We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Me Back To Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Cherating Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Cherating Beach to your Saves list
Club Med Cherating Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   29th mile, Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Kuantan
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bring Me Back To Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We traveled as a family, and this was our first Club Med experience. We enjoyed Club Med Cherating from the moment we arrived, to the last second before departure - it was truly paradise.

The rooms were comfortable, and even in the heat of Malaysia our room was kept nice and cool all throughout. Very relaxing room, and as we followed the directions given, no issues with monkeys. Our bathroom however did encounter problems, but maintenance came quickly after we called and it was fixed.

The activities at Cherating were a lot of fun. We love a sense of adventure, and so sports and activities available were actually the deciding factors when choosing a Club Med to go to. Highlights included flying trapeze, tree-top challenge, rock climbing, sailing and kayaking. They were a lot of fun, and the enthusiasm of the GO's always made us want to go back (GO's Jay, Daijiro, Kerry, Montana, Kirsti, Mark at flying trapeze/treetop & Kirsti, Mark, Hafiz, Jake at treetop/rock climbing). On our first day we quickly realized there was so much to do, but so little time! However, we did have to plan our days because the times available for each activity was a bit restricted, thus tricky if we wanted to do everything.

Zen pool is gorgeous and absolutely relaxing. Great as a get-a-way, it is peaceful and the GO's (Tatiana) were extremely attentive.

We joined the fireflies excursion (extra charge) and we went to the turtle sanctuary - both are worth going to. Our family really enjoys learning about animals, so these events were really special.

After dinner every night, the Club Med team has a night full of entertainment prepared. We watched the show every night of our stay, and they were all different from the one before. Great dancing (specifically the Michael Jackson Show), good laughs, and brilliant circus tricks. On our last night, there were beautiful fireworks by the poolside, and being that close to fireworks was something we had never experienced, thus definitely a highlight.
After the nights' scheduled entertainment, the GO's hang around and socialize with the guests. Extremely friendly, they no longer feel like staff, but instead become your friends and end your nights on a high note.

Club Med Cherating was more beautiful and more fun than we had expected it to be. The resort was absolute paradise, but that being said it was definitely the GO's that made our trip as amazing as it was. Not only did we get to do activities we couldn't back home, eat like kings, and relax all day if we pleased, but we met great new people, shared laughs, and made new friends.
Special thank you to Kerry, Tatiana, Jake, Joel, and the circus team for a one of a kind experience and amazing memories.

It is also worth noting that this resort is eco-conscious, definitely a plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    288
    95
    49
    36
See reviews for
623
170
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This wasn't our first club med but was defiantly the best so far.we stayed for one week but next time would stay for longer next time. There was so much to do in such a little time.

Club med Malaysia has been a life time expereance. Some of the fun things that we have done was trapeze to archery and swimming in the pool. When we arrived we were greeted by jess and Joal. The fun with the circus team with kirsti, Kerry, Jay and deijero. With the tree top challenge was mark and jake.The funniest man in the nightly shows was juju who was funny every day.

We loved our stay at cherating beach we would love to go again hopefully sometime soon.

Room Tip: The best room would been a bit further away from the pool because the further away the better veil t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Not our first and won't be our last Club Med. Food, service, surroundings, activities always the best, another great holiday for us and the kids(8 & 10). We look forward each year to our CM holiday and this did not disappoint. From the first welcome to the last goodbye the 13 days (June/July 2013) were up to par. Merlin does a great job as CoV with her team running around ensuring our holiday was what we wanted it to be. The GO's as usual helped make our holiday what is was, all were great with special mention to Craig, Dujiro, Kirsti, Tomoyo (Tomatoe), leonor, Kim (mini club), Jake, Juju (Pokey), Clayton, Eric, Toby, Ardie, Karlien, Lim, Joel, Cee, Jess, Tatiana, Eva, Indra, Badal, Alex, Christina, Shane, Montana, Jay and Jonathon - without them would be just another hotel. Yes as with all places you can fault for find for this or that, but its the overall experience you can't beat from the bar to the rock climbing, tree top, circus, kids club, pool, beaches, night shows and the various sports.....And you certainly can not go past the food on offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Was at Club Med Cherating with my husband and our twin toddlers age 2+. We stayed there for 4 nights in May this year.

It was a memorable trip for all of us. The moment we arrived, Byron received us with a big smile and he was very friendly from the moment he introduced himself, making us feel at home. Kids did not warm up to him initially but they grew to like him, the more he spent time talking to us.

As and when we walk around the resort and bump into Byron, he will remember us by our names. Then we met Martin, Thiodore, Benji and Sam. All are very lovely people. They really made our stay a happy and enjoyable one. Kids enjoyed the pool and the beach. All they ask for was to go to the swimming pool and occasionally to the beach.

Merlin, the General Manager was also lovely. When we first met her, my son had a slight swelling on his face and she was very concerned. She requested for housekeeping to change his cot and everything was done and my son didn't have anymore bites after that. Whenever she met us, she will ask how he is.

We also notice that the GOs really work together as a team. Teamwork was very strong. Merlin is doing a fantastic job as it is not easy to keep everyone so united. The GOs are from different countries and cultures but they can work together. That's amazing.

The service was just excellent. Having said all these, it is time to renovate the rooms. The rooms need an uplift. Something needs to be done to the aircond. Whatever system that the resort is using is insufficient. The rooms are not cool enough but thankfully, there were standing fans in our room otherwise the heat would definitely have spoilt our holiday.

Keep up the good work Merlin & Team!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This holiday was exactly what we needed to unwind. From start to finish we couldn't have been looked after any better. We love activities and tried most, busy every day trying to fit in everything we could. At the same time there was plenty of opportunity to relax if that is what you prefer. In the evening the shows and crazy signs were a lot of fun. The GO team were fabulous. Every one of them went out of their way to make sure we were happy and many we got to know well enough to keep in contact with after our stay. The food was to die for and I have never seen such quality in a buffet! The chefs were always smiling and proud of the food they provided. My 10-year old daughter had the time of her life, splitting her time between kids club activities and time with us. She made new friends and thanks to the lifeguards who watched over her as she just about lived in the excellent pool. Yes, the rooms do need attention and that would be my only suggestion for improvement, and I believe this is planned for the future. We were so happy with everything else that we would have no hesitation to recommend this resort to our friends as I would love them to experience the fun we did. Thank you everyone at Club Med. And Merlin, you and your GO's really did give us one of the best holidays of our lives. Thank you!

Room Tip: There is a long walk to some rooms. This isn't always a bad thing, but if you would rather a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our second trip to Club Med Cherating and last time was outstanding so we did have concerns that this trip may suffer by comparison! We should not have been concerned, Merlin and her phenominal team of GO's went out of their way to ensure that our family group enjoyed the stay.

Special mention to all of the circus team where our kids spent the large majority of the holiday, Juju and Lucas in the evenings for amazing entertainment, the Passworld GO's also did a fantastic job. Also thanks to Joel, Tatiana and Serah for their company and brilliant service.

The club needs some work done and will be closed for a full refurbishment in the near future, as a seven time visitor to Club Med this is really not a problem as the room is the last place you spend time with so many fantastic facilities to keep you busy.

Thank you Merlin and team for a great week, we will tell everyone we know that they should be coming to enjoy an amazing family holiday! Our daughter had produced a great clip on YouTube showcasing our holiday.
All the best
The Glover clan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=si0XWr3BRrg

Room Tip: The resort if huge, if you have any elderly people request rooms closer to the main complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

our group consisted of two families both living in Australia. All of us had been to many club meds before, all over the world but none like this. The location was idyllic and the wildlife was truly spectacular, especially the gorgeous monkeys. Looking out the window you really feel as though you are in the middle of a tropical paradise, with the beach 100m away.

The activities were spectacular, all kids took part in a wide variety of activities from trapeze to archery and rainforest walks. The staff were amazing with all the kids and made sure they had the best time, even when it was pouring with rain. The nightly shows were absolutely incredible, from Lion dancing to trapeze and acrobatics and the kids were constantly encouraged to get involved.

The facilities weren't magnificent but seeing as we were constantly busy, we were hardly ever in our room and never noticed this. There was a wide variety of food choice, with a casual buffet and an a la carte menu.

The overall experience was incredible and we would like to thank the amazing G.O team at Cherating who truly made our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Cherating Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Cherating Beach

Address: 29th mile, Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Cherating Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherating Beach seems to perch on the east coast of Malaysia. The pace of life in this 80-hectare Resort, complete with bungalows on stilts nestling amid lush vegetation, is set by the comings and goings of the macaque monkeys, gibbons, monitors, rare birds and multicoloured butterflies. Here you can enjoy one pleasure after another, none of which is anything like the last - an excursion in a dugout canoe, a relaxing session at the Club Med Spa or a cocktail at the bar, to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Cherating Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Cherating Beach Hotel Kuantan
Cherating Beach Club Med
Club Med Kuantan
Kuantan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Cherating Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.