We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pangkor Laut Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pangkor Laut Resort to your Saves list
Pangkor Laut Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pangkor Laut Island, Lumut, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32200, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% OFF BAR RATES!
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Pangkor
Riffa, Bahrain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Pangkor Laut resort for three nights in the middle of October 2013 and it was a break that we would cherish for ever. Pangkor Laut is a dream world. Its scenic, serene, and beautiful. the resort is made up of villas only and you can choose between the Spa Villas, The Sea Villas and the Hill Villas. We had booked a Sea Villa but it didn't have the privacy we are used to although many guests didn't seem to mind sunbathing on the back deck with neighbours peeping in. We asked Mr. Mohammad if we could have a villa with more privacy and he graciously upgraded us to the most private villa amongst the Spa Villas. We had a full view of the sea with a distant island in sight from the back windows. The sound of waves slapping the foundation pillars and the beach and the sound of early morning birds and the sight of clean shallow waters with shades of emerald was like out of a story book. As Muslims we were concerned about our Eid prayers but the General Manager specially arranged for a special boat to take us to Pangkor island where we were able to offer the Eid prayers. When we checked in the Resort we were a bit surprised to find out that there was no TV or WiFi in the rooms so we rented a WiFi device for MYR 50 per day but the absence of TV turned out to be a blessing in disguise. This is a place where we should try and disconnect from the rest of the world and unwind. This is a place to reflect on your life and about your love and your loved ones. It is not cheap, but given its quality and uniqueness we feel its money well spent.

Room Tip: Hills side and garden villas may have a mosquito problem. Sea view villas are nice but some have mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest'
Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort
Thank you for choosing Pangkor Laut Resort for your stay during October 2013 and sharing this review with pictures. We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay and the privacy at one of our spa villas, We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.regards.
Mohamed Elsayeh.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    282
    109
    46
    30
See reviews for
228
795
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Traveled from USA to Pangkor Island to have a relaxing vacation. The hotel is over priced and the staff overcharged for everything. Stayed two nights and paid for three even though the reservation was changed and accepted by the hotel. Speed boat arrangement is very poor. Difficult to find the location for speed boat to travel to the resort. Hotel did not provide schedule for speed boat so had to wait for an additional 2 hours after traveling more than 26 hours to Pangkor. Would not recommend this hotel to any one.

Room Tip: Hill villas are quiet and have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort
Thank you for your stay at Pangkor laut resort and sharing your review, we always develop through constructive criticism such as yours.
1 - We are always reviewing our prices to be more competitive.
2 - We will match our ferry timetable to match most of flights arrival time.
3 - Currently our ferry time table and map is updated on our website.
Please accept my sincere apology as booking source failed to update the latest product information.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Arriving at the reception of the Pangkor Laut resort reception is very well handled . You are registered quickly, settled down with a delicious fruit punch and your luggage labelled and made ready for the adventure to follow. The trip to the island on the speed boat is an excellent first impression of the Island.Once on the Island there is a plethora of staff with wide smiles at various locations guiding you to reception. An excellent and personal check in by Dash was very much appreciated. Full of knowledge about the resort we where shown to our Spa villa ( thank you for this upgrade !)
The wooden Spa Villa we had was on the end of a row of villas and was private . The bathroom was spacious and the over-sized bath was a real treat. The private balcony over the sea kept was wonderful , we loved early evening with a drink and soaking in the atmosphere.
On our first night we had dinner at Uncle Lims, we were both somewhat disappointed with our meals, at such a high class resort it did not meet expectation.
The following morning we had an amazing choice for breakfast and feel in food love with the Cronut...croissant crossed Donut...amazing! The cheese platter was excellent.
Emerald beach was very relaxing we didn't want to leave. The Spa treatments were exceptional and we enjoyed the pre treatment adventure.Staff was plentiful and always smiling.
A nice touch was the GM saying a personal goodbye to all on-board our departing speedboat.
Only negatives were Uncle Lims Chinese restaurant and the villas interiors starting to date, but this did not detract from a wonderful stay and I would recommend to anyone interested in a quiet, relaxing few days away.

Room Tip: Spa villa is best for couples as children are not allowed and the views not facing the resort but ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort;
Thank you for choosing Pangkor Laut Resort and taking the time writing this review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed apart from your experience at Uncle Lim while Dash appreciated your warm and kind recognition, we do appreciate your comment and please allow me to introduce Chef Stephen Jones who had just joined the team and I am asking him to review the menu as soon as possible. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards,
Mohamed Elsayeh.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We spent a week here as part of our honeymoon and the island, the accommodation and the food was fabulous. The alcohol is pricey especially the wine but it's not really the place to come and drink all day. We initially thought we would be bored but going to yoga and walking the forest trails and going to the beach on the opposite side of the island filled the days well, along with plenty of relaxing by the pool.

My one major gripe was the boat service. We had been delayed by a day and our flight got into KL about 0530. We had prepaid for a transfer that wasn't cheap. We arrived at the marina where you check in about 0930. That was all fine until the lady said. So the next boat is at 1300 so you can be transferred to the island then, my jaw nearly hit the floor. What made it worse was that she was totally oblivious or seemingly unable to understand why I found this unacceptable. All she said was you should have been told the boat time by your travel agent (which we hadn't) but that aside I consider it far from a 5 star service to provide such a limited service. We were also impacted on the way back as we had to leave a lot earlier than required.

But apart from that and if you are prepared for up to a 3-4 hour wait for a boat with nothing to do close by I would recommend it..

Room Tip: All rooms looked to have a good few, apart from maybe the garden ones close to the restaurant..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort.
Thank you for choosing Pangkor Laut Resort as part of your honeymoon. Myself and the team are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay apart from the boat time experience. Trust we will review our ferry timetable soon in order to match most of our guest's arrival time.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards,
Mohamed Elsayeh.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent two nights here in the sea villa as part of our honeymoon. It was a great experience. The service was excellent, with hotel staff attending to our room twice a day, setting up beach/ pool chairs for us and bringing us multiple bottles of water at the beach/ poolside without us asking.

The food was delicious. The breakfast buffet was both western and asian. They provide you with a list of every restaurant on the resort and what cuisines they offer, so that you can book a table ahead of time. We didn't pay for a meal plan prior to arrival, but we ended up paying less than what we expected to (based on previous tripadvisor reviews).

The only thing lacking was a tv in our villa. There is a tv available, but the tv room is above the gym which was a good ten minute walk from our room.

Overall it was a great experience. I would recommend this resort to anyone. If you're planning to go, be aware that some restaurants have a dress code and require collared shirts and closed-toed shoes for men.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest
Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort
Allow me to take the opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us at Pangkor Laut Resort and have noted your suggestions which we will review. I hope that you will enjoy many anniversaries to come at Pangkor Laut Resort and wish you both the blessings and joy for your years to come. We hope you will be back soon to have another wonderful retreat with the delicious food we offer and give us the chance to pamper you both again.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

16? 17? Or is it 18? I don’t know and I don’t care just as long as the moment I call for a room , I get a positive answer. “Please come, our loyal customer! ” I have lost count how many times we have visited Pangkor Laut Resort (PLR) … almost every few months it attracts us somehow especially to celebrate occasions and events in our lives. The staff has become part of our family and are always ever so happy to see us and come running to give us hugs and handshakes, like Mohamed did on Marina Island when he saw us. It’s our second home … why do I say so? The way we are treated and the pampering! Every little detail is looked into. Even as I write this, I wish I were there again, but this time for our 50th Golden Anniversary we are going to its sister resort called Cameron Highlands Resort in Pahang, another of our favourites.
The two of us, seniors enjoying our golden years, are just in love with everything that is there on this One Island, One Resort holiday place – the huge smiling and ever willing staff , every one of them, to help you enjoy your vacation here ... nothing is too much for them; fine dining in Fishermen’s Cove ; the other restaurants all of them, the ambience, the villas … I was upgraded to the serene out of the world SPA villa, the spa and the massage (your holiday is not complete unless you have their unique SPA experience ; the senior management (names like Mohamed Elsayeh and Dorrothy Kam come to mind) as they ensured that my spouse’s 80th birthday celebration would be very special.

We actually love taking the early boat but were constantly reminded by the Rooms team to arrive much later as there was no boat before 1pm. So much against our wishes, we did as instructed . At Marina Island, Pangkor, Sham parked our car for us . We were welcomed by Visal, Fatin and Zaini who all recognised us and served us drinks.

Once on the island we were happily met by familiar faces Ong from Cameron Highlands Resort and Julius and were told that as it was full house, we would have to wait for our rooms which we didn’t mind as we were served with lunch. We chose Royal Bay Beach Club which had a new menu . Tanges served us new dishes – grilled brinjal/aubergine and mushroom in skewers. We had big servings by Khrishnan and his team. We loved the Greek salad and the chicken satay served to us at Chapman’s Bar.

The thing about PLR is it grows on you – the more you visit it the more you know everyone and the staff know your preferences where food is concerned. They even knew we loved the mango and every morning we had a plate of juicy mango served to us. You are made to feel so welcomed. The staff have worked here many years and this speaks for itself that they are happy with their living conditions; hence, we visitors enjoy our stay here.

At breakfast at Feast Village and dinner at Uncle Lim’s and snacks at Jamu Bar , names like Hendra, Aung, Teja, Agustin, Evelyn, Loy, Hayoung, Ken , Arasi, F & B Manager Vije, Helena the lady in charge, Chefs Hemant, Wong & Arasu , and Suba come to mind for ensuring we visitors are treated as VIP guests. The three drivers Lengga, Hashim and Thyagu (formerly from Marina Island) always serve with a smile and even graciously step down and open your doors to see you out every time you get a ride to Emerald Bay and back. Everyone is treated the same but if you are a loyal repeat customer then you enjoy an even better relationship for the staff begins to treat you as part of their family. A number of guests even remarked, “You are so popular. Everyone knows you.” Yes, it is like one happy family looking after our needs . Thank you everyone.

With so many visitors to the island – Pangkor Laut is not Pangkor Island – it doesn’t come as a shock when one of the staff from another of YTL resorts meets you here and even knows your favourite fish, the way it ought to be cooked and the name of the fish you like. This is amazing! Ong I will miss you in Cameron Highland Resort next weekend as we are going there to celebrate our Golden Anniversary. At Uncle Lim’s restaurant, waiter Sarkunan surprised us by serving us cashew notes …”I remember you love nuts!” he added … “try these crunchy cashews “… It is amazing if you are a repeat customer how they remember what you like .. I had steamed garoupa and prawns .. thank you Ong and the team …Helena and Dorrothy, it was a pleasure having you both at Uncle Lim’s mingling with us and the other guests …
The big surprise was the birthday celebration at Fishermen’s Cove which came as a total shock to my spouse. The moist luxurious chocolate cake which was shared with all the guests in the restaurant and the guitarist and singer who played my hubby’s favourite number which many of you may know by now as it was also in my previous articles …Love is a many splendored thing …made my spouse immediately get up and dance the night away …We enjoyed the song, the cake, the sharing, the grilled lobster dinner and the tranquil romantic ambience.

Another huge surprise was when while we were about to leave Marina Island , a familiar figure from the far end was seen scurrying towards us as we were getting into our car. Mohamed Elsayeh, the resort head wanted to greet the birthday boy personally and to enquire if everything was good. It was such a pleasure to meet Mohamed as it reminded us of all the previous visits and our pampering. That also reminded us of some the previous Heads on this island .. Kirinjit needs special mention … for we started our famed Macarena song on arrival at the island with a group of 40 members of the Malaysian Menopause Society and another group of 148. Such was the friendship we had made so it was hard to leave Mohamed and the staff – our family.
All we say is Thank you so much for making my spouse’s 80th birthday so very special. Two other people .. our doctor on the island and the trekking instructor also made an impact on us . Ahmad the latter was concerned when we briefed him that we were taking the long trek on our own as we were used to Nordic Walking here! What he didn’t know was that we were part of the PLR family when Mr Yip used to be here. PLR, we shall come again soon!

Room Tip: Try the SPA villa .. it's out of the world
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort
It is with great pleasure and delight that I read your words of praise for the entire team here at Pangkor Laut Resort. I shall ensure they are recognized as examples to follow for all. My presence from start to end is something I do for all guests as you mentioned for I am satisfied to see my guests are happy and you will always be a part of the Pangkor Laut Resort family. We miss you already and look forward to your next visit so you may allow us to help you relax and unwind. Thank you for your kind yet warm and encouraging words and we hope to see you soon.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arosa, Graubunden, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed in November for a few nights at Pangkor Laut. The resort is very tranquille and has a breathtaking setting. The villas are in a very good shape and the food is excellent. The staff is friendly and the nature is fantastic. The prices are European style. We enjoyed all in all our stay and would definitely return again and again.

Room Tip: Hill Villas have a million Dollar view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Greetings from Pangkor Laut Resort.
Thank you for choosing Pangkor Laut Resort for your stay last month and sharing this review. We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your few days stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pangkor Laut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Laut Resort

Address: Pangkor Laut Island, Lumut, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
#1 Spa Hotel in Pangkor
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pangkor Laut Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pangkor Laut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Laut Hotel Pangkor
Laut Pangkor
Pangkor Laut Resort Pulau Pangkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangkor Laut Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.