We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rating for the place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Station 18

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Station 18 to your Saves list
Hotel Station 18
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2A-10, Medan Stesen 19/8 | Station 18, Ipoh, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Ipoh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average rating for the place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stay for a nite for Ipoh explosion. Location is a bit far from Ipoh town. The room only provided a very basic amenities that out of my expectations. I stil can hear some voices from outside very early in the morning. Overall is average rating.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    34
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
33
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

As a couple of cycle tourists passing through Ipoh, we are glad we selected this hotel for our stay here.

Upon arrival and check-in, the helpfulness of all the staff was good and welcoming. We asked for somewhere secure to lock our bicycles, the bicycles found a nice home locked away in a service room.

We opted for a room with shared bathroom. Our room was in excellent condition, clean, everything worked. Shared bathrooms clean with nice powerful hot shower.

Water vending machines located about the hotel to get hot and cold filtered water. Saves loads of empty plastic water bottles.

As other reviewers mentioned, located near a couple of supermarkets, one in the Aeon mall and Tesco a few minutes walk away from the hotel.

Overall a very friendly, clean, good hotel. I wish there were more budget hotels like this where the owner obviously cares and invests time, money and effort into their business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed there last night, after driving from Penang. I was looking for a cheap though clean and reasonably comfortable place to break the journey back to KL after a long day in Penang. On retrospect it would have been better for me to just continue on to KL. I was driving in the evening, with no GPS and was told the wrong Ipoh exit by someone in Penang. I did ask the receptionist to email me directions, but did not receive. So .many calls to the security guard at the hotel and asking people on the strees, finally got there. The biggest negative was the useless airconditioner in room 2B - the remote did not allow to change temperature, just on and off, There was no top sheet, just a toweling blanket cum sheet which wasn't required anyway as it was so warm in the room. The positives were the price obviously,.that the car was parked securely out the front, and the wifi was very good. Not reason enough to stay there again, not sure who the area would appeal to but not for tourists.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeWong888, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Station 18, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear FennKuala Lumpur,

Thanks for your review at tripadvisor.com. After reading your review, we checked the 2B room's air conditioner's remote and the remote control is still functioning well. Before and After your stay, we receive no complain from our guests who had stayed in 2B room. Regarding the receptionist who promised to get back to you, she did call your contact number but nobody picked up the phone after a few times of calling. The direction of our hotel is already given in our website and you can even find it in google map.

We are pleased to read that the WiFi is working good for you and you had a safe parking. We hope we can serve you again in future with a better service. May the Lord bless you.

Hotel Station 18
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel Station 18 is a hotel built in a large and somewhat faceless development a considerable distance to the south of the city of Ipoh. It is small and modest, with slightly artistic touches, brightly painted walls, historically-themed photos and general art photography. You would probably only want to stay here if you have a car, although there is bus service from the city to this area, and the big pull is the Aeon mall. As much as I am not a mall rat, the huge and very new complex offers a lot of the typical western shops in a fairly glamorous setting, a big change from what you see in the rest of Ipoh, and more importantly, a fabulous selection of Straits chinese restaurants whose variety and quality is staggering, all in a very affordable and air-conditioned setting. And given that food is a big pull in Malaysia, it is definitely a good reason to be in the area, never mind that they have some great coffee places, including The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf. In fact, there is also a giant Tesco next door with another great food court.

The hotel itself is relatively modest, with smallish but appropriately-appointed rooms, small desk, beds with hard mattresses (standard in the country), reliable hot water and air conditioning, extremely clean and proper, everything working very well, private, and very professional and helpful staff. Considering the very economical price the hotel charges, it is an excellent find for the price.

Room Tip: Perhaps make a point of choosing a room facing away from the outdoor restaurant to minimize the chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Sunway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Couple of friends stayed for a night in the hotel in two different rooms. The triple bed room didn't come with a window, but everything was clean and in order in both the rooms. Comes with free wifi and car park as well, which was unexpected for such a low budget hotel. The receptionists could be a bit friendlier, but they weren't bad.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Didn't expect five-star treatment as this is a budget hotel, but expected better quality based on the great reviews on trip advisor.

Pros:
-Rooms are clean, reasonable amount of space
-Shower head has good water pressure, although the bathroom is very small and hence the sink + toilet bowl gets wet when you shower
-Good WIFI connection
-Courteous and helpful security guard
-Plenty power sockets throughout the room, very conveniently placed

Cons:
-A bit out of the way from the town centre, if you plan to explore Ipoh, would definitely need a car
-Car parking is horrendous if you return to the hotel at night (and I wasn't even out till late, got back at 9pm!) and very little confidence in the security of the car park.
-Reception staff not the friendliest or the most helpful, they don't seem to know how to get direct guests around the town/suggest places of interest/at least tell me where to park!
-Many loiterers outside the lobby which makes a solo traveller feel a tad unsafe

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeWong888, General Manager at Hotel Station 18, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi Dear Solotraveller1986,

Thanks for your review at tripadvisor.com especially the Cons so that we can improve our services in future. Regarding the cons, I would like to explain it accordingly as below:-

Cons:
-A bit out of the way from the town centre, if you plan to explore Ipoh, would definitely need a car

Yes, Station 18 is a newly developed town in Ipoh, as Ipoh is being developed every where, we have many new towns built and spreading Ipoh to become bigger and bigger. You are right, if you come with a car, that would be much much more convenient.

-Car parking is horrendous if you return to the hotel at night (and I wasn't even out till late, got back at 9pm!) and very little confidence in the security of the car park.

Due to many hotel customers' car parking, the restaurants beside and the pubs nearby, they make the place very crowded. It is much better compare to 5 years back when there was nothing beside us. That was really horrifying at night because it was extremely quiet and dark.

-Reception staff not the friendliest or the most helpful, they don't seem to know how to get direct guests around the town/suggest places of interest/at least tell me where to park!

I would like to apologize for the staff's performance of not able to suggest you the interesting places. Normally my guest will send us email and we will assist them accurately through email.

-Many loiterers outside the lobby which makes a solo traveller feel a tad unsafe

Honestly, I have no idea about the loiterers, but I think they must be the regular guests who had already become friends with each other and were loitering around (may be).

We hope that our explanation may assist you for your next trip in Ipoh. We do hope that we can serve you again in a better way in time to come. God bless you and your loved ones.

Ian
Hotel Station 18
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a comfortable 2-night stay. The hotel provides free wifi, drinking water, 24-hr security and lots of car park. The hotel is newly painted and the rooms are clean & tidy. There are newspapers for free reading at the reception counter. There is a coffee shop next to the hotel. It sells many types of hawker food and the coffee tastes good. Aeon Mall, Tesco Hypermarkets and shops are within walking distance from the hotel. It is not far from the town if you go by car, only 5 to 10min. The only thing to be improved is the hotel should provide more training on customer service to the staff especially the receptionists.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeWong888, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Station 18, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Jeslynn K,

Thanks for your review at tripadvisor.com. If you come to Ipoh again in future, send me email and I will bring you the super best coffee and food. That will definitely blow your mind away!! Thanks a million for your positive reviews so that our future guests can know more about us. God bless you all the time!!

Regards
Hotel Station 18
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Station 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Station 18

Address: 2A-10, Medan Stesen 19/8 | Station 18, Ipoh, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Station 18 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Station 18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Station 18, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.