We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location with great beach, great accomodation for our baby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Cherating Beach

Save Saved
You added Club Med Cherating Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Cherating Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   29th mile, Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Kuantan
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Amazing location with great beach, great accomodation for our baby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We spent one week in CM Cherating with our five month old baby.
The location is stunning: in the middle of the jungle with several long stretches of beach with clearblue water. The accomodation is correct, the rooms are slightly older but clean, and the overall facilities (especially the zen pool overlooking the ocean) are good.
Our baby spent several days in the baby club. The baby club was extremely well kept, it looked all brand new, was very clean. Thery had all types of toys (of the best brands), the playroom had huge windows overlooking the ocean and a nice quiet naproom. Our baby was well taken care off! Also, in the restaurant they were very helpful and the chef made us fresh vegetable mash on request. Other babyfood jars (heinz) were also at our disposal in the baby corner, where we could sterilize our bottles, clean them, heat up food, etc.
It was a very relaxing holiday, with good food (and lots of it!) and fun entertainment. We will go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    274
    92
    48
    33
See reviews for
593
164
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island & Rempstone
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Beautiful property as usual. Refurbishment set to start in 2014 though property is well maintained. Only unique room issue is main light switch is in center of wall over head of bed behind curtain. We did not locate without assistance from maintenance. AC is sparse which should be addressed in refurbishment. Wonderful selection of food from Asia with some western food included. Guests were most friendly as were the GOs which make it Club Med. Activities were most engaging. I did the tree tops, archery, jungle walk, and daily power walk.

Restaurant was was neat, clean, with prompt seating. Clearing the table of no longer needed plates was wonderful. Speed at which everything occurred in the restaurant was first class.

Evening shows were well done and engaging. Kids at the property were involved every evening and they loved it as we did.

I do not know what else to say other than go there for a great holiday. Next Club Med is China in March 2014.

Room Tip: We found any room good. Further from Village center the less noise which was no issue even very clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is our first holiday for clubmed with 3 generation.elderly, couples and young toddlers.
This is the ideal holiday that basically worry and stress free and basically everything is well being taken care of.
The GO in clubmed give you the warmest care beyond what you expect.
The food is fabulous and I personally gain 3kg in just 5 days trip! From the moment you open your eye till sleep, you basically have no worries about food and the best thing is its all FREE as its all included in the package.
Full of activities and entertainment by all talented and passionate GO and for me myself i Even feel much "younger" hanging out with all the GO as they seems like always full of energy and positive attitude with great smile towards everything!
The only Con with this resort is the resorts is really old. Not really those high end resorts and cleaness wise have to be improved.
Other than that, everything is perfect.
Going to Bintan clubmed next weekend & hopefully it would be as fast as clubmed cherating!
Thanks for all GO for the great works! ♥

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had such a great experiences spending our leisure time in Club Med Cherating, resort is beautiful, activities are endless. facilties and food quality is excellent.

The GO 's were so friendly and helpful. They work so hard. In particular Lim, Byron, Jake, Vinqx. Lim, especially had the most welcoming and always smiling and laughing.

Thank you to all the GOs for making our trip memorable and wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What can I say about our stay here that hasn't been said before? This was our first stay at Club Med and it is a fantastic model. The GOs worked incredibly hard to make sure that we had the best time; they always had a smile even though they seemed to work all hours. There were a few teething problems with our rooms and the food (an incredible choice for omnivores but slightly more limited for those on a vegetarian diet) but Merlin and Vickram bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect. As others have said before, the rooms are a little shabby and there was really little point having a TV but we spent so little time in the rooms, we hardly noticed. We stayed for 15 nights with our 4 children and we never got bored. We left happily exhausted! Thank you Willy, Dee and Mew for greeting us so warmly and remembering our names. Thanks to the team at the beach - Gede, Kris, Angelina, Pierre and Shane who were fabulous - for trusting us with the cats and kayaks. Nathalie...."arrows!". The circus crew, Daijiro, Kerry, Montana, Kirsty and the incredibly flexible Jay - thank you for giving us all the confidence to fly! Fizz and Jake at treetop challenge - amazing - and all the GOs at Passworld and the MIni Club, especially Christina - thanks for looking after our cherubs so beautifully. Byron and David - what great moves on the stage! And the bar crew - especially Tatiana, Alyssa, Alex, Alan and CC - for working tirelessly to ensure our curly haired offspring had a continuous supply of Shirley Temples and Hot Chocolates. There is no doubt that we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were greeted by a sweet little lady Kim as we arrived. Great place with activities for everyone. The concept of having GOs who are basically your friends. They sit with you for lunch drinks party etc. A totally new and enjoyable experience for me. Merlyn the GM was so sweet and friendly and always made sure we were fine. Every evening the GOs prepared shows which blew your mind. Great effort GOs. Jake Amin David Hafiz Kim Sha Rina the team over the trapeze Merlyn and all the GOs we met, thank you so much for giving us such a wonderful experience. We will see you guyz real soon! Miss ya all

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our first trip to Club Med Cherating and the most wonderful holiday. The GOs were great and friendly. Our kids enjoyed the mini club and all the other activities. Me and my wife also enjoyed our time together when the kids were in the mini club. Special thanks to JP who attended to our problems promptly. Not to forget, Fizz who helped us at the tree top and also for entertaining us during dinner, Kristi and Rishard for ensuring great food are served to everyone on time.

The nightly shows were good and 5 days are not enough. Our son is already planning for our next trip. We just got back to KL and already miss the fun. We were there from 26 to 30 Oct 2013.

But on a serious note, the rooms need to be upgraded fast. They are in bad shape. Also the linens badly needs to be changed!

Apart of these, it was a great unforgettable holiday for all of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Cherating Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Cherating Beach

Address: 29th mile, Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Cherating Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherating Beach seems to perch on the east coast of Malaysia. The pace of life in this 80-hectare Resort, complete with bungalows on stilts nestling amid lush vegetation, is set by the comings and goings of the macaque monkeys, gibbons, monitors, rare birds and multicoloured butterflies. Here you can enjoy one pleasure after another, none of which is anything like the last - an excursion in a dugout canoe, a relaxing session at the Club Med Spa or a cocktail at the bar, to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Cherating Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Cherating Beach Hotel Kuantan
Cherating Beach Club Med
Club Med Kuantan
Kuantan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Cherating Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.