We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homecooked food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Andersonian Cafeteria

Old Andersonian Cafeteria
932, Jalan Hospital,, Ipoh, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 280 Restaurants in Ipoh
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Homecooked food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

LOVE this restaurant. Been there a million times with friends and also with family. I prefer the lunches more than the dinners as during lunch you get to pick your food from the buffet. Dinners need to be seated and ordered from the menu. The downside of eating here is the mosquitoes and the slow service. If you take some repellent and dont mind waiting alittle.... your belly will be very happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Fish Head Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I always come here if craving for fish head curry..

If you wish to taste local indian food do dine here.
They also serve juice as well
the place is clean and proper. the people are friendly ask for their suggestion of food sure you will enjoy your dinner

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“superb banana leaf curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Fortunately, our group of 9 ladies had made a reservation for this charming establishment in Ipoh. It is obviously a very popular lunchtime venue as the place was bustling. The service was still very good, the manager attentive and helpful in explaining the various dishes available on the buffet. We all had the banana leaf curry with different sauces. Thoroughly enjoyed it all, especially the potato croquets with chicken. And a pleasant view across the criket fields - lovely!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“My go-to place for banana leaf rice in Ipoh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Currently this is my favorite place for banana leaf rice in Ipoh. Previously it was tied with Kalai (in Ipoh old town) but with the change of ownership, food at Kalai is not good anymore. So that leaves the Old Andersonian Cafeteria alone at the top of the hill.

The food here is good (though I wish there was a bit more choice for the dishes), the environment is pleasant and airy and there's plenty of free parking available.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Nasi Daun Pisang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

i love this place. whenever i feel like eating Nasi Daun Pisang (plain rice with a variety of choices of Indian cuisine) I'll come here.
I also love their Baryani Rice, Mango Lassi and Naan (love their Cheese Naan) but for Naan its only available for dinner.
Their food is good and their price is cheaper than other authentic indian restaurant cuisine in Ipoh.
And for Muslim, dont worry, this restaurant is HALAL certified by Jakim.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Andersonian Cafeteria also viewed

 
Ipoh, Kinta District
Ipoh, Kinta District
 

Been to Old Andersonian Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Andersonian Cafeteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.