We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pangkor revisited - vaguely unsettling” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pangkor Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pangkor Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Pangkor Island Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Teluk Belanga, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Pangkor
kayel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“pangkor revisited - vaguely unsettling”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

After many years, finally revisited Pangkor Island Beach Resort to find it strangely unsettling. Last we were there, the sea was wonderful to swim in. Now, the children complained of itchiness from contact with the sea water. Still, they went in b'cuz an island holiday is not quite one without a dip in the sea. (Maybe, hotel should test water quality for effluents etc).

The rooms and facilities are okay. The beach is swept clean in the mornings. Food is ok. Then, we went to dinner and met guests in their pajamas. (and its not a themed dinner!!). Mingling with old gentleman in peejays are ladies in evening gowns (they were attending conventions). Strange but true.

Later in the night, we were woken up by people crying out like pontianak (local ghosts) obviously having too much fun in the pool. It was a good hour before they got out after being told to do so,

My children couldnt get much sleep from the clattering of what sounded like mahjong tiles from an adjoining room that went on into the wee hours of the night.

We sorely missed the tranquil holidays of the yesteryears. Although the resort looks nice after being refurbished, it seems to have attracted "strange" guests.

Now, it has too much of an "Asian" flavour. It is like having a break in Port Dickson but having to drive much further for it.

Sigh.......

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    321
    133
    48
    25
See reviews for
245
222
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed there with 4 other families. We have been to this hotel 5 times, 3 times under previous management, 2 times under the current hotel management.

There is a clear improvement under the new management and there is a marked improvement from the previous time we stayed there. The breakfast and dinner is very much beefed up, more variety, better quality, between 3-4 star, near 4 star. Would have rated it 4 star but held back due to the slight lack of dynamism in the dinner buffet spread, its there just need to fire it up a little.

We stayed in pacific wing, the rooms is not really 4 star, timber strips falling off and needs some glue & grinding. We have always stayed at the pacific wing due the the close location of the 2nd pool which is almost private to those who stayed in that wing.

The renovated ocean wing was just a renovated room in an older building but bigger room.

The rooms price have crept up. For this price, there are other location to goto in west and east coast of penisular malaysia. The beach somehow lost its whiteness compared to other part of the island. we wouldnt have come here if it wasnt for the monsoon season on the east coast of malaysia.

The current management has done a very good job in transforming the hotel more so on the human side of the hotel, staff are very polite and efficient. We can be difficult at times but they tried their best to please us.

We rated it a good 3 star instead of 4 star due to the lower quality of the beach/sand and the pricing of the rooms.

  • Liked — Less busy hotel
  • Disliked — beach quality drop, getting like Port dickson
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

The PI Beach Resort has a lovely secluded bay, the gardens are nicely landscaped and the pool and beach are really clean. If you stay in the Ocean or Pacific Wings you will really enjoy your stay.
We stayed 2 nights in the Garden wing before changing rooms (the place was very busy for Deepavali)
The Garden Wing was HORRIBLE! Everything smelt of mould (even after we'd left the air con on); the beds were really uncomfortable; no shampoo or soap in the bathroom ; really dark and dingy; and on the day we moved out the air con unit actually fell out of the top of the wall narrowly missing my daughter and wounding me on the hip - we hadn't done anything to make it fall!!
The Ocean wing was a world apart from this. Lovely comfortable beds, nice toiletries and clean, spacious, light room.
The staff at the pool area and in the bars were really helpful, friendly and sweet to my children.
The pool area and garden is lovely, great to see the Hornbills feeding in the morning and evening.
Two other complaints are the food - not terribly nice and VERY expensive ( a la carte but the buffet is really expensive too). Go into Nipah Bay (Teluk Nipah) for amazing and cheap food rather than eat here. Regular taxis go there and I would really recommend the Nipah Bay Villa just off the main street for really good food and lovely staff.
Also, we got bicycles and cycled all the way round the island - great but really exhausting (and we pushed them up most of the hills!) Our bikes were rusty,the front brakes didn't work on either and yet we were still charged for them. I think it's a bit mean to charge for things like this on top of everything else. Oh, and I was phoned a week later by someone demanding payment for drinks which had been ordered 'by us' - only they were ordered 2 hours after we'd left!!
Finally - and this is real Malaysian craziness! - my friends weren't able to extend their stay, at the same rate they were paying or without booking the dinner buffet too, at the reception desk.( they were quoted twice the price for midweek as well) They had to pay for internet hire and then re-book online! Even though they were in the resort!!! Now is this just me or does this seem really absurd?!!

  • Liked — Setting - beautiful grounds and lovely clean beach and sea.
  • Disliked — Overpriced and uninspired food. Horrible Garden wing rooms. Overall feeling of 'meanness'!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

We were sold this as a four star hotel and having travelled extensively in Asia and stayed in 4 star hotels for a similar price we were expecting 4 star quality.However when we arrived it was quickly apparent that this was not 4 star as we know it.We had stayed the night before at the Madarin Oriental in KL which is also rated in the same brochure as a 4 star.(This was excellent by the way and we highly recommend it)

We were picked up from the jetty by a vehicle that can only be described as looking like a prison bus.

The deluxe room at the Pangkor Island Beach Resort was shabby, dirty and basic . Feelingy very dissapointed we thought we would go to the restaurant and have some food.
My wife ordered chicken satay and this was not cooked through-I ordered steak and this was OK.
The staff at the hotel who we met, with the exception of the duty manager were abivalent.It was most apparent that they appeared demotivated and unhappy, which was unusual for Malaysian People.
We viewed other rooms with the help of the duty manager which were more costly and equally shabby.The monkeys were a bit of a problem and were roaming around the hotel complex in hordes
breaking into hotel rooms whenever they could.We witnessed them breaking into a nearby room and stealing food and drink.They are very cunning and can operate door handles with ease.It sounds funny I know but my wife and I did find thee monkeys agressive and intimidating.Its its defence we have to say that the location and beach were lovely.The hotel and food were 2 star .We left 4 days early after only one night and returned to KL.
The main hotel kitchen was unhygenic and we felt we did not want to eat the food there for fear of food poisoning.
The duty manager tried his best and was really helpful.
The resort had lots of potential but clearly needed new mangement and some investment in the accomodation.We stayed there on the 11th November 2007.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — As Described
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

Stayed in one of the 12 Villas (8003) for 4 nights and it was so nice we only left it to eat and walk the beach a few times each day. To get to the resort you catch a ferry in Lumut. It's a nice little town with one main street next to the ferry terminal with lots of tourist type shops selling souvenirs and a few restaurant / cafes. The resort has a desk in the ferry terminal and they take your luggage from you at this point and sell you the return ferry ticket RM18. Journey to the island is 30 minutes. When you arrive a bus / truck is waiting for you and takes you the short trip (less than 5 minutes) to the resort. The luggage follows along behind and as you have had it labelled at the ferry terminal it is delivered directly to your room after you have checked in.

Check-in was trouble free and we were given a welcome drink then escorted along to our villa. I can honestly say it is the largest room I have ever stayed in. The decor is in traditional Malay style with high ceiling and all wooden walls. A huge super king bed dominated the room however there was more than ample space for the coffee table and 2 chairs, desk, TV cabinet, fridge and bed cabinets. at the side of the room was another smaller room with separate ceiling fan and daybeds along 2 of the walls. The bathroom was also spacious with a separate toilet and outside shower area. We have to mention the bath too which was the biggest we have ever seen. It took 20 minutes to half fill it and was a real indulgence. No problems with getting enough hot water to fill it either. At the front of the property was a balcony with table, 2 sun loungers and a large sun umberella. Please check out our pictures to see how nice this was. Towels were provided fresh twice a day if you required them and also ice topped up in your room in the early evening.

The resort is quite remote and after reading some of the previous reviews we decided to take the half board option when we booked. We would also recommend this as it costs RM40 P/P when booking for buffet dinner and breakfast and if you take this as extras at the resort the price for dinner is RM65 with breakfast being another addition. There really isn't any other eating options so take a tip and book all in. The food was what we considered good buffet with lots of choices. Although asian food dominated the menu western was catered for with a roast and also a pasta bar. No problems with the food lying around for hours and not being fresh as the staff were very attentive and frequently replenishing.

The beach at this resort is private and about 1km in length. It is kept very clean and is very safe for swimming. We didn't see any jellyfish and the water is lovely and clear, unlike at Port Dickson where we stayed the previous night. Sports are available on the beach with paragliding, jet ski, kayaks, sailing dingys, volleyball and football all popular.

Our only negative comments would be the prices of the drinks and food in the resort. They have a captive audience here and charge more than resorts where other options are available. It is an island though and we can understand that transport costs must be higher. Another moan is that there is no Internet available in the Villas. It is available in the main buildings but at a cost of RM15 per hour. I feel that hotels and resorts are really being stingy when they charge for this basic service. It could easily be added to the cost of the room and made inclusive. Finally we must mention the monkeys which wander round the resort. They can be a pest and occassionally bite should you get too close. There are lots of signs asking you not to feed them as this only attracts them more. Beware of them as they come from nowhere and can surprise you.

We cannot comment on the other types or room offered at this resort but would certainly have no hesitation in recommending the villas.

  • Liked — The space and decor is lovely
  • Disliked — Monkeys and paying for Internet access
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

I was looking for an affordable but clean and nice place to stay in Pangkor during the Merdeka holidays. After making several calls to the hotels in the island, I finally was able to find a room in Pangkor Bayview. When we arrived there, the receptionist immediately accomodated us, and sent us to our room.
We stayed in the Deluxe room is at the ground floor, so there's no view of the bay at all. Room is very basic -has aircon and tv and is good for 3 persons. Bathroom is clean although water is not that strong. There's a restaurant in the hotel but we did not try eating there even once because when you go out, Nipah Bay has Malay and Chinese eateries and food stalls all over.
The hotel has a small pool but definitely not a good alternative to the beach which is just a five-minute walk from the hotel. Tourists themselves can arrange their sea activities with the boat owners. Overall, after staying in Pangkor for three days (most of the time at the beach), I can say we definitely are going back!

  • Liked — convenient
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

This is a gorgeous hotel. We arrived in the night and knew that we had a room with an ocean view. When we woke in the morning we realised how beautiful it was! The private beach is spotlessly clean and the hotel staff are some of the friendliest we've ever met. The buffet food was also top class.

We were slightly disappointed with the rest of the island, which is dirty and a little polluted. But the resort itself is worth staying at and is the only good place to stay. The only niggle is that because there are no other real places to go, they can charge high prices for food and drink, but hey, if you're on holiday you might as well pay it!! Just watch out for the monkeys trying to get into your room!!

Worth a look! Great resort.

  • Liked — The brilliant staff and beach
  • Disliked — The toilets - always blocking up
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pangkor Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Island Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Belanga, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
#2 Spa Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pangkor Island Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the jewels in the crown of West Coast of Penisular Malaysia's Island Resorts, Pangkor Island Beach Resort is the perfect get-away to de-stress and unwind. Lying approximately half way between Penang and Kuala Lumpur, getting there by car from Kuala Lumpur is about 3 hour along the scenic North-South Highway. Alternatively, a dedicated coach transfer departs three times weekly (Wednesday, Friday and Sunday) from the Malaysia Tourism Information Centre along Ampang Road (apposite Renaissance Hotel) whilst a 35-minute flight on Berjaya Air; operating thrice weekly from Subang Airport flying directly into the island.The resort is ideally located in a protected bay, offering guests 1.2 kilometer of private beach front.This inimate resort is fringed by natural wonders of a tropical rainforest, offering an abundance of flora and fauna, where nature is at your doorstep.This unique resort location allows guests the option of a complete laid-back experience whilst those with a more adventurous spirit can take advantange from its full range of land and sea activities.Whether you are looking for a quiet romantic interlude or run-filled family get-away, Pangkor Island Beach Resort will satisfy your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AsiaRooms, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pangkor Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Island Beach Hotel Pangkor
Pan Pacific Pangkor
Pangkor Island Beach Resort Pulau Pangkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangkor Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.