We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not hesitate...........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pangkor Laut Resort

Save Saved
You added Pangkor Laut Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pangkor Laut Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pangkor Laut Island, Lumut, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32200, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 hotels in Pangkor
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Do not hesitate...........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

There is something very special about Pangkor Laut. Rooms, food, staff and general facilities are indeed of an excellent 5* Hotel and I have stayed in many. It is perfect for 3-7 nights. A meal plan is a good idea but it certainly was not extornionate should you just have a rate with breakfast! Staff are lovely. My special thanks to Anna Janczewska and her team for making my stay incredibly special. We booked a sea villa which did not disappoint in the slightest. Very romantic, very special, very classy and yet unpretentious. Cool and chic! Now, the Spa... DO NOT MISS HAVING A TREATMENT HERE. It is certainly THE best Spa experirnce I have EVER had! Overall, an amazing, wonderful, incredible time. I did not want to leave as the lovely staff waved goodbye and we zoomed off into the sunet on our speedboat on our way home.... Thank you so much!

Room Tip: All Villas are lovely but splash out if you can for the Sea Villa and for a meal plan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for choosing Pangkor Laut Resort and sharing your review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay while we will recognise Anna and her team on their performance appraisal. Thank you very much for the warm and encouraging words.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    676
    235
    97
    40
    24
See reviews for
175
638
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Pangkor Laut for part of our honeymoon. It was the perfect place to relax after all the wedding stress and we really enjoyed our 5-night stay. We were upgraded to a sea villa and despite the reports of them being very close together, etc, the one we were in felt very private and we had a great view out to sea. The food was fantastic, particularly at Fisherman's Cove. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had, with more cooking stations than I expected. At all the restaurants the food was less expensive than we had anticipated which was a nice surprise. The service across the board was good, particularly at Fisherman's Cove and Jamu Bar.
Five nights seemed a good length of time to stay, any longer than that and I think we would have wanted a few more options for things to do/places to eat.
Emerald Bay was stunning and although we walked there via the southern perimeter jungle trek a few times (about an hour, lots of fun and never saw another person en route), it was easy to head there from our villas using the shuttles which were very convenient, we never had to wait more than about ten minutes for one.

The only thing I would say is that if you are booking your transfers through their travel agent, make sure you reconfirm just before you arrive - we booked months in advance and despite having email confirmations from about 2 weeks prior, we had to wait 2 hours at the airport in KL (after several international phone calls on my HK mobile to their office in Malaysia) for the pick-up before the 4 hours drive to Marina Island - we were told that the delay was due to traffic but suspected they had made a mistake with our booking and had to arrange another car at the last minute. So it was a bit of a bumpy start but once we arrived at Pangkor Laut itself we felt we were very well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay and your valued time sharing this review. We are delighted to learn that room, food and service met with your esteemed expectations. Please accept my sincere apology as our travel centre failed to give the first good impression. At the end we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcome you again at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Been there for 4 days for our honeymoon and it was just magnificent! We stayed at hill villa and the view was just breathtaking. Food were tasty and you wouldn't feel hungry at all since the portions are quite large. Friendly staff and services at its best. Jungle trekking was interesting and fun. Spa experience; relaxing. Definately will go there again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your valued time spent writing the review.. We are delighted to learn that we have exceeded your expectations. Looking forward to welcome you back at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

amazing!!!!!!! I can't rave about pangkor laut enough. Everything was perfect from the incredible surroundings, to fabulous food to the most decedent spa treatment I've ever had.....and I had a lot. The staff are lovely especially the babysitters who had our precious newborn every night. Just divine... loved it.

Room Tip: The spa villas are the furthest away from breakfast...works for some people but fyi. Use the shuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent and your warm and encouraging words. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I been to the Pangkor Laut resort with my wife,my mum ,cousins and relatives...The resort was fantastic more than expected.the staff were friendly and the resort was great with their facilities and good nature.The resort was little expensive but it meet our expectation...Stayed there for 10 days while visiting my hometown from ipoh.will be visiting the resort soon since it is worth to spend the amount of money for their facilities and i would say it is good value for money.the only thing is the resort have to maintai the cleanliness in the ocean by discussing the council to clean the ocean and have a gotong royong while working together with the competitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
We are delighted to know that you had a good family holiday at Pangkor Laut Resort. In an effort to clean the ocean; we have deployed a special boat (Skimmer) with large strainers to clean the ocean. Additional large netting will be completely installed by the end of May 2013 at Emerald Bay beach. Thank you very much for your recent stay and you valued time spent writing the review and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and had a wonderful time. The highlights:

- upgraded to a spa villa because it was our honeymoon, which was gorgeous.
- the best spa experience we've ever had, simply amazing. It's quite expensive but unparalleled.
- good food - we loved Uncle Lim's and Fisherman's Cove.
- friendly staff and service; they remembered our names and would greet us by name each day!
- beautiful jungle; you can hear it all the time which was awesome. We saw hornbills and huge mentor lizards.
- gorgeous pools and clear emerald water
- we paid for a transfer from KL as well (about 3 hours), which was on time with a friendly driver, water, daily papers and snacks.

What you need to know:
- there are bugs. You're on an island. In the jungle. Bring some DEET and you'll be fine.
- the swimming beach is on the other side of the island and I didn't love it, but I'm more of a pool girl anyway.
- the food and drinks are incredibly pricey. If you don't opt for a meal plan or the all-inclusive, you'll be unhappy at check-out! (Bring alcohol with you if you're able!)
- don't ask about the vipers, you don't want to know. Carry your flashlight at night.
- if you're looking for an entertainment crew, you're coming to the wrong place.
- they do charge for the speedboat, which is sort of silly - how else are you going to get there?

It was truly a unique experience for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your valued time writing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We have started to include the ferry fee in most of our new package and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First of all, what they call "villas" would NOT be classified as such by any other resort. They are essentially only 1/4 of one villa.

My bf and I stayed for a few nights in one of the hill villas a while back. We initially considered the sea villas, but saw reports of them collapsing into the sea.......
As you can imagine, we were rather shocked to find out that the "villa" we booked was little more than a smaller-than-average-sized hotel room with a balcony. There was very limited floor space in the room, despite only having one desk/chair and a chaise longue,

The bathroom was good, very clean with good amenities.

Privacy was pretty much non-existent, unless you barricade yourselves in the rooms with all blinds drawn. Sitting in the balcony felt really strange, as you can literally shake hands with the person standing on the balcony next door.

Great view from the main pool, but was loud with many young children running around.
In fact, the whole resort had a lot of young visitors so couples wanting a romantic break should stay away.

Breakfast was really good (discounting the flies), with a huge selection.
There was a really racist Indian woman at the curry station, who would either ignore, or grunt at Asian visitors whilst grovelling to caucasians. We actually called after our trip to complain about this particular staff, and was told that it was not the first time it happened. Hmmm......why she remained as a member of staff is beyond me.

The manager promised to follow up on this complaint, but in keeping with this resort, such promises cannot but be empty.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your useful, fair yet constructive feedback. We are now welcoming guest over 16 years at our Spa village (Including swimming pool) and Spa villas in an aim to provide quite experience to couples Please accept my sincere apology on behalf of the entire management team as our follow up on your call was below your esteemed expectation.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pangkor Laut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Laut Resort

Address: Pangkor Laut Island, Lumut, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
#1 Spa Hotel in Pangkor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pangkor Laut Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Pangkor Laut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Laut Hotel Pangkor
Laut Pangkor
Pangkor Laut Resort Pulau Pangkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangkor Laut Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.