be changed on the third night in hopes af getting this fixed - same result - they most be out of king size sheets.
- Our “flap over” main door lock was half missing.
- Sliding door lock had been jimmied and we had trouble locking it.
- The toilet only flushed if you jiggled it over and over.
- The windows were filthy – face prints on the inside and mould all over the outside.

If I were picky, I would add many items. They have just let the place go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed for 3days at this hotel and was very satisfied by the service rendered. The reception was great allowing us to check in as early as 9am in the morning even though
check in time was 3pm,, they made the arrangement for our bus tickets to kuala lumpur and even the restaurant was open early just for us on our final day stay as we have to catch the early morning ferry to mainland. The waiter/waiteress were just as excellent..foods are great especially the chicken cutlet it was bigger than my son face as he exclaimed!! Rooms are clean and comfortable all our needs were attended immediately. Five thumbs up for this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We booked this hotel due to the low cost and great location, despite some bad reviews, but were pleasantly surprised. Location is on the beach, plus there is a clean swimming pool. Staff are helpful and friendly, rooms are clean, facilities are good, and the continental breakfast that was included was great. Nothing is fancy or 5 star, but then nor is the price. All in all this was above our expectations, and I would not hesitate to go there again and to recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

After read all the bad review I'm little bit afraid after made my booking here. But my wife kept telling me all the bad review are from fussy guest and as hotelier i also should know that. Arrived on the evening i'll be little bit suprise with the warm welcome and nice lobby. Everything during check in time run smoothly with any inconvenience cause. After few minutes we went to the chalet (for your info we book puteri suite / family suite) and we be amazed with the location, privacy and view. Just 10 meters away from the beach, with no other hassle. For food you may choose to have steamboat for dinner at the restaurant. The have all the facilities for family or a big group like futsal arena, volleyball and nice swimming pool. On the night you may go for their private karaoke launge which only in house guest may enter. My suggestion for all the traveller to stay here, pay little bit more for chalet and you may get great place during your stay. But please bear in mind, if you go during peak season, even 5 star also will make mistake, please use your sense.

Room Tip: Take the chalet, it's have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puteri Bayu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puteri Bayu Beach Resort

Address: Pantai Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Puteri Bayu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puteri Bayu Beach Hotel Pangkor
Puteri Bayu Beach Resort Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puteri Bayu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.