We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids had a blast, good staff, old rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Cherating Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Cherating Beach to your Saves list
Club Med Cherating Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   29th mile, Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Kuantan
Auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Kids had a blast, good staff, old rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Overall, we had a great time. The staff were friendly as mentioned in the previous reviews. The pool is perfect for young kids as it is shallow. My 6 and 4 yr olds had no problem roaming the 50% of the pool standing up... And it is a big pool.
The weather was great. Not too sunny, not too hot. A few showers this time of year but it didn't bother us as most of the rain was late in the day or at night.
We spent half of our time at the second beach (forgot the name). There's a quasi little train (train with tires) that takes you over there in a few minutes. Kids loved it. Once at the other beach, you'll find it less busy, charming and more slower. Millions of hermit crabs that kept the kids busy. I walked down to the far end after low tide only to find hundred of crabs running around... Nice to see nature working at it's best. If you're idiot like me, you'd pick one up to impress your kids only then to feel the force of its claws.
Overall, if you're looking for a family vacation, this is a good option.
I rated the value quite low on this review ply because my plane tickets were twice that of the amount we paid to stay! If only considering the resort itself, the price is right.
On the downside, the rooms are old and like previous reviews, you'll find wear and tear. The shower walls are cracking, a little mold here and there. Water damage can be seen in many places in the rooms and in the resort. My guess is that there was a flood sometime ago. Also, I don't know how old the resort is but I would guess 20 years.
Lastly, the beaches are clean and good. However, if you're used to the cook islands or the pristine postcard beaches, you won't find it here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    290
    95
    50
    36
See reviews for
624
170
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

A week was not enough to experience all that Club Med Cherating has to offer. We did all the activities that we could as well as relaxing as much as we could. The pool and surrounds are perfect and the sport team are just fantastic. The trapeze is so much fun. All ages clearly enjoyed it. We went back for more. The trapeze GO's are the best. Alex and Richard made it so much fun and are the best instructors. Special mention to Elizabeth in the bar team and the GO's in the office. The shows were always fun and professional and entertaining. Everyone made me feel like royalty. I'll go back to Club Med Cherating but next time we'll stay for 2 weeks!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We have just returned from our first trip overseas as a family with two kids (6 and 9). After the two flights and 45 min bus trip from Kuantan we were greeted at Club Med by a group of smiling and waving GO's welcoming us.

This trip was 7 nights of total relaxation (we really could have handled a couple of extra nights). There was so much to do for both adults and kids. The Mini Club was sensational with a variety of activities every day managed by fantastic GO's. Highlight was the kids performance at the nightly show which was amazing. We all did the batik painting which was relaxing, fun and a great souvenir. However, this did cost extra, around $10 per person.

The food and beverages were excellent. The choice of food was extensive though there was lots of different Asian cuisines. We were never short of a drink and loved all of the cocktails on offer.

Every night there was different entertainment by the GO's which was fun. The King of Pop and Blue Moon shows are the biggest (apart from the kids show) and worth watching.

Best of all were the GO's. They would sit with us for meals and it was great to meet many people from different countries.

We really liked that it was all inclusive and that we didn't have to worry about racking up a huge bill.

Can't wait for our next Club Med holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesbug
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I spent a week at Club Med Cherating with friends celebrating their 60th birthdays. We had an amazing time! The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly - special mention to Ben (chief de village), Mobeen (gym) , Joyce (bar) Elizabeth (trainee - bar) and lastly Santanhna - Indian chef. The food was amazing with great selection. Beaches were pristine. The daily themed shows were of a very high standard and very entertaining. Would love to return! Well done to the whole Cherating team! :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

My husband and I spent our honeymoon this March at Club Med Cherating in Malaysia. It was a wonderful honeymoon trip.
The food was great with plenty to chose from, the staff were really friendly, surprised day & night events, loved the spa & it’s the kind of holiday destination for all type of people (single, couple, family, & friends)
We had the best time & are already planning our next holiday at another Club Med! Either as a couple or with our baby, since they are providing petitclub service … as great set up for kids with MiniClub team ………………..No worries at all.

Thank you and congratulations to Ugo the Chef de Village and the team.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We have just returned from a superb week's holiday and it's difficult knowing where to start commenting on this incredible resort and the amazing staff. We were a large group of well travelled people and we all had the time of our lives. I can only repeat previous comments that the resort is beautiful, spotless and incredibly comfortable.

The restaurant was brilliant - the chefs, manager and staff could not have been more welcoming and innovative. I had to smile at a previous review commenting that the food was monotonous - they obviously didn't realise that there were many counters of different international cuisine with menus changing daily! What more could one ask for?

The main reason for my review, however, is wanting to comment on the staff. Where did Club Med find these people??? Their enthusiasm, kindness, eagerness to help, stamina, sense of humour and genteel courtesy 24/7 was mind blowing. They certainly have the cream of the crop at Cherating! It's difficult trying to pick out a few but here are my awards for Club Med people of the week during my stay:

Elizabeth, the trainee at the bar - she needs to drop the trainee label from her badge as she exudes professionalism in the way she handled huge orders from many people while still being charming and attentively checking up on us every few minutes.
Mobeen, the Energiser Bunny - his energy and ability to have fun are contagious. What a dancer and super ambassador for South Africa.
Guy, the golf G.O. - so good looking that some people nearly took up golf! A perfect host who really made sure we had a great time.
Ben, Chief of Village - one word: WOW!

Thanks to everyone there for a fantastic time. To anyone reading this - get yourself to Club Med Cherating and see what a holiday should really be like!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

INFESTED WT COCKROACHES. UNFRIENDLY GOs. RUDE GENERAL MANAGER. POOR SERVICE> My family and i been to club med cherating 8 times in the span of 10 years. The service, friendly GOs, and the clean accommodation kept us coming back. Since we were all busy, we weren't able to go back to Club Med for 3 years, and ALOT has changed over the years. We were happy to learn that all the rooms were renovated, and so we more than surprised to see the current condition of this resort. I dont know what they renovated, but its the same small room. First night there, my sister and i found FIVE COCKROACHES in the bathroom. it started off with one that was over 5 inches long, with 4 more baby ones throughout the night. When we finally asked for a room change, they insisted there were no more deluxe room, and offered to DOWN grade us to a superior room. Two GOs handled our situation horribly, couldnt get their stories right, and one kept on lying to us about not having another room. When we finally asked to talk to the general manager, i couldn't believe how rude he was. Over the last 10 years we met some of the nicest GMs, but this man was outright rude, and even accused of making up lies about the cockroaches, since no one in the past has complained about cockroaches. This resort is in middle of a rain forest, ofcourse there would be 1 or 2 cockroaches, we understand that. but FIVE roaches just proves how DIRTY this resort is.
they is no way we are ever going back. and thanks to the attitude of the GM, i am never recommending this resort to anyone again. Club Med needs to replace this GM, or else no one would ever go back. Resorts can only survive because of loyal customers, but with this GM, this resort is never going to have any.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
club c, Manager at Club Med Cherating Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review online. We are sincerely sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with some aspects of your holiday.
The Resort has undertaken major refurbishments since your last stay. As far as the attitude of our staff, we can assure you that Club Med does not condone such behaviour from our members of staff. All our staff is trained to demonstrate helpfulness,respect and sense of service. We would like to thank you for taking the time to put your comments in writing. Be sure that your complaint is taken very seriously and that we are constantly monitoring the standard of customer care in all our Resorts worldwide.

We hope we will have opportunity to restore your faith in our company by welcoming you in one of our resorts in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Cherating Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Cherating Beach

Address: 29th mile, Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Cherating Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherating Beach seems to perch on the east coast of Malaysia. The pace of life in this 80-hectare Resort, complete with bungalows on stilts nestling amid lush vegetation, is set by the comings and goings of the macaque monkeys, gibbons, monitors, rare birds and multicoloured butterflies. Here you can enjoy one pleasure after another, none of which is anything like the last - an excursion in a dugout canoe, a relaxing session at the Club Med Spa or a cocktail at the bar, to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Cherating Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Cherating Beach Hotel Kuantan
Cherating Beach Club Med
Club Med Kuantan
Kuantan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Cherating Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.