We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ipoh French Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ipoh French Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ipoh French Hotel
60 - 62 Jalan Dato Onn Jaafar, Ipoh 30300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 44 hotels in Ipoh
Miri, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean & good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Located at Ipoh town centre, the room is clean & neat but small. The bathroom is modern & the children enjoyed the shower. Basic hotel.
Ask the hotel for parking voucher to park in a parking lot about 50m away.
Best of the all, the staff are simply top notch. For a simple little hotels, the staff goes the way to promote Ipoh & Perak & make you feel at ease. A Malay staff, not quite sure what i was asking, went & get another staff to help in handling my queries on directions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    124
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
79
20
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

An old hotel that has been given a new lease of life. The six month old French hotel is a convenient and clean hotel to stay. The rooms are a good size and clean but the hotel should consider providing more than one hand towel and some face towels. Breakfast is not provided but it is only a 10 minute walk to the dim sum restaurants. Kentucky fried chicken and Macdonalds is even closer. Parking is off site and security is questionable but it is complimentary. All in all, a good place to stay if you are planning a trip to Ipoh.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had 3 rooms - 2 Deluxe (RM148) and 1 SuperDeluxe.(RM168) The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. The Deluxe rooms although smaller than the SuperDeluxe room had bigger beds (2 supersingles joined together) - good for 2 adults and a child, while the SuperDeluxe had a King sized bed. Great shower and fluffy towels. The staff were extremely helpful - offering tips on where to find food and Stanley, the night security officer even went out of his way to get us to move our car - as he wanted a better view of it. Great location too - walking distance (10minutes) to Ipoh Old Town for the delicious Ipoh Hor Fun at Thean Chun coffeshop at Jalan Bandar Bijih Timah. And lots of coffeeshops and restaurants in the vicinity too. We would definitely stay here again if we ever visit Ipoh, which is highly likely given that it has such delicious food!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

French Hotel is a relatively new (in 2012) hotel in Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia. It is located along one of the main roads and very near some of the great food locations in Ipoh. The rooms are clean, furniture new and famous eating places like Lou Wong Tauge Chicken are literally within walking distance. Other eating joints like Funny Mountain soya bean stall and Thean Jing coffee shop famous for hor fun (soup noodles) are very nearby within driving distance.

The hotel provides all the basic amenities and included an extra touch, toothbrushes, besides the usual bars of soap, bubble bath and shampoo. For the super deluxe, we paid MYR 168 nett per night. We added an extra bed in one of the rooms for MYR 40, but we could have squeezed 3 persons into the king sized bed. All in all, very reasonable for the really nice and clean rooms which are well worth what we paid and the location is very near all of the great eating spots.

Note: there is no room service, restaurant, pool, etc. just your basic room and there's not much of a view either. The car park is not within the hotel, but located at an open air carpark about 100m away.

Room Tip: Book early as we had to take the last 2 rooms, the Super Deluxe. The regular Deluxe rooms are even c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent a night in French Hotel. Got myself a Deluxe Room that cost RM148. I'm a somewhat frequent visitor of Ipoh and so far, amongst all the hotels I've stayed with that price range, I never was a satisfied as I was here! The rooms are modern and super clean. The bed and pillows are comfortable. Towels are fresh and clean. The bathroom is very very clean (which is rare for this price range). What's even better is the room comes with super fast broadband wifi! This hotel is definitely my first choice henceforth.

Room Tip: Request for a higher floor as the hotel is on the main road and can get noisy sometimes. I was at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

If ur going to come and stay for 1 night then stop wasting ur money on expensive hotels because the french hotel is worth the money it's modern,clean,quit. I stayed in the delux room the bath is fantastic and the view is nt bad moreover the service is the best, yes there is no hotel resturant but Mcdonalds,pizza hut and Kfc are just 300M walking distance and lost world of tambun the best attraction is just 8km by car also watson's pharmacy is infront of the hotel and 24 hours 7eleven grocerry is beside the hotel in addition to cimb bank atm's which is also 300m walking so the location is the best, the only problem is that the bathroom is not fully covered so the one in the room can see ur shadow when u take a bath however the best in that is the price which is 269rm for 2 delux rooms so if u want to enjoy ur money on the attractions and enjoy ur sleep just come to the french hotel and u won't regret it because I did nt

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a night and the staff were very friendly. They recommended us places that we could check out in Ipoh. The location is also extremely convenient, and we could get access to many of the famous eateries in town, like the dim sum street along Jalan Leong Sin Nam. The rates were very reasonable, the rooms were well furnished and parking was just round the corner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ipoh French Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipoh French Hotel

Address: 60 - 62 Jalan Dato Onn Jaafar, Ipoh 30300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iFH is a 48 rooms, Business cum Family Hotel in the heart of Ipoh City. iFH provides a very clean environment, a smoke free atmosphere in all area. Hotel is equipped with wholesome amenities and manned by a warm & caring 24 hours front desk service. Average All-In Room Price is about RM150, this covers Government tax, etc (breakfast not included). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, AsiaRooms and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ipoh French Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ipoh French Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.