We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan to your Saves list
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Kuantan
USA
1 review
“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel has a great beach, which is very clean and the facilities in general in the hotel are well maintained. The main restaurant has a good breakfast spread and we tried their ramadhan buffet which had great local food.
The staff are very friendly and courteous and you feel very welcomed. They have a large pool which is very clean and also a children's pool.
Would surely come back again as my kids had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Hotel Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We thank you for the positive feedback on our services rendered during your recent stay and this has spurned our staff to further improvise on the delivery aspect.
We have just completed our beach enhancement exercise which included a rubble wall and also the inclusion of deck chairs at the beach front.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    233
    150
    44
    29
See reviews for
237
151
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have not been here for quite some time. Comparing the last stay (years ago) and this most recent, I would say they need to change to suit the current trend.
Room wise is average, with the wall paper peeling off at certain corners. Room facilities seem to be updated but ......the feel was missing.
Corridors to the rooms looked gloomy.
Service by the personnel....needs lots and lots of improvement.
Food wise....not much of choice. Perhaps the eateries outside and within walking distance is making the difference.
To compare with the sister hotels in Kuala Lumpur and Lumut, definitely the Kuantan one is at the bottom.
Overall within the vicinity, it still wins.....

Room Tip: To have a good view of the beach, request for centre wing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We have duly noted your feedback regarding the services rendered and also on our facilities. First and foremost we would like to thank you for highlighting these issues to us and we would certainly revamp our training aspects on service standards and delivery that is line with our Swiss Garden international brand standards.
We are in the midst of renovating a total of 142 rooms and the completion is targeted for the 1st week of December 2013.
We do hope that you would consider Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan as your choice hotel during your next visit to Kuantan and in the interim period we will work on improving our service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had 10 nights here. It wasn't particularly expensive so was value for what we Paid. It is a very tired hotel and with a new Swiss Garden being built down the road, if I came back I would spend a few more $$ and stay at the new one when it opens. Granted, they're refurbishing - they need to.
The pool is nice, would be better if staff cleaned away the cig butts left there everyday by the smoking guests!
Breakfast food is okay, chocolate pudding at 8am!!
Free shuttle to city mall is great.
Restaurants over the road are fabulous, cheap, cheerful and didn't get ill once.
Bed was as hard as a rock and pillows flat and cheap - I'd rather have a decent bed than a refurbished room actually!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts during your recent stay at Swiss garden Resort and Spa Kuantan. We have duly taken note of your feedback that had been stated regarding the rooms which are incidentally in the process of renovations and our targeted completion date is on the 1st week of December.
This would encompass a total of 142 rooms. We have also just completed our beach upgrading exercise.
We sincerely would like to apologize for the shortcomings and sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you during your next trip to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

There are 3 area in this hotel. Right and left wing and centre. I requested for centre which have a good view to the pool and the beach.
Room and bathroom were impressively clean.
Service were rather laid back. You need to keep on asking before they got to it... But I'm just being picky. The staff are nice.

Clean beach too.
Try to avoid Teluk Chempedak and come here instead.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We thank you for the positive feedback on our services and facilities and will further improve on the delivery aspects in line with our Swiss garden International brand standards.
We once again would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss garden resort during your next holiday in Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I pre-booked this resort through the hotel website (http://www.swissgardenkuantan.com). The confirmation email saw an increase in the price advertised and a downgrade of the room booked. I raised this with reception on check-in and was told that bookings through the website were handled by a 3rd party. The hotel happily accepted the booking but takes no responsibility for the 3rd party. I asked them to check the advertised fee online, but amazingly reception has no internet.

The rooms are old, poorly furnished with the a/c and lights not working correctly. The cleaners must be blind as there were the previous occupants underwear in the middle of the floor when we checked in. The restaurant struggles to cope with guests at breakfast

The pool is good and the location right on the beach is great.

I think this hotel would have been great 10 - 15 years ago, but now does not deserve the 4-star ranking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We have signed up with various companies for internet bookings, and all these companies have signed a contract with the Hotel that ensures that each and every customer is charged accordingly as to what has been advertised on their websites. They cannot downgrade or overcharge.
Please contact me directly and we will look into personally all the grouses that you have stipulated on this company.
We have also noted your feedback on the aging rooms which are currently being renovated and completion is targeted for the 1st week of December.
A total of 142 rooms will be undergoing this renovation process. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings in the room and do hope that you would contact us directly to settle this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. Drove down from KL and arrived about 6pm. At check in the girl had trouble with our booking (from Latestays.com) and asked me if I had just booked. I was unnerved by this as I had booked and paid in full 2 wks before. Her query could have been done more diplomatically considering it was late and we just wanted to get to our room esp with a baby in tow. Due to overbooking our Seaview Deluxe got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite, luckily.

Overall the buffet was fine, the beach lovely and clean and the stay a pleasant one. Plenty of local Malay food and seafood a drive away if keen to try something other than hotel dining.

The hotel Chinese Rez was supposed to have great dim sum, but we found it just average and limited in choices.

We managed to get a massage each at the Spa and that was lovely.

It was a nice getaway in general just don't expect 5 stars quality and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent visit to Kuantan.
We are appreciative of your feed back on improvements on the Front Office Check in and have duly informed the Front Office manager on improvements especially on service delivery to be made.
We thank you for your positive feed back on our beach, which is our focal selling point of the Hotel and steps are being taken to further enhance the beach to ensure guests enjoy the serene and tranquil atmosphere.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss garden Resort and Spa on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Baharu, Kelantan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything outside very nice and pleasant to see. Enter the room,the aging start to reveal. Need to upgrade the amenities to it names. The balcony are littered with cigarette although the 4th floor is non smoking section. Food is great,staff not so bad. Others are catching up,need to revamp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts during your recent stay in Kuantan. We are currently in the process of upgrading our Garden View rooms consisting of 142 rooms commencing from the 8th July onwards.which are in line with our Swiss Garden International brand standards on continuous service excellence to our customers.
We do hope that you would consider staying with us on your next visit and experience our newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.