We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan to your Saves list
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Kuantan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Read from reviews n was expecting an higher end hotel but turn out being just an average good range hotel. Room normal size, hotel common areas are of higher end deco n tats it.
Breakfast range normal.
Hotel near walking distance to a great beach n it is lovely.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan and our staff are indeed truly motivated by your positive feedback on our services which are in line with our Swiss garden Brand Standards.
We are appreciative that you had enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss garden resort and spa during your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    235
    151
    44
    29
See reviews for
239
152
9
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This vacation was memorable to me. It was my first international tour together with my boyfriend to celebrate our 5th year anniversary. We stayed in this hotel last March 5, 6 and 7 2014.. We happened to arrive in the hotel on March 6 at 1400h because of the time departure we booked from the airline which was 2100h of March 5. So, we prefer to stop over a night at the lodge in somewhere in Puduraya right after we arrived from KL airport. And so in the next morning we travelled by bus for 3 hours. At first, the manager informed us that the rooms were already fully booked since we arrived late on the scheduled day. Yet she managed to get us a room and stayed there comfortably. We had “selfie” right then! Every beautiful view of that hotel has a photo of me. They have a huge swimming pool, kiddie pool and a Jacuzzi. I was amazed with their long, peaceful and white sand beach. We stroll all over the place and was indeed happy with the stay. Although there were no activities which I really expected to have like Jet Ski, banana boat or any water activities but we were able to enjoy ourselves by taking pictures, writing special moments on the sand. We were also entertained by the Filipino band at night, the Braveheart. We also have BBQ buffet which costs for 70 Ringgit each. It has variety of grilled foods and was tasty. Moreover, Wi-Fi connection was available only if you’re dined in their restaurant for 2hours limited time. However, you can have your one day unlimited Wi-Fi even if you stay at your room payable with 10 Ringgit. This is actually the only down I give to this hotel. I believe that usually when you are checked in, you are entitled to enjoy the unlimited connection with Wi-Fi but they prefer to have this not for free. Nevertheless, the connection was fast. anyway, I felt sad on the last day of our stay. The hotel gave me sweet memories and tranquility. im looking forward to stay here again soon but hopefully with exciting activities also.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback during your recent stay in Kuantan. We are extremely glad that you had enjoyed your stay at our resort and we have noted your feedback on the water sports activity and also on the Wi-Fi which we are in the process of looking into. It is feed back such as this that will assist us to further improve and eventually be the leading Hotel in Kuantan.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss garden Resort during your next trip to Kuantan.
Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is 4-5 star resort at 2 star prices. We had a wonderful, enormous 400+ square foot room with a double balcony (quite unexpected) with every modern comfort. The swimming pool was huge, the beach lovely. By booking on-line with a hotel reservation website, our rate included a bountiful breakfast buffet. Their evening "BBQ" was fantastic too - cost about $US 15/person for the most exotic selection of foods one can imagine. They provided a free fitness centre and shuttle service to and from Kuantan town (about 15 minutes). The only complaints were their WiFi policy - they charged extra for WiFi in the room but no charge if you used it in the lobby.-and the contractor for transportation wanted 60 Malaysian Ringgit to the airport. The street taxi in front of the hotel charged 40 Ringgit for the same service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback during your recent stay at the Swiss garden Resort and Spa Kuantan. We are truly inspired and motivated that you had enjoyed your stay during your recent visit. We have also noted your feedback on the transport operator, and this matter has been brought to their attention.
We have also upgraded our wi-fi services and a nominal fee is charged when used in the room, however complimentary usage is accorded when used in the lobby.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss Garden Resort and Spa during your next visit to Kuantan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

A good stay. The reception area was very spacious and the staff were efficient. Our only concern was that there were so many (attractive) water features that we really had to look where we were going or would have ended up paddling!! It was nice to see a guest library - they seem to be going out of fashion but are always welcomed by us.

We were checked in quickly and our room, which we had booked as a garden view, had both a sea and pool view. The room was good with comfortable beds and all the usual items expected in a hotel such as this. It was very clean, with a nice bathroom.

The dining room was nice and airy, with a choice of inside or outside seating. As with most buffets, the only complaint is that the "heated" food containers did not keep the food hot enough, a thing that should be regularly checked by designated staff. Twice we asked for a plate of food to be re-heated. They did have an egg station which cooks omelettes etc. to order, so we tended to have that rather than the pre-cooked food. The Roti Canai was fantastic however - we could have eaten that for every meal!! The Deli Cafe on the reception level provided very good service and anything from a full meal to snacks.

The pool area was very attractive and well furnished. The pool was free-formed and also had a spa section and children's area. The beach also had sun loungers and parasols. It was a very large, wide beach and one could have walked for miles. There wasn't much to the right but the left side from the hotel usually had local fishermen, little islands and big, sea-formed rocks,

The main drawback is that there isn't anything within walking distance away from the beach apart from a Batik Village, a hot 20-25 minutes walk, that will appeal to anyone liking handicrafts and to see how batik is made. They have a wide selection of clothing, batik wall hangings, souvenirs etc. and worth a visit. There are also 3 or 4 local restaurants just outside the Swiss Garden, quite basic but good, cheap food - a plate of chicken or beef with fried rice and a little bowl of sou[ is RM5 = £1.00. That is it!! The hotel does offer a free shuttle into Kuantan however so after a few days you may use it if you are in need of some retail therapy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review which is indeed very motivating and will further inspire us to be the No 1 choice hotel in Kuantan. We are indeed happy that you have enjoyed our services which are in line with our Swiss Garden Brand standards.
We have just completed our renovation works on our Garden View rooms and also recently completed the enhancement of our beach with the addition of a rubble wall.
We have also noted your feed back on the buffet food temperature and we have brought this matter to our Executive Chef.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss garden Hotel during your next trip to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We booked two rooms and stayed 3 nights during hari raya haji last year. It was a good experience. The room was really spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom however looks like needing a face-lift. I specially love the lobby because it was airy with plenty of sofas to have some rests and chit chat. Overall, it was really a nice hotel and my nieces had a very good time playing and swimming at the pool. Will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback and we are glad that overall, your stay experience had been positive except for some points made, which had been fully noted. Naturally we will share your gracious compliments with all our associates, who would have been delighted to have delivered to your expectations.
We look forward to welcome you back and experience our newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The sea view deluxe room we had was spacious and clean. When we checked in we requested for a refurbished room and was told all rooms had been renovated. We found only the bathroom had a makeover, however it was disappointing that the bath was not changed with mouldy shower curtains. The rest of the room looks tired and dated. In fact the whole hotel needs a makeover badly. Breakfast was pretty limited and seating was cramped and uncomfortable. This is a family orientated resort, the swimming pool and games room are great for the kids. As the sea was too rough for swimming, it's nice walking on the beach especially in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and do accept our sincere apologies if your recent stay experience fell short of expectations. It is through such valued feedback that we can enhance our services and products towards delighting our valued guests.
Our newly renovated rooms are part of our renovation upgrading exercise which would later also include our F+B outlets.
We hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to welcome you back with a positive guest experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was our 1st time visit to this hotel. During checked-in, the staff found out that they have already give our room to other visitor which have a same name with my husband. However, they took a really fast action and bring us to other room. Great job!
We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay in this hotel. The room and bathroom is huge and clean. There are 2 swimming pools ( 1 for adult and 1 for kids), both of them are big, clean and lovely. The beach is clean and i feel really safe to let my kid playing there. Plus more, It has a mini playground next to the pool. Will recommended to friends and family to be here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan. Feedback from our guests is integral in our quest for excellence. We are very delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about the Hotel have been communicated to the entire team at the Hotel.
I am sure they will serve as a further source for inspiration for us, in achieving even higher standards of excellence in the future. Once again we thank you for your valuable feedback and patronage.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Swiss garden Resort and Spa on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.