We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lost World Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lost World Hotel to your Saves list
Lost World Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No 2 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 1, Ipoh 31150 , Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Ipoh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Escape from the busy city life. Lost world Ipoh is the place. Loved the hot spring resort, the massage in the spa and the breakfast was awesome... My only comment is that the manage should impose a proper dress code in the swimming pool. We were swimming with some guests wearing long pants. Feels awkward to be surrounded with those people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    76
    70
    19
    10
See reviews for
103
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It is a very natural environment with manmade hotspring relaxation spa just at the bottom of a mountain.The spa concept consists of different types of metal elements such as copper, zinc and other metals within the different spa pools that are used to enhance better health within our body.

It a great place for spa lovers that prefer relaxing within a natural open mountain area and enjoy the heating sensation of the spa pools.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Positive Points :
1) Quiet and Peaceful area
2) clean rooms and good lighting (amber lights)
3) hospitality staff are friendly good breakfast buffet (a little bit of a walk to the theme park)
4) not a bad theme park at all (mainly for families with kids)
5) Special mention to the traffic ranger (security guard) who stops traffic so you can cross the street safely! Having them decked in Park Ranger uniforms is a very nice touch!
6) Complimentary WIFI access in every room! :D iphone,ipad,laptops all were connected and the speed was not too bad

Negative points :
1) Service is slower when there's a bit of a crowd (service levels not met) - which should not be the case for a hotel of Sunway Group. they know exactly how many guests will be checking in on a particular day and should have sufficient staff to service these guests.
2) checkout bell service was extremely unfriendly and i had to load all the luggages into my car myself. he just stood there and looked at me - no tips for him!
3) the hotel doesn't provide a fridge for the standard rooms ! this should be a basic necessity in hotel rooms
4) other basic necessities like requesting for Ice was not met. (pappa rich is closed on Tuesday because the theme park is closed - this baffles me)
5) Because the Theme Park is closed on Tuesdays, there's absolutely nothing to eat at the Hotel !

Room Tip: If you want a fridge, choose the Executive Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff here were fantastic and super friendly from the time my taxi pulled up out front. From the security guard to the front desk lady, they all had huge smiles and were very welcoming. I love that the security guard helps usher you across the road at the traffic lights to help you get to the hot springs!

The exotic room is HUGE, seriously it's even bigger than my apartment at home!! I had a king size bed, day bed/sofa, huge desk, lots of storage space, a kettle and sachets of Ipoh white coffee and milk tea.

Papa Rich Express was great for a quick meal after a long train ride and before the hot springs.

Housekeeping wise, yes the place has a few issues. There's a bit of dust around, lots of handprints on the mirrors, some marks on the linen and the floor needs a sweep. But unless you're planning on eating off the floor it's not a big problem.

Yes, it's a bit noisy from the other guests but that's not the hotel's fault - you cant blame the hotel for the actions of people staying there.. Besides, people should be more considerate of other guests especially after 11pm! Perhaps signs reminding people to keep the noise down would be helpful.

I'd certainly be delighted to come back and stay here again. I booked through Wotif.com and got a great rate with breakfast and hot springs tickets included, so I'm very happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It is impossible to get a goodnight rest at this hotel. Reason being the soundproofing is non existant. People walking and chatting at the corridoor can be heard very clearly. For breakfast, you cannot have it within the hotel and you are required to walk across the street to Lost World of Tambun. This is clearly unaccpetable for a hotel of Sunway Group's standards! Even budget Tune Hotel Ipoh provides better rooms than this hotel. Stay away at all costs!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed only a night at the Lost World Hotel. Well, I don't have much complain bout this hotel. Basically, the hotel room is well-maintained and clean. I had the standard double bed room. The bed, toilet and bathroom were clean. My only complain is that their air-con system. The hotel's air-con is centralized, so by certain time/hour, the temperature will be auto re-adjusted back. So it was quite stuffy and hot in the middle of the night. I have to wake up to adjust the air-con back. I did called up the hotel management about their air-con and was informed that their system is centralized.

Other than the air-con, the rest was okay. It has the basic amenities such as kettle, cups, coffee & tea, toiletries, safe, flat screen TV and wifi in the room.

No comment on the breakfast as me and my gang went for the local food in Ipoh instead.

My hotel room comes with complimentary entrance to the hotsprings and 10% discount for the theme park. Overall, it's worth the night.

Room Tip: Higher room has nicer view of course. My room was at 2nd Floor and has quite a view too. Is quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

One of the first impressions I get of this hotel, is that it is super close the the Lost World of Tambun Themepark. Great, I tell myself, my family and I will have a great time, all I need to do is cross the road from the hotel to the theme park.

But there are caveats.

First the hotel, the staff were courteous and accomodating. Nevertheless, what we discovered was that their housekeeping staff could not keep up with the cleaning, hence not exactly clean rooms and bathrooms. Bed linen stained from the laundry department but fresh.

The noise levels from the corridor can be disturbing and I was there on a non peak (week day) time. I can only imagine what it is like during the weekends and peak times like school holidays.

Next the F&B, there is none within the hotel itself. A PapaRich establishment (something like Fridays) is outside. The complementary breakfast is located across the street (at the Theme Park).

The free Hot Spa is only available after 6pm and is one of the highlights of staying there (besides the theme park). The hotspa takes the spring water from the Banjaran springs (there is another hotel/resort owned by the same corporation as the Lost World Hotel but their rates are off the scale of affordablity) and the water is said to be therapeutic.

A point to note, the parking lot in the hotel is free (as of this review) but the parking where the hot spa, theme park, breakfast restaurant is not free. A minimal charge of RM1 is levied even for hotel guests.

For the theme park, when I was there, the hotel guests get a small (15% if I recall) discount from the park entry prices. But be forewarned, some rides are closed due to maintenance or some corporate team building event, but the park entry prices remain the same.

The best time to visit the wave pool is after noon. In the morning the waves are not in action as the park seem to be refilling the pool. But once again, this is the best part of the park, if it is closed for maintenance, don't even reserve a room at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you do stay here because of the theme park, make sure all rides and pools are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lost World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost World Hotel

Address: No 2 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 1, Ipoh 31150 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost World Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the lush hills of Tambun, Sunway International Hotels and Resorts once again have again proven itself by introducing the latest addition to the Sunway family; the Lost World Hotel opened its doors to the public ON 28th April 2011. Consisting of 174 hotel rooms with a choice of king or twin beds.Set to rival the more established hotels in Perak, Lost World Hotel is a component of the renowned Lost World of Tambun Theme Park located just stone’s throw away. Guests of the Hotel will have a selection of rooms ranging from the Classical (72 units), Exotic (71 units) to the Deluxe Suites (8 units) and Premier Suites (3 units) as well as 56 sets of connecting rooms in addition to the Executive Suites (17 units) and Super Super Suites (3units). All rooms are inclusive of complimentary Wi-Fi service. Surrounded by an abundance of nature and the crisp fresh air of Tambun, guests will awake to a spectacular view of the 400 million year-old limestone hills enveloped by morning mist. Guests choosing to stay in the Exotic rooms will be able to enjoy the view of our award-winning residence area of Sunway City Ipoh. Enjoy the vibrant and dynamic energy from the theme park when you choose to stay in the Classical rooms. All room rates are inclusive of two local breakfast and two complimentary tickets to the one of its kind Lost World Hot Springs & Spa by Night.Business entities that are interested to conduct their team-building or brainstorming sessions as well as meetings can do so at any one of the Hotel’s seven (7) rooms with a capacity ranging from 10 person to 200 persons.The ultimate draw to stay at the Lost World Hotel is its access to the spectacular Lost World Hot Springs & Spa which is truly a sight to behold as guests get to unwind and soak in the natural therapeutic hot springs while star-gazing. The Lost World Hotel will also set a milestone as the first hotel in Ipoh to be smoke-free. Catering for the entire family in mind as well as the corporate world, Lost World Hotel will definitely pave its way as a premier destination of choice, elevating it to a whole new meaning of entertainment and leisure by providing a safe, friendly and secure environment for all guests; and not forgetting the ultimate experience at the Lost World Hot Springs & Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Lost World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lost World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.