We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectation met” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pangkor Island Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pangkor Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pangkor Island Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Teluk Belanga, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Pangkor
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expectation met”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

As others have mentioned, the place is a little run down. The frustrating thing is not all of this can be blamed on cash flow, but rather slackness from the cleaning and general maintenance staff. We had mold in our bathroom and one of three lights out. The result was a pretty uninviting bathroom. Also, the poolside could do with a good wash-down with bleach. To me this just demonstrates that the management is not making the cleaning staff do their job. The sight of the Grounds keeper sleeping in the hammock next to the heavily holed golf course only served to emphasize this.

The food was OK at best. There were only two options for dinner, despite publications suggesting otherwise. One of these was a disjointed buffet. Not bad, but not the same calibre you see in city hotels throughout asia. A little more thought here would make a big difference. For example, for breakfast you could make a about 3/4 of a western breakfast, if you wanted, but had to roam all over the place to get it. And then they had some odd western foods that didn't belong in a western breakfast (e.g. wedges). Swapping out a few dishes and rearranging the buffet would go a long way. I also question whether a resort with such an international guest drive should be 100% Halal

The other choice of restaurant for dinner is an Al-la-cart restaurant. Dry Fish one night and the Rib-Eye I got the second night was actually rump and over-cooked at that.

As other have said, the beach and pools are pretty good, although don't bother trying to snorkel off the beach as visibility is about 1m. The waves are good for those less experienced with beaches and kids. Not too big, but enough action for interest.

Overall, it's not too bad, but a bit of elbow-grease would go a long way to making it better. I didn't expect much and my expectations were met.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    321
    133
    48
    25
See reviews for
245
222
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here a lot. The surrounds are lovely and the rooms are nice but heading towards adequate. We stayed in a villa which is the high end of accommodation here and enjoyed our room but certainly there could be money spent on upgrading to the quality you would expect for the price paid. The balcony railings were rotting and there was mould growing up the walls, but in saying that we would stay here again because of the beautiful view and the location.
Be aware if you are booking in advance, if management deem it to be a high demand weekend they will say there is no vacancy and then a week or two out will offer the same rooms at double the price. We wanted to stay for two nights and had waited to book. The day before we booked there were at least five villas available for the two nights we wanted (over a weekend) and then the day we booked the Saturday night was unavailable. A week later (two weeks before our visit) five + villas were again available but at double the price. When we stayed there only three out of 10 villas appeared to be inhabited. A real rort!

Room Tip: If you are considering choosing between villa and lanai -- don't bother with lanai. They advert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was traveling with my family and my 9 months years old son. There would be a bus shuttle which will send you to the hotel from the ferry terminal. The hotel is far away from Pangkor town. If you are hiring a car, your car park is quite a far walking distance from the hotel lobby. You can see peacock and horn bill every where in the hotel area. Hornbill feeding session is held 2 times a day just nearby the pool. Peacock can be quite noisy and they might be staying nearby to your room if you are staying downstairs. Nice swimming pools and beach front. Similar to most of the west coast beach, the beach is not as nice and clean as those in east coast of Malaysia. Breakfast is good and variety, but beware of hornbill if you are sitting outside. There are also quite a lot of beach activities offered by the hotel, like snorkeling, kayaking, fishing, archery and so on. We also went for a massage session, their most popular deep blue sea Balinese massage, it was a comfortable and relaxing one. A relative pricey lunch we have at Pacific Terrace restaurant in the hotel and food is just OK. We went for a round island trip where you can request the hotel to help you to book one, RM 60 per van (pink color van). A small island and not much to be mentioned. Overall, as we are not going for all the beach activities, thus, it was a boring trip to us...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Went for a 3D2N trip. My second time at this resort. Flying in via Berjaya Air is scary.. the plane feels like it's going to fall apart anytime!
The common areas at this hotel looks ok but upon entering the rooms, it looks very very old and dirty. There were ants everywhere.. especially when I turned on the tap, all the ants came crawling out! I had to call for housekeeping to help... and I had to call twice plus remind front desk when I went out of the room. Oh.. and the people who pick up the phone when I called from my room.. their tone and responses were not exactly first class hospitality...
The bed is OK.. not the fluffy kind but not uncomfortable.
Food at the restaurant at breakfast, lunch and dinner were not exciting but ok (our meals came with the 3D2N package).
This resort is infested by hornbills. They have not fear for humans.
A wild boar also seems to appear at night.. one night we were sitting on the benches on the beach.. the wild boar crept up really close to us and almost made us jump out of our skins! Thankfully it went away!
I suppose the only great thing about this resort is the super wide beachfront, almost white sands, the beach bar, poolside and ample amount of deck chairs! At least all is not lost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Recently July 2013 we travelled from KL to Lumut where we caught the Pangkor Island Ferry to the Island. The drive from KL to Lumut was fine, no bother at all and it is best to stick to the main highway as much as you can towards Ipoh. The Hotel was very clean, rooms serviced very well each day. Tea coffee creamer all provided as well as many toiletries and essentials like tooth brush and paste pack?? very good. The Food was good and I felt that there was a great choice for many nationalities, we are Irish. The hotel provided beach towels as well. The pool is large and divided into three sections baby, slightly older children and then teens and adults and is situated conviently close to the beach so one could sit and watch children in the sea or at the pool. The pool bar has seats in the water, lovely and the kids loved this. We took an all inclusive package with non motorised water sport and very glad we did. As with two teen boys they could literally eat all day. Breakfast from early to 10.30 and then lunch from 11 to 3 pm and dinner began around 6pm. The drinks are very expensive a glass of wine is about 35 RM. In the room there is a fridge and I would next time take a bottle of wine and perhaps some beers. We were two adults and four children and there was enough to keep us all entertained. The beach is very safe although there are sea lice that give a tiny little sting when swimming in the sea, usually harmless, however some people do react but normal antihestamine would sort this out. The beach has many lounger with cushions and lots of shade. The grounds are kept very well. There is a small golf course that my husband and bigger boys played on. They said it was rough and would not reccommend this. The kids spent hours on body boards, and canoeing. There is jet skis and tubing as well, but this would cost extra and barely worth the effort for the price. Forget snorkelling the water here is too murky and we were told not to do the snorkel trip out as it was much the same. The kids did night fishing, great fun, caught one fish and crabs. The hornbill birds are gorgeous and the wild boar that comes onto the beach in the evening fascinating. We saw a sea otter swimming through the bathers across the bay and the monkeys are dreadful theives, watch them and keep doors secured in bedrooms and of course anything you bring onto the beach. I highly reccommend this for a short family break and we would love to go again, it is gorgeous.

Room Tip: the ocean view rooms where we stayed were lovely and we would advise this side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the hotel with my husband and 2 children in 2 interconnecting Ocean View rooms. The boat ride from Lumut to the island really puts you in the holiday mood and you feel that you are going somewhere special as you have to leave your car behind. First impressions of the hotel were good. Lovely greenery and rainforest surrounds the hotel. Welcomed with cold drinks by friendly staff on arrival. Check in by Priya was good and fast. Unfortunately the the first 2 rooms we were shown smelt strongly of smoke so we asked to change rooms. We were shown 2 other rooms which were much better. The rooms are showing their age and could do with a refurbishment. The buffet breakfast was really good with lots of choices for everyone as were the buffet dinners. The private beach that belongs to the hotel is lovely,beautiful white sands and perfect for lazing around. Watch out for monkeys at the hotel though. Harmless but they do try and snatch your clothes if you leave them lying around!The hornbills that fly around the hotel are pretty and they are fed by hotel staff twice a day. We had a very relaxing beach holiday at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A perfect beach with no other buildings anywhere on the bay. The rooms don't have opening windows and the doors to the balconies should be kept close otherwise monkeys will run in and try to grab something. The buffet meals are quickly tiresome. But the outdoor restaurant is nice and the food is better.The service is good and the staff is very friendly. The place was full of vacationing Asians when we were there. One of the few places in Malaysia without very many Australians.

Room Tip: I think rooms far from the restaurant out on the ocean wing are the most private and the beach there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pangkor Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Island Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Belanga, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pangkor
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pangkor Island Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the jewels in the crown of West Coast of Penisular Malaysia's Island Resorts, Pangkor Island Beach Resort is the perfect get-away to de-stress and unwind. Lying approximately half way between Penang and Kuala Lumpur, getting there by car from Kuala Lumpur is about 3 hour along the scenic North-South Highway. Alternatively, a dedicated coach transfer departs three times weekly (Wednesday, Friday and Sunday) from the Malaysia Tourism Information Centre along Ampang Road (apposite Renaissance Hotel) whilst a 35-minute flight on Berjaya Air; operating thrice weekly from Subang Airport flying directly into the island.The resort is ideally located in a protected bay, offering guests 1.2 kilometer of private beach front.This inimate resort is fringed by natural wonders of a tropical rainforest, offering an abundance of flora and fauna, where nature is at your doorstep.This unique resort location allows guests the option of a complete laid-back experience whilst those with a more adventurous spirit can take advantange from its full range of land and sea activities.Whether you are looking for a quiet romantic interlude or run-filled family get-away, Pangkor Island Beach Resort will satisfy your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AsiaRooms, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pangkor Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Island Beach Hotel Pangkor
Pan Pacific Pangkor
Pangkor Island Beach Resort Pulau Pangkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangkor Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.