We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor to your Saves list
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 34, Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Pangkor
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not the best place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This hotel located in close proximity to jety and main town area. Yes it is 100-200m walk to beech. You can find some water sports in this Pasir Bogak beech. The service is reasonable to the price. Nothing much in TV(local channels only). Almost boring breackfast. Do not expect a good view from you room. Rooms are ok, reasonably clean bedding and bathrooms.
JUst cross the road for all the amenities, eateries especially chinese seafood restaurents, internet... I'll not stay here again as i think there are better options than this...

Room Tip: Choose sea view. Pool view is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSK294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We took our staff to the lovely Island of Pulau Pangkor in late November and everyone enjoyed themselves tremendously. We stayed in Pangkor Coral Bay Hotel.

Checking in for 30+ of us was quite smooth and the hotel lobby was quite attractive with plenty of sofas for guest to rest while waiting, We were all put up on the 2nd floor except for those who prefer triple sharing- mainly with young children. The rooms were large with twin beds or double beds but looked rather tired. The bed coverings were faded and so were the carpets & curtains. There were TV, Fridge and hair dryer but no safe. We had some documents to keep away and did so in the reception counter. They provide safes under their counter-top, rather quaint.

The bathroom was really basic. Bath towels only were provided, none for hands or face. Shampoo, soap and bath foam were provided.

Though the bedding looked worn out, the bed itself was quite comfortable but during the night the air conditioning was too cold and there was no way to turn it up. When I requested for an extra blanket, they charged me RM!0!!! Over buffet breakfast provided by the hotel, many members of our group complaint about the cold, cold night.

Yes the breakfast was also very basic and at the egg station, the chef will not listen to you request. He will over fry your eggs whatever you may request. Only ONE way to do it.

Generally, Pangkor Coral Bay Hotel was good enough as we generally goes back to shower & sleep. There are some Chinese Seafood Restaurants beside the hotal which serves some really great Seafood. Prices are very reasonable.

Overall I do not mind staying here again esp. for the convenience it offers to good food, nice beach and booking of water sports and some shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms are either facing swimming pool or the town. Both sides are alright, swimming pool side can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maehyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Pangkor was nice, the last time i went there must have been at least 10 years ago; will bo back soon. Take a taxi via the long route; scenery is breathtaking.
The hotel is adequate for the price, nothing to shout about. The pool is quite alright, my kids loved it. Location wise, it's not too bad, the beach is less than 10mins walk. For any sightseeing you'll need a bike or a car; but rentals prices are okay.
Breakfast was very local. Service is not great but very friendly. The Indonesian waitresses were helpful. I enjoyed the nasi lemak.
The room is fine for sleeping; TV few channels and poor reception. Nice balcony.
Would probably not stay again as i think there are better locations.

Room Tip: Maybe a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayuthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

hiya all was about to leave pangkor island to go to kuala lumpur and saw this hotel,decided to stay 1 extra night as it was next to 1 of my best eating places on pangkor,
i was shown a double room that was at the front of the hotel with a big window that opened ,
the room was gi-normously big, it had a xtra large kingsize bed, which was lovely and clean with clean sheets and pillow cases, and so comfy,
in the room was a fridge and a kettle with tea bags and coffee provided, the room has 2 easy chairs an a coffee table, the bathroom had a shower over the most important thing ,,, a bath !! , which was heaven!! after having showers all the time !!
the towels wer clean if a tad worn, but hey , they wer passable,
the room also had a television with 2 english channels 1 a film channel,
the hotel had a lovely pool but didnt go in it to many children splashing and screaming which wasnt a problem, as i just wanted a bit of peace and quiet,
i did get breakfast included and went down to the very large dining room whichwas jam packed as there was some sort of convention on so had trouble finding a seat the when i di find one and went up for the food, there was hardly any left, even though id left plenty of time , and they wernt fast enough to refill the food containers so just had a drink and left,
if you come out the hotel and turn left and walk a few hundred yards you come to a lovely bay,which was so lovely at sun set,
i would defo recomend people to stay her the staff wer so helpful and polite, even made sure i had a daily paper to read, would defo go back for a stay,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggieomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Our second trip to Pangkor Island last year and a short one this time (only one night), we decided to try on Pangkor Carol Bay Resort as recommended to us by a friend

OK, if you are on a budget and don't really need a flashy resort to put up a night, then this resort is perfect..rates can go as low on a low season inc breakfast. The resort is just five mins walking distance to the nearest beach and the town of Pangkor is just five mins away by driving

Nice pool to relax and spend a good time swimming and quite near to the sightseeing spots in the island like Dutch Fort, etc

Overall, rooms are clean, bed is comfy and service is OK... just what you need for a short trip to the lovely Pangkor island...

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viveknapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Early check in available, is a good starts, but the facilities and fittings were not satisfying. Service saff did not wear uniform, poor directories.
The room cleanliness was not properly done, carpet did not vacum, bed sheet with hairs and some stones, urine stain on pillows. Do not have a sign showing to contraol the air-conditioning system. Lack of security, the hosekeeper can come in with the jey anytime without knocking the door. Feel unsafe when staying in-house.
Very poor manage...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkny_y2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pangkor hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

My local friends and i were checked in to a so called "clean vacant room". well, i first stepped in, i found out that carpet was not vacuumed at all. Those pillow doesn't look presentable at all as there are plenty of stains on it, like urine stains? well, that is pretty much disgusting. bulb inside bathroom are fused as well. i called housekeeping department and they finally they send up someone to handle my case. Unfortunately, the so-called supervisor don't even apologized by the first time he stepped into my room, and bad part was that all the while he is talking to me with both of his hands inside his pocket. Bravo! this is how you serve your guest.

Paying for a 3 stars hotel rate but get a 2 stars service and room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dearjayooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.9 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#4 of 31 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
3.0 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
1.2 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Pangkor Laut Resort
#1 of 31 in Pangkor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor

Address: Lot 34, Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Pangkor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Coral Bay Hotel Pangkor
Coral Bay Hotel Pangkor
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor Pulau Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing