We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab place to stay and/or to dine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indulgence Living (and Restaurant)

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ipoh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indulgence Living (and Restaurant)
14 Jalan Raja Di Hilir, Ipoh 30350, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 hotels in Ipoh
Shanghai, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fab place to stay and/or to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Indulgence is a fab hotel - beautifuly decorated rooms and really exquisite meals. The only reason we visited Ipoh was as a transit point on our way to pangkor laut resort. Since there is only one flight a day from Singapore and it arrives late afternoon we thought it a waste to continue travelling by car for another two hours and ferry to pangkor laut, pay for the resort for a night that we would only get a couple of hours to enjoy. So we stayed at Indulgence. We were a party of four. My partner and I stayed in the chinese room- super comfortable bed, attractive decor and spotlessly clean. Dinner (not included in the room rate) and the breakfast the next day (included in the room rate) were exceptionally good. A definite recommendation. Not sure why anyone would want to stay for any amount of time in Ipoh though - the town looks very UNinteresting....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    2
    1
    7
See reviews for
21
25
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

I travel to Ipoh often on business. I had heard about the Indulgence Hotel/Resturant but never had a chance to stay there. Now I will not stay at any other hotel in Ipoh. I was treated like a highly respected family member by the owner and staff.

The rooms are all decorated differently. There are only 7 rooms. Reservations must be made in advance if you want a chance to stay there. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and well maintained.

The restuarant serves gourmet meals that are exceptional in taste and quality.

I have recommended the Indulgence to many other business travelers from my company and all agree that this is the only place to stay in Ipoh.

It is a high quality get-a-way for a romantic weekend ... or a exceptional place to stay for the business traveler.

The only drawback is that the resturant is closed on Monday and Tuesday night. The staff recommended other fine resturants in Ipoh for thise nights.

I highly recoomend this Hotel.

Rod Miller

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singpaore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I travel frequently for business and leisure in top hotels, B&Bs and boutique hotels. Indulgence living is the best in all ways, the room was clean, beautiful and costy. Service was excellent - from Julie Song - the owner who count celebrities and dignitaries as her clients (like Gordon Ramsay, Lee Kuan Yew to name a few), was warm, friendly, funny interesting; down to earth; to Jessie, the Manager - she is amazing, full of initiative, very personable, professional, knowledgeable and caring; to all the other service staff. Food was delightful.. ingredients are fresh and cooked to perfection. The rooms are gorgeous (we stayed in the Italian room), it was lovely, very cosy, warm and comfortable. Location of the hotel was perfect, close to both the old town, new town and highways. Our trip to Ipoh was so fun because of this great peole from Indulgence Living who made sure we know of all the nice places in Ipoh we can go to, gave us maps and names and addresses of places to go; made sure our car was well looked after by the security guard at night, made sure our food was served ina timely manner/ Overall, we receivved great value for our money, and the great memories and experience of the great people we know from Indulgence Living is something money cannot buy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

After having gone through dozens of reviews, describing hotels in Ipoh, we booked an extended weekend at Indulgence Living.
At the end of an everlasting and strainful journey, we finally reached Ipoh Railway Station. After only very few minutes by taxi, and even before we were aware that we already arrived at our destination, we were overcome by an extremely warm welcome through the staff, who had been waiting to take care of our desire, to make sure we enjoy our stay and that we are not missing anything. Soon afterwards, Jessie, the manager of the hotel, accompanied us to our room, where the next breathtaking moments were awaiting us. Indulgence Living, a so-called boutique hotel,
entertains 6 guestrooms, each of them beautifully and tastefully furnished and decorated in a different theme. We opted for the italian one. As soon as I set my feet into it, my fatigue from the journey vanished all of a sudden and I felt lost in the middle of an overall peaceful, quaint and warm atmosphere. The bed was heavenly, not only the bedding as well- the heavenly feeling stretched to every part and corner of the place, attaining the blue wall hanged with countless little mirrors to enchant a magical something in the air, which one can feel but not touch. The bathroom was literally sparkling and a smell of freshness and cleanliness made its way all through our italian unit.
It is hard to imagine how much care, endurance capacity, taste and devotion have been invested in each detail inserted in this room for the comfort, pleasure and well-being of the guest.
Later on, we met Julie, the owner and spirit of Indulgence Living and Restaurant, an extremely charming, witty, friendly, attentive and helpful person with a remarkable personality.
I at once understood the charm lingering so elegantly over that place and why both hotel and restaurant are being run with such perfection.
Energetic Julie has definitely reached the top of the ladder of her culinary career, but she has not ceased to travel around the world to collect further ideas and to allow herself be inspired for her creative and spectacular dishes, each of them prepared and presented most elaborately.
On Mother´s Day, we had dinner there and, as expected, the restaurant was fully booked. Though Julie was busy as could be in the kitchen, she came out into the restaurant to see after her guests and to make sure everybody is happy. Her aim to please and delight the diner is very strong and this élan gives birth to new and exceptionally impressive dishes every now and then.
Indulgence Restaurant is a unique experiene. If you have only one evening in Ipoh, make it Indulgence Restaurant. If you are longer there and dine at her restaurant on the first evening, you may risk to stick to it on every following evening until you leave.
The magnificent gourmet breakfast at Indulgence is a real treat to body and soul. Start with it in the morning and your day will be wonderful! Each breakfast is prepared individually at your order- you can choose from the menu, created by Julie or you can order your own creation. Whatever I chose, surpassed all breakfasts I ever had at any 5 star hotel and all so freshly prepared and especially for me. The breakfast service was at least as excellent as any other service at Indulgence: the staff went above, beyond and over to ensure we were feeling happy at all times.
We can surely recommend Indulgence Living to anybody at anytime, but, we would love to share such a precious experience only with persons we care a lot for, a really exciting and unforgettable experience for my husband and me.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchies in Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

For the long Easter break we chose this location based on all the awards the restaurant had won over the last couple of years, the good reviews on tripadvisor and we reckoned it was still near enough for a one day visit to the Cameron Highlands (1,5 hours drive). The restaurant indeed serves very good food and drinks. Most weeks they have a variety of specialities on offer next to a the a la carte menu. Even when your party orders a tenderloin beef the next day, it can be served with different side dishes and sauce due to which it tastes completely different.

We also recommend to have some drinks with snacks before dinner time. The duck or pate on toast with grapes are really nice. Or other suggestions will be offered by the knowledgeable staff.

Regarding breakfast all is possible, just create your own or chose from the menu. As highlighted in an earlier review, the food is prepared with love, so just take the time to enjoy and catch up with your family. If you are in a hurry, notify the staff in advance and they will even prepare your coffee on the go.

We also stayed overnight here. Each room has its own feeling, all very modern and quirky, with lovely bathroom, plasma screen, safe, dvd player and free internet.

We had a lovely weekend thanks to whole team of Indulgency Living. Thank you! Especially the offer for cake and beer on my husband’s birthday was really appreciated. A bit of shame we needed to drive home to get to work on time, I would have loved to stay another night.

By the way just ask for directions if you want to find your way to the hotel easily and also print the map from the website.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

great restaurant and personal service,an lot of locals are coming there to dine and we know why, so reserve an table and your evening is super.
Good managent by Juli.
Also the breakfast is is super they have serveral menues or you can say what you like., what is really unique
The room are beatiful furnished an comfortable with an great shower, very modern.
The food is excellent, fine wine.
We want to go to the Cameron Highlands, but we were glad that we have chosen Ipoh and this hotel, we stay her two nights, with our daughter and her husband.

We highly recommended this place for those who want a unique experience.
EXCELLENT

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We stayed here two nights. It is in a remote part of town and difficult to find (by everybody) The restaurant was closed for one of these nights (not what you would expect of someone claiming to aspire to Hotel status) but to be fair they offered to cook a single dish for us (hoping to get us to go out, I expect). Sunday is dead in Ipoh and none of the taxi drivers had heard of Indulgence Living but when pressed they had heard of the restaurant. The restaurant had won National awards for 2007 & 2008 but we found the food quite ordinary and not at an award winning level. The wine list is exceptional for this region and maybe this is what moved it up in the locals eyes.

The rooms were adequate, the steps to them very steep but the staff were very very helpful. Breakfast was good but took ages to serve because one member of the staff wanted to chat for 30 mins instead of getting breakfast, so service took an hour. The manager of the establishment was very helpful in every respect from changing a fridge to arranging for cars. Our day trip to the Cameron Highland was the highlight of our stay in Ipoh.

If this is the best hotel on offer, we will bypass Ipoh in future

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indulgence Living (and Restaurant)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indulgence Living (and Restaurant)

Address: 14 Jalan Raja Di Hilir, Ipoh 30350, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 hotels in Ipoh
Also Known As:
Indulgence Living (And Restaurant) Hotel Ipoh
Indulgence Living Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indulgence Living (and Restaurant), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Indulgence Living (and Restaurant) to your Saves list