We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Station 18

Save Saved
You added Hotel Station 18 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Station 18
2A-10, Medan Stesen 19/8 | Station 18, Ipoh, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 hotels in Ipoh
singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“clean & safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

friendly staff. very basic budget hotel but good enough. 2 considerations when I choose a hotel: CLEAN & SAFE. this hotel is qualified in both. I like the 2 dogs that susan (lady boss) keep. good facility i.e. cars, motorbikes & bicycles for rental, there is a coffee shop that sells foods and 2 huge supermarkets are within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
26
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just checked in after reading good reviews but was disappointed, service was just average probably cos we r locals. Was given a double bed with attached bathroom on the first floor (just above) the food court. Room is clean BUT reeks of strong cigarette smell and ironically was a non smoking room but an ashtray was provided IN the room!! It's quite unbearable and air conditioning wasn't cold enough.. Won't return again. :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeWong888, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Station 18, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi Dear Mg8485, we are glad to read your dissatisfactions and would like to explain to you about them. First of all, we are not racist and 'Racist' is getting more and more sensitive issue to be mentioned, whether you are locals or foreigners, we treat everyone same. 99.9% of our main income comes from locals, we will not treat our local guests averagely and pay special attention to the 0.1% foreigners We believe every guest is God sent so we will not take anyone easily. The second thing about the ashtray is - now you understand there are guests who are so stubborn that even though we put the notice mentioning that the ashtray is not meant for them to use in the room but OUTSIDE the hotel premise (I think you should have read the notice which have been placed in your room and understand the purpose of the ashtray). It is good to have you highlighted this issue again so that we can explain to the public about the ashtray again. The third thing about the air-conditioning - we chemically serviced the air-condition every half yearly to make sure it is clean and cold enough. So far the air-condition is doing a good job. Probably during your stay, you had accidently switched on the exhaust fan in the bathroom. The fan will absorb the air from your room together with the cold air. So in future when you stay in other hotel, please remember to switch off the fan when you are not using it. The fan is meant to absorb the hot air when you are taking a hot shower, it will absorb the cold air as well. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. It has nice friendly staff, especially Susan at the Reception Desk and Ian --- the man who does 'everything'. Rajah the Security Guard opens and shuts the door each time you enter the hotel.
We found the room clean and tidy and comfortable and affordable.
\Susan and Ian offered to drive us to the Bus Station as the local buses don't come often and aren't reliable and they also drove us back to the Train Station. The Train Station is about 12 mins. away by taxi.l

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view perhaps, Ours was above the restaurant below which wasn't much of a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel is neat, clean and tastefully designed. If you need to pick one budget but great hotel in Ipoh, just pick this one. We only paid less than Rm30 for a room of 5( extra beds included).A lot of thought was put in equipping the hotel like electric points by the bed for you to charge your phone and toilet roll dispensers that is covered so it doesn't get wet when you shower. Staffs were friendly, rooms well maintained and free drinking water and wi-fi in every floor. Also the security guard uncle opened the car door for us many times because we had a friend with special needs. A lil out of town as according to Ipoh folks but then again travelling anywhere in Malaysia, you do need a car. On the whole, really nice hotel and great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

While on our way to visit Penang we decided to make a side trip to Ipoh for a few days. Hotel Station 18 was exactly what we needed. The place is exceptionally clean, the neighborhood is safe,relatively quiet, & the staff very friendly & helpful . The owner (Ian) is a very friendly & knowledgeable guy. He was kind enough to help us with transport & in pointing out local places to eat & visit. Having lived in Malaysia for past 3 yrs.,I was in need of some authentic food from my American homeland. About 5 minutes walk was a mall with Wendys, Papa Johns Pizza, & Baskin Robbins. My wife is from Kuching & she also found plenty of good Chinese hawker food nearby. Fried noodles at one of Ians favorite stalls on the outskirts of town was an excellent breakfast surprise on our last day there. I'm not sure about what the problem is that someone had with the dogs out front. There weren't many at all...& they were in fact very friendly and added a sense of security. We'll be staying here during our next visit & recommend that you do the same.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent Hotel, great beds, a/c works and heaps of hot water, kept clean and well cared for under strict control by Ian and Susan. The previous remarks re distance from the inner city are just remarks and really have no bearing on the quality and location. Immediately out the front door are 9, yes nine pubs, and heaps of eating establishments, approximately 300 meters away is one of South East Asia's Newest and biggest shopping malls Aeon that has so many eateries, supermarket, et all it is mind blowing ... as to a trip into town about 10 MYR by taxi or a bus if you like ... Either Susan or Ian go into the city on a regular basis and will offer to take you, as well as take you to evening markets and food courts if you like ... Regardless of the price ... You could not find a better place to stay in Malaysia ...

Room Tip: 1st floor at the rear are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Really nice hotel, a bit far from town but you can rent a bike, a scooter or even a car for pretty cheap.
Ian, the manager, knows everything about his city and he will bring you to the best places (to visit and to eat!!!!). He is really really nice and if you need to pick one hotel, just pick this one!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Station 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Station 18

Address: 2A-10, Medan Stesen 19/8 | Station 18, Ipoh, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Station 18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Station 18, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.