We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel but noisy at night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ritz Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Ritz Garden Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Jalan Yang Kalsom, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Ipoh
1 review
“Decent budget hotel but noisy at night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Located smack in the middle of old town Ipoh, the small yet petite hotel is nicely located in the bustling town of Ipoh. The price is appropriate n the service swift.

The rooms are clean n tidy. Fulfilling our quick requirements for a place to rest after arriving at 12midnight.

However, the disco music was too loud. The bass can be heard resonating throughout our room n kept us awake almost throughout the night. The walls practically vibrated to the loud pulsations of the beat. What a shame.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    19
    11
    10
See reviews for
40
18
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My friend and I booked a 2 rooms Apartment in Ritz Garden Hotel planning to spend 2 days in Ipoh. It was a food trip. I drove my friends all the way from Singapore to here. This hotel has adequate parking lots which is a plus for drivers. At first glance, Ritz Garden looked small and plain. Receptionist there is friendly and efficient. The check-in process took us few minutes and we were in our room at garden wing. Well, our rooms were clean and unexpectedly the garden wing was packed with facilities like gym, swimming pool, snooker and so on. It is a nice place to kill some time here. The location of Ritz Hotel is also good where it situated in center area of Ipoh and near to our food hunting place. Overall, I like this hotel and will surely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We rented a car to drive from Kuala Lumpur to Penang.
In the middle between these two places is Ipoh. It was hard to find a good hotel through online bookings, but the Ritz Garden was available through internet booking. We took a suite for around 60 euro's. This was a very clean and modern room, in contradiction to the hotel outer appearance that looked a bit old.
The breakfast was chinese and the music was much too loud.
Good budget chose. Many small restaurants close to the hotel offering excellent local food at very low prices.
A bit noisy from the street side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing: this is away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Being a golfer, i always travel around Malaysia for golfing... anytime when i travel to ipoh i would like to recommend this hotel for everyone. The reason why is because you always can discover nice surprises in this hotel. I like the Chinese Food which is located behind the hotel and of course don't forget to visit the next door as well... a Western Bar for full of surprise and refreshment. I used to play golf at Royal Ipoh golf club and Meru Valley golf resort. Travel by car from this hotel it take me around 15 to 20 mins to reach my destination. Which i think is quite near indeed. Overall this hotel highly full fill my requirement.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked 3 room originally to stay on 27th jan for one night and upon check in we found that the room is just the right size with small family of three and no more space if you wamt to put extra bed. Then we decide to get another room for my brother in law. The process at the receition area are ast and within minute we got another room with no hassle. Our request to get all the four rooms onthe same level also fulfill.

This hotel having two blocks of room with the old wing accomodate the normal superion, super superrior and deluxe room while the other block house the apartment type of rooms. Both building was connected with corridor adn even there are a few split leel in between, the management was so considerate by putting ramp for whell chaired user. Thumb up on this.

Our breakfast registration went smoothly the next day and we are being acknowledge by thier staff including the cheff who hav willingly arrange a special corner for our big group. That chef also poited out that thier breakfast are halal and have certifate on it.

Traveller going for a trip to Ipoh should consider this place first as it is value for money. Thier facilities are superb. No other hotel having in house cinema, karoake outlet, mini library and gym. Foods served are generally same with other hotel but not many selection. The taste are ok consider cheap.

Stay in this hotel make you feel that you are not in the same class of rating published. Round of applause to management who have keep this hotel standard high by ensuring thier present.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Whole place stinks of smoke, people smoke in corridors, karaoke bar is loud and smokey which is next to the premier rooms in the garden wing, rooms 1000-1006.
Also seems to be an extremely loud nightclub at the back of the hotel. Without ear plugs we wouldn't have slept. Other westerners were complaining at reception too.
Other than this room was clean and reasonably priced. Breakfast is average.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I booked a 3 room apartment on the 3rd floor. Beautiful rooms with good facilites including a microwave . Breakfast was good enough. The hotel is driving distance to the famous food outlets.
After a tired day, there is a good massage centre in front of the hotel that offered traditional massage.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ritz Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Garden Hotel

Address: 88 Jalan Yang Kalsom, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ritz Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ritz Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.