We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pangkor Laut Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pangkor Laut Resort to your Saves list
Pangkor Laut Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pangkor Laut Island, Lumut, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32200, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% OFF BAR RATES!
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Pangkor
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my first time here and it won't be my last. My hubby arranged this as a belated 10-year anniversary trip. I'm already planning to bring my whole family next year.

We booked the garden villa but upon check in we were told we were upgraded to the hill villa. What a nice surprise! The villa is huge, overlooking the whole resort and facing the sea. The staff are really pleasant. You must go to the spa - it's one of their winning points. We tried having our meals at different restaurants and I have to say each has their own plus points.

Room Tip: Choose the all-inclusive package (room + board) if you can and pre-book your spa as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted to know that we have gained your trust on our brand. Looking forward to welcome you during your next visit with the family.
Regards

Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    282
    109
    46
    30
See reviews for
228
795
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Idyllic!

We stayed in adjoining garden villas and ate at the wonderful Chinese tree house that is Uncle Lim's (Mr Lim came to say hello on our first night).

The resident naturalist was ill on our stay so the doctor kindly allowed us to join him on his walk - so helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest
On behalf of Mr Lim (Uncle Lim's restaurant Chef), and the resort doctor and the entire team, I would like to thank you for your review. Delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Garden Villas.
Regards
Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan2244
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

From start to finish Pangkor Laut island was an unforgettable experience.
We stayed in one of the cheaper garden villas and would do so again, as a "room" it was big, spacious and superbly equipped. and once you're on the island, you wont be spending much time in the room anyway. The island itself is beautifully maintained, staff are fantastic, Mariana was a credit to the place.
I would strongly recommend going for the inclusive meals as the restaurants on the island are fantastic and doing so takes off any worry about really enjoying the food. Fisherman's cove restaurant was a highlight for us
I can't recommend Pangkor Laut strongly enough, forget Pennang and langkawai, stay here for a bit longer
wish i could give 6 out of 5

Room Tip: the garden villas are the cheapest option, but we didn't feel we were missing out at all, just g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to sincerly thank you for your time spent sharing the review and delighted to know that ou had meorable experience. We are looking forward to welcome you for a longer stay.
Regards

Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed here in Oct 2012 (sorry for the late review) as part of a wedding party. The hotel far exceeded our expectations and made the whole wedding experience one we will never forget. The majority of our group works in hospitality so we are all very hard to please, but everything about PLR was outstanding! There was nothing that could have been done to make our stay or the wedding any better! The weather was hot hot hot, apart from the wedding day when it rained (of course) but luckily by the time we were on the beach for the ceremony it has cleared. The staff bent over backwards and nothing was too much trouble. I hope that we can come back soon, maybe to celebrate an anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your warm, yet encouraging review which we do appreciate. We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed the entire experience including the wedding and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards

Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We travelled as a large family group ranging in age from babies to 60+ and picked two adjoining Estates. The yacht ride over was very pleasant and set the expectations high for the group. The food was "what you want when you want" service as was the butler/housekeeping service and they were very pleasant. The environs of the estates are amazing, especially if you're a pool person. Occasional hornbill and monkey visits were fun for everyone.

For the price, though, there were a few things to point out. Some beds were situated on high platforms which could be dangerous for kids / elderly / those who roll around too much in their sleep. Not too much to do outside of the jungle walk, the beaches are mostly shared with the Resort and aren't that nice. Amenities were decent but you'd expect higher end branded at this price point. Towels were JW Marriott labelled, which was a bit odd.

I'd highly recommend going as a group of adult (coupled) friends looking to enjoy a private pool and outdoor jacuzzis or even a large family with kids who like to swim, but I'd probably get bored after 4-5 nights.

Room Tip: Some rooms have attached jacuzzis, some with daybeds, all came with personal Wifi hotspots
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest
We do really appreciate your valued time sharing your experience and recommending Pangkor Laut Estates. Please accept my sincere apology as we did not meet your expectations in some areas. Trust your constructive feed back is used to develop product, service and facilities.
We are looking forward to serve you again (with your family and friends) At Pangkor Laut Estates
Thank you

Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Good friends organized a wedding there with about 50 guests staying at the resort. We all had an excellent time. Highly recommend the Residents rate that includes breakfast, lunch and dinner at most of the resort restaurants. Food was excellent the entire stay. We stayed at the cheapest Garden view villa, and even though it didn't have the allure of the signature sea view villa, for a 50% saving, it was still more than enough. The room was very large, with OTS of lovely touches. The bathroom was huge with his and her sinks, a separate shower, and a partially outside bathtub. All very nice. All in all, all the guests had an excellent time, and the wedding couple were extremely happy. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed both the stay and the wedding event at Pangkor Laut Resort. We would like to thank you for your valued time spent writing the review and we are looking forward to serve you again at Pangkor Laut Resort.
Regards

Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have been submitting myself to massage in order to keep my back on track, especially when traveling. It is a good way to recover from long walks in museums and little villages for instance. I have been experimenting massage in quite different places, such as: in the Orient Bay beach in Saint Martin, Le Touquet in France, Belo Horizonte/MG in Brazil, Amsterdam in the netherlands, Tokyo in Japan and many others. So many different methods and nobody has the same way!

In my memory however it stays the wonderful experience in having a massage session in the spa from Pankor Laut Resort, in Malaysia.

My 2 daughters and I booked a massage. I did a Thai one. When you arrive at the spa, you receive some fresh juice and a towel to refresh yourself. Then you get comfortable slippers and a Malaysian sari and wait in a wonderful open garden to be picked up for your session. The session started with you going across an open air small swimming pool with warm water while you can smell 4 different bowls with steam based in 4 different plants that can be good to your skin, or your eyes or other senses. You can also make a wish and drop a coin in a fountain there.

Then you are asked to go to to a room for a Japanese bath. So you can scrub yourself and throw warm water in your body until you move to another small open air swimming pool, with nice plants and stone around, while you are served a nice tea. Until this moment, my daughters and I were together. Then, each one was asked to go for a room, were I was guessing our massage would start. But not yet... you lay down in a table with a mattress and a masseuse scrub your back and throw more warm water on your back. The calmness of the place and the relaxing sensation is wonderful. then when finish there you are ready for your massage.

The thai massage in Pangkor Laut has its own way. Thai massage is a special method that stretch your arms and legs and the whole body, while doing the massage, not always using oils. In this case, the spa uses a really good perfumed oil and most of the masseuses are from Bali and are very well trained. One hour plus the almost another one hour preparation... and you come back to your room in a sort of other dimension to enjoy the wonderful restaurants the Resort has.

The Resort is a whole wonderful experience that I would advise anyone who enjoy vacation at the beach. And the massage is unforgettable.

Room Tip: The resort has suites sustained by wooden pillars over the sea. If you prefer to have a walk before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed E, General Manager at Pangkor Laut Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for visiting Pangkor Laut resort and your valued time writing the review. We will be delighted to welcome you back again.
Regards

Mohamed Elsayeh
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pangkor Laut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Laut Resort

Address: Pangkor Laut Island, Lumut, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pangkor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pangkor Laut Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pangkor Laut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Laut Hotel Pangkor
Laut Pangkor
Pangkor Laut Resort Pulau Pangkor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangkor Laut Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.