We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay, but food not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ibis Styles Ipoh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ibis Styles Ipoh to your Saves list
ibis Styles Ipoh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Jalan Chung Onn Siew, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Ipoh
1 review
“comfortable stay, but food not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were a group checking in for 1 night. The room is very comfortable, soft and cosy pillows that facilitate a good night sleep. Modern set up with USB port very useful. Bathroom very clean and housekeeping staff efficiently attended to our request.

However, we cant say the same about our buffet breakfast. We tried the curry/soup noodle and found the noodle (mee) was spoilt. The curry and soup alternative was very poorly done. Not eadible. They also labeled the fried rice as bihun goreng. And there was already nasi lemak served.The bread section was not replenished.

The hotel is situated at a great location and if the above can be fixed, im sure it will provide a great staying experience for guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charanita, General Manager at ibis Styles Ipoh, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor. It makes us really happy to know that you had a great time here and enjoyed our facilities.

We appreciate all feedback as this will help us improve in areas which did not meet your expectations. In this case you mentioned that the buffet breakfast is not up to your expectation. This issue has been highlighted to our Head Chef for his awareness and action. We will look into this closely to come up with a solution to serve you better.

We thank you sincerely for your patronage and hope to see your return.

Best wishes
Charanita Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    74
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
29
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Went for a road trip with family over Labour's day long weekend.

Ibis Styles Ipoh is located a short drive away from all the yummy food you need in Ipoh, be it the famous dim sum street, or original ipoh white coffees. I'd think the eateries are accessible by foot too (1km+), but I didn't try as my parents was with me. There were also some eateries opposite the hotel which we did not try.

Hotel was opened recently, and everything in the hotel is spanking new. We booked deluxe rooms as I managed to get a good deal. To my surprise, room turned out to be a mini apartment - separate living room, bathroom with separate shower and toilet, and bedroom with a queen size bed (see photos). minimalist design, nothing luxury, but very clean, comfortable, and welcoming.

Hotel has a rooftop bar, albeit the finger food offered wasn't fantastic, it is definitely a good place to chill and catch up with friends & family while staying at the hotel.

No swimming pool, limited underground parking lots, breakfast selection was alright, but hey who needs hotel buffet breakfast in Ipoh? I'd rather head out for some good food!

I would definitely pick this hotel again for my next trip to Ipoh, though I might choose other room type for comparison, and would highly recommend this hotel for travellers visiting Ipoh.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charanita, General Manager at ibis Styles Ipoh, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is always so nice to hear how much our guests enjoy the property and I thank you for your kind words. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Styles Ipoh the next you are in town.

Sincerely,
Charanita Gill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

the staff of this hotel is very unprofessional in handling my reservation! I called to this hotel on 30 April 2014 around 11pm++ to make a reservation on 22 May 2014. The male staff who handled my reservation told me that I will receive an reservation confirmation email from his colleague on the next day, which is on today, 1st May 2014. However, until now I still never receive any email yet. Thus, I just called to this hotel again and I have been told by a female staff that there is no reservation made! The unprofessional manner of that male staff make me feel so unsatisfied!

Room Tip: double confirm your reservation with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charanita, General Manager at ibis Styles Ipoh, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from ibis Styles Ipoh and thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

With regards to our tele-conversation this morning, we are sorry to hear that some areas of our services were not up to your expectations. We have brought up this issue directly with Front Office Department as well as Reservation Team on their efficiency.Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it caused you.

We thank you again for your constructive comments which will definitely help us improve our services.

Best regards,
Charanita Gill
ibis Styles Ipoh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We are on a short business trips to Ipoh, got check-in with the recommendation of our Ipoh friend. It is a pretty new hotel nicely situated, convenient, reasonable price and most of all a well manner and helpful staff.

The room is big and cosy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charanita, General Manager at ibis Styles Ipoh, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review and we are happy to hear that we had created an impression on your recent stay with us.

ibis Styles Ipoh is the first international premium economy brand hotel in Ipoh and it offers an all-inclusive room rate with complimentary wifi and buffet breakfast.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts and services and it is comments like yours that motivates the team to strive even higher.

We do look forward to your next visit to ibis Styles Ipoh.

Thank you

Best Regards,
Charanita Gill
ibis Styles Ipoh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a good hotel to choose for travelers who goes to Ipoh.
The hotel room is spacious, full comfort, simple breakfast.
Besides that, the rooftop has a bar that overlook the Ipoh city.
Nice place to enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charanita, General Manager at ibis Styles Ipoh, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review of the hotel.

ibis Styles Ipoh offers an all inclusive room rates which caters to the needs of both leisure and business guests at a very affordable room rate.

Being the first international premium economy hotel brand in Ipoh, we strive to ensure all our guests are comfortable during their stay with us while being inspired by our interior design of such vibrant and refreshing colours.

I am happy to know you enjoyed the panoramic view of Ipoh from our roof top bar, Mu, that serves a good selection of cocktails and premium drinks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Styles Ipoh soon.

Best Regards,
Charanita Gill
General Manager
ibis Styles Ipoh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

First International hotel in Ipoh and I must say well done. Bed was comfortable albiet small but for the price, one cannot complain. Room was clean and has all the basic amenities one could need, ie: ironing board, ipod deck.luggage rack. Shower was decent and breakfast was not too bad.
Although I must add, the hotel is still new when we stayed so, it was overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charanita, General Manager at ibis Styles Ipoh, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to pen down your kind feedback on your recent stay to Ipoh.

We are happy to know that you found the facilities offered to our guest meets your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us especially the ibis-Sweet Bed, that you found comfortable.

We look forward to your return visit to Ipoh and to welcoming you back to ibis Styles Ipoh, a hotel that is vibrant, refreshing and calming from the moment you step in.

Best Regards,
Charanita Gill
General Manager
ibis Styles Ipoh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ibis Styles Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Ipoh

Address: 18 Jalan Chung Onn Siew, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles Ipoh 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city off Jalan Sultan Iskandar and within close vicinity to shops, businesses and entertainment joints, the 113 room ibis Styles Ipoh is 10 minutes by car from The Sultan Azlan Shah Airport and 4 minutes from The Ipoh Railway Station and Ipoh Old Town. All rooms are spacious, modern and have a calm yet rejuvenating ambience. The hotel features a restaurant, barista, rooftop bar and 4 modern function rooms, making it perfect for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your ibis Styles Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ibis Styles Ipoh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.