We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goos but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pangkor Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pangkor Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pangkor Island Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Teluk Belanga, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pangkor
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Goos but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We booked three sea view rooms and stayed from feb 6 to feb 8.
The goods:
1) our rooms were near the end of the beach. Very good view of the beach and quiet at night. Rooms were pretty clean.
2) big private beach with peaceful surroundigs.
3) sofa in the room right next to a huge glass window overseeing the beach.
4) friendly and helpful staff.
5) good variety of breakfast buffet.
6) hornbill feeding space was pretty interesting idea. Even saw a few peacock!
The bad:
1) weird sea water smell in one of the mornings. We could see dirty sea water at one section of the beach.
2) has to book the pink taxi from front desk to get food outside of the hotel. One trip back and forth for 6 people cost rm60.
3) not very good lounge singers, out of tune.
Overall the goods outweigh the bads. My family had excellent time relaxing at the resort.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    321
    134
    48
    25
See reviews for
247
223
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My family and I have stayed in your hotel on 2 other occasions, this being our third. The first 2 times were fantastic but sad to say the last was just deplorable.

Upon entering our hotel room, both rooms stunk of cigarette smoke, the tea making tray had so much dirt and even gray and black hair in it. The creamer was hard and we never consumed anything in your trays. A glass had some insect droppings and a mug had some stains. One of the rooms had only 1 glass. The teaspoons were grimy. In one of the rooms, the floor was dusty and the other was sandy. One of the curtains were dangling as one end of railing came off. I had to call "Touch One" a couple of times upon seeing these "findings" and the lady on the other end was quiet impatient and asked me rather rudely if I had any other problems. Obviously, I had or else I would not be calling and she was very cold. Please feel free to check on your telephone recordings to prove me right.

Just for your info, one of the rooms toilet bowl seat cover had a pubic hair on it even before using it. The tissue box had only about 4 sheets left and not replenished properly. The rooms had ants and even cockroaches. On the other hand the housekeepers were extremely pleasant.

The fan was creaking but the maintenance guys were exceptionally pleasant to help rectify it.

I was so looking forward to having your buffets but unfortunately it was not what we experienced previously. The cheese spread was not fresh, the pastry covers needs replacement, the fruit covers were so old and rusted, the pastry selections were limited and were just way below par, the omelette counter; the ham chips were not fresh, the eggs were not fresh and even the hard boiled eggs for the nasi lemak was not fresh. The the colour of the bacon was just off. The only food that I could compliment was your fried anchovies for the nasi lemak and the porridge - they were superbly fried. Because of this experience, we decided not to even explore the buffet dinner.

At a couple of stairways, the steps were chipped badly and needed repair. Overall, the hotel was badly maintained. The beach front; the tractor/garbage collector does very shoddy work. 2/3 of the beach was very well cleaned, whereas the other 1/3 on the left side had filty and garbage. We went for 3 morning walks and they were all the same and I could vouch that it was quite similar to the public beaches of Pangkor.

The hornbill feeding area; you used to serve fresh fruits every morning for the birds and now you feed them will just bread and more bread and a heaps full of bread.

Yes, in terms of service, your hotel staff was very courteous except for the "Touch One - operator".

We stayed at the beach front rooms but the overall upkeep of the garden and hotel front needs serious sprucing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Positive = Upon arrival was greeted by staff who was friendly and provided with complimentary orange juice. Check in was fast and easy. Room was nice and well maintained except for one light bulb flickering in the toilet but it didn't bother us. Lots of animals roaming around the resort which is excellent. Food was nice with mixture of asian and western. Staff was super friendly and willing to help at anytime and cost. The pacific pool was nice.
Negative = Beach has too much bottles and a bit of garbage floating around. One pool has too much chlorine and really needs to be clean. No bicycle tracks as displayed in their brochure map, i would highly suggest them to make a cycling track as per their map. That would be very nice.

Room Tip: Ocean wing and Ocean villa is a good choice for a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Pangkor Island Beach Resort was one of the most amazing hotel experiences I have ever had. I didn't want to leave! We arrived at the hotel to friendly, helpful people who acted in a lovely manner throughout. Check in was efficient and staff, although busy took time to provide courtesy and amazing attention. Our room was located in the Pacific Wing with amazing views over the beautiful beach and quiet pool area. The room was large with with wooden floors, nice bathroom and balcony. Beds and linen were heavenly comfortable and the amenities in the room were great.

Food options are A La Carte restaurant with great food and buffet style varied tasty mix of good quality.

Staff are amazing and will do anything to make the stay special.

Yes resort is currently a little tired in some places, but overall experience is amazing, friendly, relaxed

Room Tip: Pacific wing top floor. Ocean wing is newer, but Pacific is better. Bungalows also look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brione sopra Minusio, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked this hotel through booking.com as a non-refundable rate.
Because of family unexpected difficulties I wasn't able to go there anymore.
Manager offered me a 30% refund, that was really appreciated and showed how they know how to deal with customers.. Thumbs up!
Will definitely remember that in future for a trip to Malaysia..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We booked this resort way back in June2013 and almost immediately began to have regrets, the company we used,Travel Republic, started argueing about accommodation availability and breakfast entitlement, and bad reviews didnt fill us with much confidence,even an eleventh hour change of heart, after threat of cancellng by my credit card company didnt alay our fears,
Upon arrival a very polite young lady advised us we had been allocated two Pacific Wing Sea View rooms next to each other, bowls of fruit and bottles of water waiting for us and a spectacular outlook.
Honest opinion...... Its good but with a litle revamping it could be excellent, its all looking a bit worn, the staff were all very friendly, polite and humorous, the food was good and plentifull, but still had room for improvement ( we were spoiled by Cancum last year )
Biggest problem is you are out on a limb at this place, there is nowhere else to go to, certainly nowhere else worth going to, we found the rest of the island quite dirty, litter strewn and smelly
Yes we loved the, hornbills, the peacocks were spectacular,even though they are noisey, the wild boar is a big tame old softy, and the monkeys CAN& DO open doors, and pinch swimming trunks.
Its not cheap to stay here so to have already expensive food and drink marked up plus, plus service and tax is a bit naughty

Room Tip: It would just have to be the sea view rooms, but the villas looked good, only 5 or 6 of them and 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

i refer to the breakfast and dinner buffets as abit of a clown show. we never knew what we were in for and for the most part it was colourful but hardly something to be taken (eaten) seriously!
a mismatch of foods that originate from god knows where and tasted nothing like what it should taste like, even the malaysian dishes. oh and why the overload of dried fish and chillies at every meal? highly dissapointed with the high prices as well

rooms in beach wing and lanai room LOOK NOTHING like the pictures. its just a ploy to get you to go there and complain to a manager who then sends you off to another terrible room, whilst maintaining an ever so polite air of service!

anyway its not worth it. go somewhere else. shame tho as beach and scenery is BEAUTIFUL!

oh and the staff all look like they are from the middle ages and repressed! where is the life??come on lift your game esp at the prices you're charging. no doubt im sure the staff arent benefitting from any of the profits. SOMEONE IS and its called LYING. change your pictures to really reflect the true nature of your shabby inn!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pangkor Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Island Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Belanga, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
#2 Spa Hotel in Pangkor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pangkor Island Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the jewels in the crown of West Coast of Penisular Malaysia's Island Resorts, Pangkor Island Beach Resort is the perfect get-away to de-stress and unwind. Lying approximately half way between Penang and Kuala Lumpur, getting there by car from Kuala Lumpur is about 3 hour along the scenic North-South Highway. Alternatively, a dedicated coach transfer departs three times weekly (Wednesday, Friday and Sunday) from the Malaysia Tourism Information Centre along Ampang Road (apposite Renaissance Hotel) whilst a 35-minute flight on Berjaya Air; operating thrice weekly from Subang Airport flying directly into the island.The resort is ideally located in a protected bay, offering guests 1.2 kilometer of private beach front.This inimate resort is fringed by natural wonders of a tropical rainforest, offering an abundance of flora and fauna, where nature is at your doorstep.This unique resort location allows guests the option of a complete laid-back experience whilst those with a more adventurous spirit can take advantange from its full range of land and sea activities.Whether you are looking for a quiet romantic interlude or run-filled family get-away, Pangkor Island Beach Resort will satisfy your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pangkor Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Island Beach Hotel Pangkor
Pan Pacific Pangkor
Pangkor Island Beach Resort Pulau Pangkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangkor Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.