We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food !!!! Personalised Service !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Italia Mia

Italia Mia
10 Persiaran SC1 2/1 | Sunway City, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
+60 5-547 4007 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 252 Restaurants in Ipoh
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food !!!! Personalised Service !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The best Salmon Pasta ever !!!! This place is a must for Italian food lover...the chef is Chef Kenny..also the owner of the place.
They have a restaurant manager who visits each table and asked you if you are ok with the food, etc. There's also Creme Brulee and ice cream for desserts...Excellent Coffee Latte to finish off your dinner !! Open for lunch 12 noon - 3 pm. Dinner 6pm-10pm. Closed on Wednesdays. EXCELLENT place !!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Party of four dined at Italia Mia in Sunway City, Ipoh. The atmosphere is very authentic, pleasant and subdued. The meals were authentic and excellent. The service flawless.
We will be going again tonight for Chinese New Year Dinner.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“you don't need to close your eye to know you're in heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We know Kenny from Sabah and Penang so we knew for sure that we were in for a treat. With the hand on our hearts we can say that this time he's outdone himself!
Standing in front of the restaurant it is as if the building is magically taken out of a rustic Italian village. Inside you are warmly greeted by Kenny and his staff. The menu of ITALIA MIA consists of “starters & appetizers”, “fresh from the oven”, “Pasta” and “entrée”. Dishes like the famous “OSSO BOCCO A LA MILANAISE”, “COQUILLES SAINT-JAQUES AU SAFRAN” or “CARPESE of SUN RIPE TOMATO WITH MOZZARELLA CHEESE” and of course PIZZA’s grace the menu of ITALIA MIA. Do not forget under any circumstances to order the tiramisu, Kenny can wake me up any time for that dessert! ITALIA MIA does serve wine. Prices are very reasonable starting with 8 Ringhet, 46 Ringhet for a PAELLA BIG ENOUGH FOR TWO PEOPLE or 48 Ringhet for a GRILLED TENDERLOIN LYONNAISE. Kenny only used fresh produce and most certainly does not use any MSG (ajinomoto), Kenny is a perfectionist and that translates into his dishes. The staff are professionals in a very pleasant way. They made sure that our glasses were filled and used plates were taken away immdiately. The premises were spotless and so were the restrooms. ITALIA MIA is open for business at lunchtime and in the evening starting from 7PM ‘till 10 PM. There is more then enough parking space.
Trust me, you don’t need to close your eyes to know you’re in heaven!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly a Gem of a restaurant in Ipoh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We arrived at the restaurant at 7.00 pm and was greeted at the door by the Chef Kenny. Apparently Chef Kenny and his American partner bought Italia Mia from Tino and Nicky the previous owners. The dinner was very good and we found the prices very reasonable. We found a great selection of wines at the new Italia Mia.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“One of our Favs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Excellent authentic Italian food. Great, fresh food at reasonable prices. Owner is very friendly. My fav is the chicken boscialo.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italia Mia also viewed

 
Ipoh, Kinta District
Ipoh, Kinta District
 

Been to Italia Mia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italia Mia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.