We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, new hotel for the whole family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Lim Bo Seng, Ipoh 30000 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Ipoh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Perfect, new hotel for the whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

After spending the whole day at Lost World of Tambun, our family trip consisting almost 20 pax adjourned to Kinta Riverfront Hotel. The hotel is very new, clean and near to the city center. We booked 2, 3 room apartment which was very comfortable and clean. There's also a bar at the lobby level where you can have few drinks. Overall, good place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    53
    70
    34
    22
See reviews for
71
15
6
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

just checked in- have no word to describe. Read all the previous reviews and yes, it's true. If u have extra money, get other hotel.

Staff looks not to friendly, Extra bed, dirty blanket, dirty leftover were along the hall way, not been pick up. Shortage of workforce maybe?

Room is out of my expectation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am not surprised as to why Kinta Riverfront has not received an excellent star review from any of its guests thus far! Personally, I had the displeasure of two horrific experiences within a mere 4 month period. My first such experience was when I booked a hotel room and 3 bedroom apartment for myself, husband and family members. As a newlywed in June, I had confirmed a 2 night stay for all of us. Unfortunately, in the evening of our first day here, our “pleasant” stay was threatened, when we were told by Reception to vacate our room by 12pm the following day, in other words an oversight of a 2 day booking. My husband had to rush to the receptionist in a desperate attempt to straighten out matters. Whilst he was ensuring that we were not left roofless, my sister in-law and I were getting ready for an event. To our utter dismay, a maintenance/housekeeping staff suddenly accessed our room without even the simple courtesy of knocking! Mind you, this happened more than twice. At all times, the staff hastily closed the hotel room door, lacking apology for the blunder, after realizing guests were still in the room! My cousin who had made a booking as well, had to repeatedly and finally with a very firm tone, convinced the receptionist/housekeeping service personnel, that the 3 room apartment she was assigned to, was not cleaned and in a mess when she first opened the door.

My second bad experience was on 27th September 2012; when I called Kinta Riverfront to book a 3 room apartment. On our second visit, on 15th of September 2012, we paid RM318.00 for the same. Today, I am told that the “actual” rate is RM430.00++ (corporate rate). As confused as I am on the sudden hike of price within the same month, I query on the RM318.00 rate. I was told that this is the price for a two bedroom apartment. Puzzled, I probe further to learn that on the 2nd visit, apparently I was booked for 14th September 2012, for a 2 bedroom apartment; but since I arrived on the 15th, it’s the policy of Kinta Riverfront to upgrade the guests to a 3 bedroom apartment, especially since there were no available 2 bedroom units at the price of the latter!

Again I am bewildered. I believe that if one has booked for a particular day and does not show up, the booking will be cancelled automatically and any deposit forfeited. Why would the hotel upgrade me? Surprise, surprise! Bazilah, representing Kinta Riverfront, confidently tells me that “YES, it’s the hotel policy to do so!”. Is the hotel trying to cover up an error in my reservations? Or is the hotel rewarding guests who do not conform to their bookings and arrive at later dates? This unpleasant conversation transpired with the not so customer friendly Bazilah, on September 27th, 2012 approximately 12.05pm today.
For me it should be very simple. If Kinta Riverfront made a mistake previously, all they had to do was apologize. Instead they irritated me extensively. At first, I was willing to put my dissatisfaction aside (when I encountered the terrible experience in June). With today’s experience, I think the public should be made aware of the possible horrific experiences that may come their way, from the inefficiencies of the staff of Kinta Riverfront.

I can chalk up that my experience with Kinta Riverfront is by far the worst. I have traveled overseas and locally many a times, but never ever have I experienced this before. The management of Kinta Riverfront should seriously look into this matter! Bazilah herself told me to go ahead and post my complaint online simply because she was not patient enough to handle a dissatisfied, frustrated and highly disappointed customer. And the truth of the matter is, I would have easily settled for a “sorry”!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Went with colleague. The list of horrid experience are endless
1. The access card is faulty kept locking the person out of the door every time we went out and tried to come back again
2. So new the smell of the paint is evident , gave my colleague a headache as she can't stand the smell.Requested for change of room not attended to.
3. The lift are not in sync.
4. The room service are not prompt, the room are half kept half unkept. Goodness!! Call to housekeeping was unattended to.
5. Electricity blackout suddenly.

One word describe the experience : Terrible!

Room Tip: Don't go, save yourself the stress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

On our trips back to Ipoh, we hv been hard pressed to find a decent hotel which met budget and was clean. So when we saw that this was a new hotel, we thought it couldn't be bad. The minute walked into the apartment, it was clear that service and cleanliness was the least of the hotel's concern.

Firstly, the bell boy pushed the luggage trolley right into the hall with his shoes on. Never mind that, there was hair and dead insects on the floor on the floor. Asking him to call housekeeping, he mumbled something about pressing 1 on the phone, of which only returned a dead tone. Walking barefooted on the floor made the soles of our feet black and that night, I spent the night feeding bed bugs. My daughter woke up with bites on her back and face.

I will never return to this hotel again. Housekeeping never turned up, the electrIc kettle leaked, which is actually dangerous when water was boiling. I guess I will hv to keep on looking elsewhere for somewhere decent in Ipoh.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Facilities are new and therefore appreciated. Don't expect exceptional hotel experiences since Ipoh is quite a quiet little city famous for it's food rather than having any 5 star hotels for the tourist to bask in. It is simply just not that kind of a city. If you have an acute eye for finishing of construction or design, you will find certain things to be quirky or out of place. Hotel food is average. There is enough to do if you want to go to the the gym, swimming pool, or just have tea and sandwiches by the pool and watch your favorite sports channel. I will stay here again simply because it is still the newest brick on the block.

Room Tip: Higher river front floors (7 or >) would be quieter for a peaceful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was there for 2 nights and staying in a 2-room apartment. The apartment looks new and still can see some renovations in the progress. You can see lot of China-made products in the apartment which made the overall standard and quality low. The staff were good but I think they need more training as they are not familiar with their products and packages offered. The hotel location is a bit far from the Ipoh town and you might need car to travel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites

Address: Jalan Lim Bo Seng, Ipoh 30000 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched on 1st January 2012, Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suite is one of the latest luxury destinations for holiday retreats in Ipoh. It is by far the largest hotel in Ipoh. Strategically located in the centre of Ipoh city, it lies elegantly along the Kinta River and runs parallel with Jalan Lim Bo Seng. It is owned by the Morubina Group of Companies which is also the owner of Hillcity Hotel & Condo Ipoh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.