We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good stay, would consider going back next time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan

Save Saved
You added Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Kuantan
Selangor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was good stay, would consider going back next time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Got ourselves the deluxe seaview room via an online agent. We checked in on Friday and checked out on Sunday. It was a week after Raya holiday so not much crowd. Check-in was breeze. Room was nice and clean. There's a nice fragrance in the room, which I forgot to ask the front desk what it was. It wasn't like from those cheap fragrance dispenser...closer to essential oil alike.

The kids spent most of the time at the beach. Decent beach, clean but no other sporting activities available (which was great in our case). The swimming pool was clean. The sunrise at around 7am was awesome.

The hotel in general do look a bit old, but the bathroom in the room seems upgraded already. Some rooms on our floor (3rd floor) were undergoing renovation.

Service in general was decent. We didn't encounter any problem during our stay so didn't get the chance to put their service level to test :p.

Breakfast came with our room booking. We probably wouldn't eat there if we have to pay for it as the food was just normal. Certain items served such as a ham look alike dish, cheese to name some look like of low quality. You can still have a decent breakfast if you just skip those items. During one breakfast, overheard a patron giving feedback about the hotel to the very attentive supervisor/manager about various matters, including the food. Hopefully they will improve in the near future.

We ate out for dinner, across the road's malay cafe which in our opinion serve awesome flavourful malay dishes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts of your recent stay in Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan.
First and foremost it is encouraging that you would come back and stay with us on your next visit. We have also tabled your points that have been highlighted to the respective section heads and remedial plans are in place to further improve on our breakfast spread.
We are also currently upgrading our rooms which is set to be completed by the 3rd week of December 2013 which are in line with our Swiss garden Brand standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    203
    127
    42
    25
See reviews for
205
132
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a very relaxing stay here as a group of friends. The check in is fast and the rooms were large and clean however needs some upgrading works is required.
The highlight of our stay was the large pool where we spent most of the day and also at the beach.
We enjoyed our time here and special thanks to Ramesh who was most accomodating at the Garden Terrace restaurant.

Room Tip: free wifi at lobby for 2 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan. We are truly inspired that you had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel and your positive feed back on the pool and beach, which are progressively being upgraded are our two key focal points of the Hotel, where customers spend most of their time.
We also thank you for the positive feed back on our staff, who are truly an asset in our goal of achieving customer satisfaction.
We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay at the Swiss garden Resort and Spa Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went to this hotel during Raya holiday, it was full house and I only able to check in to my room at 4.30pm. The cleanliness of the room is below average, The bed sheet is smelly and requested to change. I staying in the ground floor family room and hope this floor will be refurbish by Early Dec.
Overall, my kids has a great time to enjoy the facilities like tennis, swimming, beach activities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at Swiss garden Resort during your recent stay in Kuantan. We would like to apologize for the condition in the room and appropriate remedial action has been taken to rectify this problem.
The renovation would be completed by early December and this would include a total of 142 rooms.
We do hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you again and stay with us at Swiss Garden Resort and Spa when you next visit Kuantan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went for a short break with my family. Rooms are great, meals are well priced, staff are good and its real value for money. Nothing to complain! imagine that coming from me! Do consider this hotel as I believe you will not be disappointed. I would like to congratulate the management of Swiss Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, you've hit the nail on the head with this one. The beach tho its a public beach is very well maintained by the hotel. The hotel gym is great as well. Arcade for the Kids. The rooms were very well upkept. I've already make my November reservations!! Swiss garden...take my money by all means!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback during your stay in Kuantan. These positive words would spur us to achieve greater heights in guest satisfaction which would encourage more return guests to the Resort. The beach is one of our key selling points and we have just recently added a rubble wall to the beach thus creating a greater area of privacy.
We look forward to you returning to Swiss garden Resort Kuantan during your next trip here in November.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked one day before our stay and the price is reasonable compared to other hotels located in around the area. We just want to have a short break from the city-- we never thought that we will enjoy it a lot.

Our room is just a standard room- but it is big enough for us. It is clean and cozy. I think we got the refurbished one. No hassle upon check-in and check-out.

They have scheduled activities everyday for the whole family and it is for free. You just need to register in the Towel Counter near the pool area.

If you cannot live without wifi connections in your room, you can purchase 24hr wifi access for 10RM. However, they have 2 hour free internet access in the lobby, pool and restaurant area. Just ask the friendly receptionist for the free internet username and password.

Room Tip: Request for rooms in level 4- non-smoking room. Try if you could also choose from these room numbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Swiss Garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We thank you for the positive feedback on your stay especially on the activities that are planned daily by our recreation team. These activities are created not only for children but also for adults.
our price strategy ensures that guest are reasonably charged with good without comprising on value thus ensuring that you return again to us during your next visit.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights w 2 kids n 4 adults in a family room. Room w 2 single beds a one king size. Confortable except the bathroom is too small n cramp. Too small for average asian. Breakfast not much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Tank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan. We thank you for taking the time to give us the feed back on the services and facilities available and will look into areas mentioned that can be improved on.
Currently we are upgrading our garden view rooms and these renovations are expected to be complete by December
Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to you staying with us on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the Swiss garden for 12 nights because of business. I found it to be pleasant but a little dated and tired looking. In their defence there is quite a lot of internal refurbishment taking place so I am trying not to sound too unfair. The position of the hotel is a little isolated but many may see that as an advantage. The beach is very close by and the pool is well used. The internet for business purposes was just enough although I am not heavy on downloads. The room was very dark decor for my taste but suited the generally old feel to the place. All of the food was of good quality although the breakfast changed very little whilst I was there. I can see that for families it is probably a reasonable choice as the facilities although not numerous were enough to keep the youngsters amused. It also must be sais that I was there during Hari Raya so that may have had a direct influence. It is not a bad hotel but just needs some loving care to get it back in line.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts during your recent stay in Kuantan. We have noted your comments on the property and are pleased to inform that the renovation and upgrading works are ongoing and a total of 142 rooms are expected to be completed by December 2013. This is a first in a series of upgrading works that are being executed in line with our Swiss garden International brand standards.
We once again thank you for the feedback received and we hope that on your next visit to Kuantan, Swiss garden Resort will be your choice Hotel to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Resort & Spa, Kuantan (SGRSK), offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.