We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummylicious pizza!!! Must try for any pizza lover!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michelangelo's Pizzeria

Michelangelo's Pizzeria
40, Jalan Medan Ipoh 1B, | Medan Ipoh Bistari., Ipoh, Malaysia
+605-549-9099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 252 Restaurants in Ipoh
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Ipoh's first and only True Authentic AMERICAN Rock 'n' Roll Wood Fire Pizzeria. Every item here is made exactly how we would do it back in Chicago / New York. Everything is made fresh in the pizzeria, we believe in commitment and keep all our recipes exactly as they were the day we started. All pizzas are cooked at 750f degress in a real wood fire oven, hand tossed. We offer pizzas, pastas, salads and sweets. This is as close to America you can get without actually being there.We are a fmaily place where the music is played loud (retro 70's-90's rock and pop) and you can jump up on the counter and dance for a free pizza.
George Town, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Yummylicious pizza!!! Must try for any pizza lover!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My boyfriend had been raving about this pizzeria for a long time and I finally had time to visit this place with him. The pizza was really huge!! But the crust was made thin, and so it wasn't too filling. You can choose to put 2 flavours on the pizza so that you have a chance to try more flavours. The flavours used in the pizzas here are quite unique and mostly meaty and cheesy. If you're looking for a romantic ambience, you'd be disappointed. This pizzeria is packed with lots of people each time. It may not be too ideal to catch up with friends because it is quite noisy inside. However, the food is a good enough reason to visit this delicious pizzeria!! A definite must-try for any pizza lover. The service here was also very good! We were quite fickled about what to eat and the staff were very friendly and gave very good recommendations!! I can't wait to visit Michelangelo's pizzeria again soon!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    37
    9
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing to shout about!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We are asked to wait as we didnt make a booking. BUT the restaurant was EMPTY!! When we enquired that it was just 2 persons and we were wanting a quick bite and will leave soon. We were not allowed. The staff were rude and we have not been back since! But i did try the pizza a friend had taken away. Really it was nothing to shout about.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Owner at Michelangelo's Pizzeria, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Pixie,
I do apologize you had a bad experience at our place. I am not sure as to wait had happened becuase we never had from day one or will we ever have a policy of reservations. In fact we never under any circumstances will take a reservation. The only time a person would be asked to wait is either if we are a full house and there are no tables or in the event it is a party (group) of 6 or more people everyone is not there yet. I'll explain the last one as best as I can:
Our tables (we only have 15) are of different sizes, we have some that sit only 2 people, a couple that sit 3 people and then there are the ones that can sit either 4 or 5. When there is a group of 6 or more people we have to put 2 or more tables together in ordering for them to have space. However this then means there are less tables for other people.. Several times people came when we first started and said there are 7 or 8 of them but only 4 of them where there. They told us their other people would be there in a few minutes. We sat them and then we had several people waiting outside (usually groups of 2 or 3 people) yet the part we sat their friends did not show up until about 30 minutes later yet they were taking up two tables. Now here is our situation. We have a group sitting taking two tables when at the time there are only 4 of them enough for one table. There is an empty table being held by them and we have people outside that could being using that table while we are waiting for their friends to show up and their they would probably be finished with their food by the time the other people showed up. Also once the other people show up they are going to sit around also for about a 45 to an hour so now instead of a table being used for 45 to just one hour we have two tables held up for 1.5 to 2 hours, so to be fair to everyone we do have a policy (which is stated on the middle of our front door) that we do not sit incomplete parties of 6 or more.

However you said there were only 2 of you and the place was empty. I do not know what had happened there unless it was a new employee and their first day working (which they should not have been the ones to greet you in the first place) or if we were not yet open (we only allow people in at exactly 6:00PM) or if it was a misunderstanding.

Again I do apologize becuase we do work very hard in training our staff, and all staff should know about the above from day one. Although mistakes do happen and I wish I had been there that day in order to help you out. In the future please do not ever hesitate to ask for me or for that matter any manager or owner of a place, I am certain all would jump to help you out.

Thannk you and I do hope maybe one day you will decide to give us another chance.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perak malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious italian food - spaghetti and pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I like the white sauce spaghetti with beacon. The sauce is really creamy with variety of cheese added in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Wow! Really? Is this the first real pizza place in Malaysia? Perhaps. It is however still a great place for pizza. Loved "the HOG" which has everything pork thrown onto it. Pizzas are huge and for me the mark of a good pizza can easily be seen from the cheese. If it's mozarella and it's still white when served, then it's good. None of the usual burnt cheese that turned yellow and has all that sour oil floating around on top of the pizza (i'm looking at you, oh.. like 99% of pizzas in Malaysia).

Prices are reasonable for the portion and quality you get. The owner can be quite alienating for local people because most Malaysians do not understand why they should queue outside of the restaurant and wait to be seated or until it is open. Also they are not used to wait for good but good things need time to make. Finally they do not understand why they need everyone to be there before they can be seated. So no "booking" a table while you wait for your friends/relatives/family to arrive.

Inside, service is great, and swift. The place is a bit small but that's a charm.

Very impressed with this joint. Really enjoyed the pizza. And judging by the queue, it seems that the food is worth the wait. Better go early (10 mins before it is open) if you want to avoid queues.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Real pizza, so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We probably go here almost once a week. Really quick, wood fire pizza. Place feels like you are in New York. We love the hog pizza - lots of pork!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michelangelo's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Michelangelo's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelangelo's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.