We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Rhu Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added De Rhu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com AMOMA.com
De Rhu Beach Resort
152 Sungai Karang, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 hotels in Kuantan
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Resort Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, with breakfast. Room was generally clean and huge. The King size bed seem very wide too. There are english TV channels and a sports channel too. There is hot water kettle and free bottled water everyday.

Access to the beach was easy through a gate. We picked a lot of beautiful shells on the beach. The hotel pool, with slides, seem popular and fun with the kids. There is a fitness corner and a playground too. It was a long time since I sat on a swing. Fun!

Checking-in took a bit of time but the front desk people are very friendly and helpful. Greeted us when we met along the corridor. The room service captain was also very friendly. Free newspaper was also provided in the morning.

Breakfast was buffet style, with a lot of variety. There was rice, fried noodles, porridge and many more malay dishes. The rendang and curry was most delicious. The buns and croissant was hard though. We had breakfast the next day and they changed some of the dishes.

We had chartered our own van so location was not a problem. A 15-20 minute drive from town. The Natural Batik Centre is less than 5 minute drive away.

For three-star hotel in Malaysia, this resort hotel is considered good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
1
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights at De Rhu. Check in and check out was easy. No fuss. Room was big equipped with basic old furnitures but great view of pool, garden and the sea. Room could be cleaned better. Toilet was ok considering everything else in the room. Pool was big especially catered for small children equipped with slides etc. Kids had lots of fun. Beach was right at resort's doorstep. Beach cleanliness is an issue but still acceptable. Breakfast was alright. Moderate choices with egg station which was great. We stayed over peak period thus place was swamped with holiday goers. However staff was efficient enough in handling request so we don't have anything to complain there. Resort is located a mere 10 minutes away from Kuantan so finding places to eat is not a problem. Best option is to head to town for lunch and dinner at one of many seafood places along the trunk road towards town. Personally, tempted to try other places in Kuantan should we go back. However, kids may opt for De Rhu with its fun pool facility.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Rhu has nice and clean familyrooms. Also it has three convenient swimming pools. That is, if they are open. When we were visiting the Rhu, two out of three pools were closed due to renovation! When you don't have your own car (as we did), a huge disadvantage is the isolated location. The public transport is terrible. Unfortunately, the overall hotel is in need of a big cleaning. The deskservants are very friendly and sprak good English.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

I was on vacation 2 days here with family was very nice but very frustrating when there is no price cuts for civil servants on the grounds of school summer holidays.

The information desk when I came on duty less customer friendly that I feel like finding another hotel but harm its hotels are all full and had to stay even here. this sort is very suited for a family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I'm attending the Family Day, the hotel is quite nice and reachable. The hotel facilities are quite old fasyen but well preserved. I checked in 12 and checked out 13 Nov 2012.

The overall view about this hotel is this hotel is suitable for family. Nice swimming pool and open to public. Highly recommended to those that want to bring family for school holiday vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

just checked out from the resort. The first disappointing sight was that my booking thru agoda wasnt like i requested for. I confirmed for a family room and told that i will be getting a double bed with 2 singles. upon checkin.. there was only a king size bed... I need a bed for the kids n had no choice of getting an extra at an extra cost.. I have been robbed in broad daylight. The staff were unfrendly nd not imformative at all. The service were poor and if Ive not paid using my card I would have walk out the minute i went in. the breakfast was cold and food was of not tobour expectation.

Room Tip: do not recommend making reservation on line..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelabuhan Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

nice place for having holiday with our family..but call room serv frm 2 p.m asking for floor mat and towel...i get it at 7 p.m,,.and second day no room service ...cant use pc at lobby too...must buy smthing like pswrd to use it...about rm10 for a card.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Rhu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rhu Beach Resort

Also Known As:
De Rhu Beach Hotel Kuantan
Address: 152 Sungai Karang, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Rhu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Rhu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.