We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pangkor Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pangkor Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pangkor Island Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Teluk Belanga, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Pangkor
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Genuinely enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for six days at the end of 2007 into early 2008 and had a fantastic stay. Here are a few points for readers to consider about this resort:

Pros - Two very good pools for lazing by; a hilarious pot holed golf course which is good for a few hours of hitting balls and laughing (not so good if you are serious about golf); a variety of water sports to indulge in (para sailing to sailing); lots of activities for keeping kids entertained (we don't have kids but noticed they were well catered for); and absolutely excellent staff. A few more words on this last point - the front desk staff were a bit stiff (as happens with many hotels) but everyone else (from cleaners to waiters) provided exceptional and exceptionally friendly service.

Cons - While certainly not neglected the resort is clearly in need of a renovation; oddly the restaurant has very few local dishes (you'll need to visit restaurants about a 1 km away); alcohol is a little pricey (but not horrific).

Overall - a great place to relax and well worth a visit (particularly families - but enough room for this not tot scare away others)

  • Liked — The pools
  • Disliked — Not enough local dishes on menu
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    321
    134
    48
    25
See reviews for
247
223
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

We enjoyed our stay, mainly because of the beach, the tropical jungle and the sunset! The resort itself was OK but could not satisfy in all aspects. There is only one real a la carte restaurant, the others are the pool bar and the buffet restaurant (mainly used for breakfast). Very often the beach and see was littered with plastic debris and driftwood. The island itself is quite unspectacular, some other nice beaches can be reached with the taxi, some sea food restaurants but no interesting attractions. I think this resort is ideal for families which want to stay in the resort and have day care etc.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Problems with waste management on the whole island
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

Is not really a 5 star hotel. The service is fine, the rooms are large enough and neat. There are some activities (fishing, snorkeling, bow shooting etc). The hotel have its own ferry. The beach is clean, but not as white as on Langkawi or Perhentians. The place is nice although a bit too expensive. 3 1/2 out of 5.

  • Liked — Close to KL and convinient to get to
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

PIBR is a beautiful resort which i can never deny and so for the Villa which i have stayed. It was my honeymoon trip and no regrets on choosing this resort for my honeymoon. The only thing which made my stay a memorable one is the Villa. It has been well maintained, clean and spacious. I really loved the sunken bath and also the outdoor shower concept, it made my stay even more interesting.

What made me unhappy?? It was the price of the food and the poor service of their staff. It was quiet obvious that the staffs at the front office (lobby) is very restless, not attentive and hardly smile especially the ladies. The management has to improve their PR (Public relation) skills to uphold their standard.

There are 3 restaurants available in the resort and nothing much to aspect since the buffet menus are not that interesting and being repeated. You could get a taxi from the resort to Teluk Nipah @ Teluk Belanga and there you could really enjoy some good seafood at a reasonal price.

Overall the villa was beautiful and worth the money i have payed but just beware the price of food and of course my trip would have been even more wonderful if i have received a better attention & respond from the staffs.

  • Liked — The Villa
  • Disliked — Food and service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 7 days and 6 nights in December 07. We booked ourselves into an Ocean Wing room, which is supposedly to have a view facing the sea. Well, what we got was more of a swimming pool view with a palm tree blocking most of the limited view. We could only get a view of the beach if we arranged the balcony chairs just right. Less than ideal, I might say. Nevertheless, my wife is of the opinion that our Ocean Wing room is lovely, clean and well-decorated.The only thing lacking in her opinion is the floor of our room, which doesn't have any carpeting and is just cold, hard tiles.

Moreover, we are quite frustrated because we have already notiified the hotel that since we are going to stay there for 7 days (ain't just a short trip) and spending a significant amount of money at their resort, we were expecting to get a better room (at least with a proper sea-view) and better treatment (when asked if we could get an Ocean Wing room on the 3rd floor, we were told no briskly by the check-in staff, reason being there were no vacancies, although I did see a lot of empty rooms for the next 3 or 4 nights..pshawww!).

I have mixed reviews of the beach as well. Most of the times, the beach is clean and lovely, but sometimes especially, in the late afternoon, there'd be a lot of rubbish washed up on the shore, making the place look very dirty. Sea water has poor visibility most of the time (the water is clearer around noon) and we also got stinging sensations on our skins (minor, nevertheless still unpleasant) whenever we went for a dip in the ocean.

We had to pay extra for daily buffet breakfasts and dinners at the hotel's Hornbill restaurant. The food is so-so, not overly exciting or delicious..except for the desserts which were excellent. After awhile, we got bored of the food there. But getting any outside food is quite difficult since there aren't any food stalls or restaurants in the vicinity. You'd have to rent a taxi, motorcycle or bicycle (not recommended since the roads on Pangkor Island is not exactly safe, they are narrow, hilly and twisty) to get to the apparently good food stalls located at Teluk Nipah.

A side note as regards to the level of service at this resort: one day, my wife couldn't join me for the buffet breakfast because she wasn't feeling very well. So I went alone and when I asked the restaurant staff if I could take away some food for my sick wife back in the room, they just gave me a dirty look and spoke to me as if I was a nuisance, rather than a paying customer! Feeling out of sorts, I had my meal there then took some food for my wife and then told them to deliver it to my room...which they did. That cooled down my anger a little. There was also a waiter at the same restaurant which had very bad manners. He was so keen to clear our plates...we have barely finished our meals before he would come and swipe the plates from our table without asking us if we were finished 1st. If we said no to him, he would actually sigh in exasperation in front of us! In short, service at every level at this resort is severely lacking...the management should buck up and take heed of this!

Other than that, everything else was more or less okay. The monkeys weren't such a problem, we didn't have any unpleasant encounters with them. The location of this resort is nice, the bay in which it is in is absolutely lovely. Sunsets are wonderful, the resident hornbills are simply amazing, swimming pools are spacious and clean and the landscaping at the resort is beautiful. My wife also took a liking to the hotel souvenir shop due to the variety of merchandise available there.

To sum things up, the Pangkor Island Beach Resort is okay, not over the top but just okay. It'd be better if their level of service is improved. If you're looking for a better deal, go to Berjaya Resort at Redang Island. That's one holiday you won't regret. Trust us.

  • Liked — Beach in the afternoon
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

After many years, finally revisited Pangkor Island Beach Resort to find it strangely unsettling. Last we were there, the sea was wonderful to swim in. Now, the children complained of itchiness from contact with the sea water. Still, they went in b'cuz an island holiday is not quite one without a dip in the sea. (Maybe, hotel should test water quality for effluents etc).

The rooms and facilities are okay. The beach is swept clean in the mornings. Food is ok. Then, we went to dinner and met guests in their pajamas. (and its not a themed dinner!!). Mingling with old gentleman in peejays are ladies in evening gowns (they were attending conventions). Strange but true.

Later in the night, we were woken up by people crying out like pontianak (local ghosts) obviously having too much fun in the pool. It was a good hour before they got out after being told to do so,

My children couldnt get much sleep from the clattering of what sounded like mahjong tiles from an adjoining room that went on into the wee hours of the night.

We sorely missed the tranquil holidays of the yesteryears. Although the resort looks nice after being refurbished, it seems to have attracted "strange" guests.

Now, it has too much of an "Asian" flavour. It is like having a break in Port Dickson but having to drive much further for it.

Sigh.......

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed there with 4 other families. We have been to this hotel 5 times, 3 times under previous management, 2 times under the current hotel management.

There is a clear improvement under the new management and there is a marked improvement from the previous time we stayed there. The breakfast and dinner is very much beefed up, more variety, better quality, between 3-4 star, near 4 star. Would have rated it 4 star but held back due to the slight lack of dynamism in the dinner buffet spread, its there just need to fire it up a little.

We stayed in pacific wing, the rooms is not really 4 star, timber strips falling off and needs some glue & grinding. We have always stayed at the pacific wing due the the close location of the 2nd pool which is almost private to those who stayed in that wing.

The renovated ocean wing was just a renovated room in an older building but bigger room.

The rooms price have crept up. For this price, there are other location to goto in west and east coast of penisular malaysia. The beach somehow lost its whiteness compared to other part of the island. we wouldnt have come here if it wasnt for the monsoon season on the east coast of malaysia.

The current management has done a very good job in transforming the hotel more so on the human side of the hotel, staff are very polite and efficient. We can be difficult at times but they tried their best to please us.

We rated it a good 3 star instead of 4 star due to the lower quality of the beach/sand and the pricing of the rooms.

  • Liked — Less busy hotel
  • Disliked — beach quality drop, getting like Port dickson
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pangkor Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Island Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Belanga, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pangkor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pangkor Island Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the jewels in the crown of West Coast of Penisular Malaysia's Island Resorts, Pangkor Island Beach Resort is the perfect get-away to de-stress and unwind. Lying approximately half way between Penang and Kuala Lumpur, getting there by car from Kuala Lumpur is about 3 hour along the scenic North-South Highway. Alternatively, a dedicated coach transfer departs three times weekly (Wednesday, Friday and Sunday) from the Malaysia Tourism Information Centre along Ampang Road (apposite Renaissance Hotel) whilst a 35-minute flight on Berjaya Air; operating thrice weekly from Subang Airport flying directly into the island.The resort is ideally located in a protected bay, offering guests 1.2 kilometer of private beach front.This inimate resort is fringed by natural wonders of a tropical rainforest, offering an abundance of flora and fauna, where nature is at your doorstep.This unique resort location allows guests the option of a complete laid-back experience whilst those with a more adventurous spirit can take advantange from its full range of land and sea activities.Whether you are looking for a quiet romantic interlude or run-filled family get-away, Pangkor Island Beach Resort will satisfy your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pangkor Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Island Beach Hotel Pangkor
Pan Pacific Pangkor
Pangkor Island Beach Resort Pulau Pangkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangkor Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.