We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dire Need to Upgrade/Renovate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Save Saved
You added Impiana Hotel Ipoh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Jalan Raja Dr. Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 44 hotels in Ipoh
Singapore
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Dire Need to Upgrade/Renovate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Apparently the biggest hotel in Ipoh.

Location is good and the lobby, dining facilities are decent. However, when you get into the rooms, you go into a different world. The wardrobe doors are so old they can't open. The carpeting is dirty and jaded. The in-room safe is non-functional. Wifi virtually non-functional in rooms. Toilet fittings are of a different generation. All in all, Impiana Ipoh had degenerated into a sad state.

Hope the owners do something about this...once upon a time a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear BertSG

Thank you for staying with us even though it wasn’t up to your expectation.

With regards to your concern on upgrading works, it is all in the plan and progressing in stages. The furniture and fittings, the grouting in the bathroom, carpet, the safe deposit box, and the list goes on. Though it will not happen overnight, we surely move forward to that direction.

We have completed quite a number of projects in enhancing and improving this heritage building, and we have many guests commended on the vast improvements to the Club, Premier and Suite rooms and The Club Lounge. We are offering our guests Club Room with full facilities from RM285nett. Do mention this on your future booking, and we would be more than happy to accommodate you.

Best Regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    49
    59
    22
    22
See reviews for
59
36
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

arrived late into the night at around 5am.. The front desk claimed that the hotel is almost full and they only have a twin room for us even though we have booked via agoda for a double room. well. we took it as we were too tired. The room itself was average.. but i am glad that it was clean. The swimming pool doesnt look very appealing and we didnt have time to go for a swim during the 2 days. (their pool is only open till 7pm) The lots infront of the hotel are always full and the lots at the back of the hotel looks very open and doesnt look very safe. There is free in room wifi which i like. but their in room dining is slightly on the more expensive side compared to other hotels in Malaysia of similar ranking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear jazpy82

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us.

As mentioned in our previous replies, this hotel is undergoing the change process in phases and it will not happen overnight. We are fully aware of our shortfalls and we are seriously looking into improving it. On the parking issues that you have mentioned, we do have security officers doing their rounds and checks to ensure the property is safe. All of our securities have been alerted to be more vigilant as well.

We have received compliments from our regular guests stating our ‘value for money’ in-room dining menu and we take pride in offering our guests with different varieties of local and international dishes, and being competitive in pricing.

Nonetheless, we value your feedback and we hope that it will not stop you from coming back to us in future.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Is time to do renovation, room are smelly, furniture & bed older then me, wall & toilet basin water leak, is time to do upgrade & renovation.
Internet booking & customer service, can be upgrade too.
environment & location are good.

Room Tip: If possibility & option, please find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Simon8989

Thank you for your recent visit to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and for taking the time to share your comments.

Many guests have commented on the improvements to the club rooms, club lounge and the poolside. Nonetheless we are making efforts in upgrading and at the same time, maintaining its heritage status as being one of the iconic building in Ipoh. For future reference, we do offer our refurbished Club Rooms at the rate of RM340nett, Premier Rooms at RM370nett and Suite Room at RM550nett which includes Club Lounge facilities whereby you will be able to enjoy the benefits of private check-in at our Club Lounge, all day coffee and tea, complimentary evening cocktails and turndown services during your stay.

Nonetheless, we appreciate your feedback as this helps us become the very best that we can be and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best regards
Chiam E-Fay
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at level 4. Room not clean enough and smelly. Old bed sheet, old towel, old furniture, old carpet. Toilet so dirty and a bit creepy. The room doesn't look like a 4 stars at all! But, the staffs are friendly and welcoming. I think, this hotel needs major renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Hanis2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. We have come a long way in the past two years and being a 28 year old iconic building in town, we continue to make every effort in its upgrade and preservation.

For future reference, we do offer refurbished Club Rooms which includes Club Lounge facilities ie private check in at The Club Lounge, Welcome Drink and Cold Towel, Complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails. Please mention this when booking and we will be more than happy to accommodate you accordingly.

We are delighted to hear that you particularly enjoyed the hospitality provided by the team. We are very proud of our staff at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback, as this helps us to become the very best that we can be, and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Best Regards
E-Fay, Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My family had overall excellent experience except landscape and garden at swimming pool can be improved further. I would love to see more tropical and Malaysiana style garden within the open field area. More shade and coconut trees will create more relaxing ambiance and santai, The open parking space and pool area feel neglected and tired to eyes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear wanasmav

Thank you for taking time to give us your review regarding your stay with us here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

As a much-valued guests, your feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.

We were delighted that you and your family enjoyed the stay and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards
E-Fay, Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawfishetouffee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As mentioned by other visitors before, this hotel is slightly old in terms of building and furniture. Although it is still using the conventional key (yes ! it's key) system, but that doesn't bother me as long as the security is good. Room is big and most importantly, room is clean.

We originally were given a room where the windows was facing the club/pub building next to hotel. Few years ago, we had a terrible experience and we could hear the club/pub sound from the windows (as the area was quiet), so I asked the front office to re-assign and they put me into room #307, which is facing the back of the hotel. The position is good as we cannot hear any noice and hence , we had a good rest. Another plus was, we can actually see sunrise from the room , so that's extra surprise for us.

Check-in process is very fast, efficient. Professional and polite staff. Served with welcome drink during check-in. Did not try other facilities like pool and others as we're merely wanted a cozy place to sleep/rest.

Overall, I booked this hotel via online for a rate of RM190/night, during the long weekend where most of the hotels in Ipoh are full/near full, so be able to get a king size bed and have a quiet rest - that's priceless. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not facing the pub/disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear crawfishetouffee

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay.

As the leading business class hotel, we strive daily to offer the best of Ipoh’s warmth and hospitality. We take genuine interest in the comfort and experience of our guests and so we were pleased to read that our staff were able to assist you and that you found the right room during your return stay with us.

Heritage buildings such as this hotel have become an icon in Ipoh, its grandeur and charm is still very prominent and is the reason for so many return guests. However, in its old age, many areas need attention and it is exactly what we are working on.

Once again, we would like to thank you for taking time to write this review and we look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Check in was swift and front desk service was friendly.

The room however was not up to Impiana standards at all!
Used towels & toiletries left in the room when I entered the room.
The room carpet was bulging and dusty window & curtain.
Light fixture was protruding out from the ceiling.

The room was not a 4 star hotel at all.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Reezal

Thank you for your recent feedback. We would like to extend our apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We have taken note of them and are looking in to them in more detail.

It is from feedback that guests give us that we try and improve the service and product at the hotel. We very much hope that you will consider allowing us to find another room category to suit when you next travel to Ipoh.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Impiana Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Address: 18, Jalan Raja Dr. Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impiana Hotel Ipoh 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful private retreat whenever you're in Ipoh. Centrally located in the heart of ipoh is The Impiana Hotel Ipoh. With breathtaking views of rugged limeston hills from most of its rooms, it is ideally located for business and pleasure travelers. Here, you will find excellent facilities and Ipoh's hospitality at its warmest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Impiana Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Casuarina Ipoh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Impiana Hotel Ipoh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.