We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan to your Saves list
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Kuantan
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

My husband and I have travelled the world, we are with Interval International and it was one of their resorts, it was just ok. The only downside was the food, I was looking forward to fantastic Malaysian curries but not what I expected, it was well quite frankly scarey for westerners, even though I have an indian background I was scared at the look at some of the curries, it was very chinese Malay not indian which was disappointing. But one of the best things was the Spa, one of the best in the world my husband and I had 3 massages and baths together we got a package for both of us in the same room, it was very nice. The best massage Ive had in a while! They did make me a fantastic birthday & anniversary dinner and organised a beautiful bunch of orchids for me, they made me my favourite Malay Chicken curry awesome! And the breakfast was good.

Alot of kids and smoking, not my thing to relax. Kauntan itself well just 2 shopping centres, but did find the banana leaf restaurant on the way in to the city, amazing curries and cheap! Just don't stay too long you will get bored, 4-5 days max. The beach was well not like Aussie beaches it was muddy and not very clean. But do go and see the Turtle Sanctuary next door to Club Med.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    252
    159
    44
    33
See reviews for
259
158
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

this is the second time I visited this resort, It is a very nice resort and the staffs there are very friendly, the room is consider clean and big. The breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2008

We were looking for a resort mainly for our 5 year old son and somewhere nice for the family. They had a family package and i thought why not.

The rooms are not bad, considering that this is a beach resort and not a hotel. There is a simple kids pool. The resort is just next to the sea but it was december, so there were little activities by the beach. Fortunately for us, the weather was kind to us considering that it was the monsoon season.

They also had a play room for kids but it was not that great and not many people use them. They also had arcade games and cyber games for guests to use.

Some activities like batik painting are also available if you like.
The main restaurant has a good view and reasonable spread.

Teluk Cempedak which is about 15 minutes drive from the hotel has got some great views by the beach. i love it.

Overall, it was quite a nice place although perhaps we come at the wrong time. I understand that a good time to visit would be between March and August when they have more activities and excursions out of the resort.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

We have just stayed in the Swiss Garden Resort & Spa in Kuantan, Malaysia, on a short relaxing break from Thailand were we live. We only had two nights there and really wanted to just relax and chill out by the sea, and were very happy with our choice of hotel.

We booked on a last minute website and got a very good deal, which was followed up by a nice relaxing environment and good service. Our check in was friendly and straightforward, and our garden view room was large and comfortable and had everything we needed.

The hotel is situated right on the beach, which was clean, long and undeveloped - no rows of sunbeds and beach sellers to spoil the view or the peace and quiet. The pool area was next to the beach and had a nice big pool perfect both for a decent swim or for just floating lazily around in.

A large and varied breakfast buffet made for a nice leisurely start to the day while enjoying the early morning sun at the outside tables. At night-time the main restaurant has a good a la carte menu, but the international buffet is a much better option - very good value for a fantastic array of very tasty choices - the hard part was not going back for just one more helping!

All in all the Swiss Garden had everything we expected, with friendly staff and was a perfect relaxing break for a couple of days. We didn't have time to get out and about and see any of Kuantan itself but the hotel did run free shuttle buses several times a day into town which would have been handy if we were staying longer.

Good value and worth a visit.

  • Liked — Great food and great value
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We booked our stay at the hotel via latestays.com which is the hotel's preferred site. Upon arrival, the bell boy was busy chatting away to hotel staff members, ignoring me. We drove from KL to Kuantan for a 3night stay.

The check-in process was a mess. Even with 2staff member present, they were unable to locate our booking. They couldn't comprehend the fact that we had book via the internet from our hotel in KL, and due to this reason, we were unable to print out the actual hotel confirmation. We did however, provide them with the booking references, but no joy. After a 40min delay in check-in, we were finally provided our room, alas, they had given us the wrong room type. So, back downstairs we went and that took another 40mins to sort out.

After that was sorted out, we noticed that they had only checked us in for 1night stay even though we had booked for 3nights. Next morning, luckily we managed to sort it out with a sensible staff member.

Other than that, the room itself is spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was so so but I have to admit, the check in experience did not tug at my heart strings to return to Swiss Garden Kuantan, Kuantan town itself, I would return but the hotel? Nay.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

We ( 2 adults and 2 kids under the age of 10) stayed in a family room for one night on our way to Redang.

We arrived early but still got our room immediately, hours before the official check-in time. The room seemed nice enough, but we soon realised that the door lock was broken: no matter what we did, the door wouldn't lock. We visited the front desk and the staff promised to "look into it". We waited and waited in our room, but nobody came and nothing happened, even though the hotel wasn't at all crowded at that point. We made a phone call to the front desk. Still nothing. We asked a cleaning lady to call someone, which she said she would do. Nothing happened. We contacted another member of the staff. No effect. Almost two hours had passed since our original request. During this time, we were unable to go to the beach or have lunch as a family, because one of us had to stay in the room (since all of our stuff was there behind an unlocked door).

Finally, after two hours of waiting, my husband made one more call and demanded to talk to the manager. We never got him/her on the phone, but finally somebody came to check the situation. We immediately got a new (similar) room and an apology, but that was all. Some kind of compensation, no matter how modest, would have been a nice gesture after all the waiting and non-existent service.

We had (a late) lunch and dinner at their Garden Terrace restaurant. The food was excellent and affordable, but on both times they tried to charge us on things that we hadn't ordered or got. It took ages (and during dinnertime another incorrect bill) before we got a corrected bill (without any apologies). During dinnertime the restaurant was very crowded, but during our late lunch we were the only customers, so no excuse there.

The hotel staff were actually very friendly but all in all unbelievably inefficient and unable to handle our problems.
Otherwise the hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean, cosy and in good condition, common areas nice enough, the beach and the pool ok etc. But I'm still not sure if they deserve a second chance.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

We had tried to book a room here a few months ago but it was full so we decided to try again at the recent Hari Raya holiday and managed to get 3 nights.

First impressions of the resort when driving in were good and we foud the lobby to be very grand and welcoming. Check-in however was disappointing. There were 2 in front of us when we arrived and only one member of staff behind the desk. The person directly in front of us had some issues that were taking rather a long time and after 10 minutes of waiting I asked if any more staff were available. I was told to wait a moment and then suddenly 4 more staff appeared. We were then quickly dealt with and soon into our room.

The room was a Sea View Deluxe and very well appointed. Everything was in good condition and spotlessly clean. Our only disappointments here were that there was no mini-bar (only an empty fridge) and no free ADSL Internet. Both are advertised as coming with the room. Anyway we didn't let it get us down as the prices for room service were rather steep and we probably would not have used the mini-bar that much anyway. Prices in the hotel are very steep and much cheaper outside the resort. Those wishing to have a beachside drink can use the Parrot Bar situated between the swimming pool and the beach or for half the price walk 100 metres along the beach to the Sunday Bar. It is a ramshackle type of place but is run by a very welcoming German man and is frequented by many of the expat community in Kuantan as well as the guests of the Swiss Garden. Unfortunately he does not serve food but there are many delicious local restaurants along the main road outside the hotel.

Other things to point out are that tea and coffee making facilities, iron and board, electronic safe, complimentory flip-flops and toiletries are all provided in the room. All rooms have a balcony with 2 chairs and a small table. Perfect for that late afternoon gin and tonic.

We did eat 2 nights out of the 3 in the hotel and preferred the Chinese Restaurant to the Buffet Dinner in the larger place downstairs. The food in the Chinese place was excellent but the choices in the larger restaurant (where breakfast was also served) was mainly local style. My wife is not able to eat spicy food and found the dinner very lacking in anything she could eat. Breakfast was also like that and unless you wanted eggs most other things were local style. Personally I enjoyed it but feel they could cater more for their Western guests.

As I mentioned earlier our stay was over the Hari Raya holiday and the hotel was fully booked those days. It did make things very chaotic at times and especially at breakfast. On our last morning the foodand drinks available on the buffet were constantly running out and in need of replenishment. The staff were trying their best but overwhelmed by guests at times. If going then we would recommend you choose a time that is not a National Holiday.

Overall the resort is very nice with a lovely beachfront location. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Any minor problems we had were quickly dealt with after pointing them out.

  • Liked — Balcony overlooking the pool
  • Disliked — Rather hard bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.