We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island, great service - but reconfirm your transfers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pangkor Laut Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pangkor Laut Resort to your Saves list
Pangkor Laut Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pangkor Laut Island, Lumut, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32200, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
20% OFF BAR RATES!
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Pangkor
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful island, great service - but reconfirm your transfers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Pangkor Laut for part of our honeymoon. It was the perfect place to relax after all the wedding stress and we really enjoyed our 5-night stay. We were upgraded to a sea villa and despite the reports of them being very close together, etc, the one we were in felt very private and we had a great view out to sea. The food was fantastic, particularly at Fisherman's Cove. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had, with more cooking stations than I expected. At all the restaurants the food was less expensive than we had anticipated which was a nice surprise. The service across the board was good, particularly at Fisherman's Cove and Jamu Bar.
Five nights seemed a good length of time to stay, any longer than that and I think we would have wanted a few more options for things to do/places to eat.
Emerald Bay was stunning and although we walked there via the southern perimeter jungle trek a few times (about an hour, lots of fun and never saw another person en route), it was easy to head there from our villas using the shuttles which were very convenient, we never had to wait more than about ten minutes for one.

The only thing I would say is that if you are booking your transfers through their travel agent, make sure you reconfirm just before you arrive - we booked months in advance and despite having email confirmations from about 2 weeks prior, we had to wait 2 hours at the airport in KL (after several international phone calls on my HK mobile to their office in Malaysia) for the pick-up before the 4 hours drive to Marina Island - we were told that the delay was due to traffic but suspected they had made a mistake with our booking and had to arrange another car at the last minute. So it was a bit of a bumpy start but once we arrived at Pangkor Laut itself we felt we were very well looked after.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay and your valued time sharing this review. We are delighted to learn that room, food and service met with your esteemed expectations. Please accept my sincere apology as our travel centre failed to give the first good impression. At the end we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcome you again at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    260
    104
    45
    27
See reviews for
195
703
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Been there for 4 days for our honeymoon and it was just magnificent! We stayed at hill villa and the view was just breathtaking. Food were tasty and you wouldn't feel hungry at all since the portions are quite large. Friendly staff and services at its best. Jungle trekking was interesting and fun. Spa experience; relaxing. Definately will go there again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your valued time spent writing the review.. We are delighted to learn that we have exceeded your expectations. Looking forward to welcome you back at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

amazing!!!!!!! I can't rave about pangkor laut enough. Everything was perfect from the incredible surroundings, to fabulous food to the most decedent spa treatment I've ever had.....and I had a lot. The staff are lovely especially the babysitters who had our precious newborn every night. Just divine... loved it.

Room Tip: The spa villas are the furthest away from breakfast...works for some people but fyi. Use the shuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent and your warm and encouraging words. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I been to the Pangkor Laut resort with my wife,my mum ,cousins and relatives...The resort was fantastic more than expected.the staff were friendly and the resort was great with their facilities and good nature.The resort was little expensive but it meet our expectation...Stayed there for 10 days while visiting my hometown from ipoh.will be visiting the resort soon since it is worth to spend the amount of money for their facilities and i would say it is good value for money.the only thing is the resort have to maintai the cleanliness in the ocean by discussing the council to clean the ocean and have a gotong royong while working together with the competitors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
We are delighted to know that you had a good family holiday at Pangkor Laut Resort. In an effort to clean the ocean; we have deployed a special boat (Skimmer) with large strainers to clean the ocean. Additional large netting will be completely installed by the end of May 2013 at Emerald Bay beach. Thank you very much for your recent stay and you valued time spent writing the review and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and had a wonderful time. The highlights:

- upgraded to a spa villa because it was our honeymoon, which was gorgeous.
- the best spa experience we've ever had, simply amazing. It's quite expensive but unparalleled.
- good food - we loved Uncle Lim's and Fisherman's Cove.
- friendly staff and service; they remembered our names and would greet us by name each day!
- beautiful jungle; you can hear it all the time which was awesome. We saw hornbills and huge mentor lizards.
- gorgeous pools and clear emerald water
- we paid for a transfer from KL as well (about 3 hours), which was on time with a friendly driver, water, daily papers and snacks.

What you need to know:
- there are bugs. You're on an island. In the jungle. Bring some DEET and you'll be fine.
- the swimming beach is on the other side of the island and I didn't love it, but I'm more of a pool girl anyway.
- the food and drinks are incredibly pricey. If you don't opt for a meal plan or the all-inclusive, you'll be unhappy at check-out! (Bring alcohol with you if you're able!)
- don't ask about the vipers, you don't want to know. Carry your flashlight at night.
- if you're looking for an entertainment crew, you're coming to the wrong place.
- they do charge for the speedboat, which is sort of silly - how else are you going to get there?

It was truly a unique experience for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your valued time writing your review. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We have started to include the ferry fee in most of our new package and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
We are looking forward to welcome you again at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

First of all, what they call "villas" would NOT be classified as such by any other resort. They are essentially only 1/4 of one villa.

My bf and I stayed for a few nights in one of the hill villas a while back. We initially considered the sea villas, but saw reports of them collapsing into the sea.......
As you can imagine, we were rather shocked to find out that the "villa" we booked was little more than a smaller-than-average-sized hotel room with a balcony. There was very limited floor space in the room, despite only having one desk/chair and a chaise longue,

The bathroom was good, very clean with good amenities.

Privacy was pretty much non-existent, unless you barricade yourselves in the rooms with all blinds drawn. Sitting in the balcony felt really strange, as you can literally shake hands with the person standing on the balcony next door.

Great view from the main pool, but was loud with many young children running around.
In fact, the whole resort had a lot of young visitors so couples wanting a romantic break should stay away.

Breakfast was really good (discounting the flies), with a huge selection.
There was a really racist Indian woman at the curry station, who would either ignore, or grunt at Asian visitors whilst grovelling to caucasians. We actually called after our trip to complain about this particular staff, and was told that it was not the first time it happened. Hmmm......why she remained as a member of staff is beyond me.

The manager promised to follow up on this complaint, but in keeping with this resort, such promises cannot but be empty.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your useful, fair yet constructive feedback. We are now welcoming guest over 16 years at our Spa village (Including swimming pool) and Spa villas in an aim to provide quite experience to couples Please accept my sincere apology on behalf of the entire management team as our follow up on your call was below your esteemed expectation.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

3rd trip to PLR but the first 2 visit sans 3-yr old pre-schooler.

Service:
Started w trying to book via YTL office under local resident package but somehow the cheaper rooms are "not available". After booking via Agoda.com for just room & breakfast, the YTL website offered the cheaper room! Obviously not too thrilled w the insane ferry charges (RM160 per person) and obscene meal charges (RM45+ for a dish).

Not a great start.

Their interns however were friendly and the wait staff at Feast Village were extremely accommodating. Their manager remembered my daugther's vegetarian diet and offered to make special meals for her.

Location:
A secluded island with scarce activities. Only a library with 3 computers to keep your family entertained in the evening. Not appealing if you hv young children. 2 of their Restaurants also barred children under 16. The only beach area is Emerald Bay . Small and with less than pristine waters.

Room:
Fairly spacious with balcony and big tub. Do stay in garden villas should u hv young children to avoid steep stairs up to hill villas.

Overall:
I was impressed with the resort 5 years ago but having visited awe-inspiring beach resorts over the years, PLR leaves much to desire. As a resident, have truly supported home grown YTL chain of hotels by staying in their other resorts such as Tanjong Jara. However, with the same amount of $ (RM1,000) a night, one can stay in bigger, more luxurious spaces in SEA such as Intercontinental Danang, Tubkaak, Krabi and even in expensive Shangri-la, singapore.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your stay and continuous support to YTL hotels. We have added recently other package and we are considering adding the ferry charges to each package (Depends on the booking channel and the booking channel requirements as well). We will make sure that all local package prices are completive comparing to both local and international market. Due to high demand on computer usage at the library area; we are now providing I pad with high speed internet connection at very reasonable price.
Once again; thank you very much for supporting YTL hotels and looking forward to welcome you again.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pangkor Laut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Laut Resort

Address: Pangkor Laut Island, Lumut, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pangkor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pangkor Laut Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pangkor Laut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Laut Hotel Pangkor
Laut Pangkor
Pangkor Laut Resort Pulau Pangkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangkor Laut Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.