We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that Bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan to your Saves list
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Kuantan
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not that Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

There are 3 area in this hotel. Right and left wing and centre. I requested for centre which have a good view to the pool and the beach.
Room and bathroom were impressively clean.
Service were rather laid back. You need to keep on asking before they got to it... But I'm just being picky. The staff are nice.

Clean beach too.
Try to avoid Teluk Chempedak and come here instead.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We thank you for the positive feedback on our services and facilities and will further improve on the delivery aspects in line with our Swiss garden International brand standards.
We once again would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Swiss garden resort during your next holiday in Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    250
    157
    44
    32
See reviews for
256
155
10
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I pre-booked this resort through the hotel website (http://www.swissgardenkuantan.com). The confirmation email saw an increase in the price advertised and a downgrade of the room booked. I raised this with reception on check-in and was told that bookings through the website were handled by a 3rd party. The hotel happily accepted the booking but takes no responsibility for the 3rd party. I asked them to check the advertised fee online, but amazingly reception has no internet.

The rooms are old, poorly furnished with the a/c and lights not working correctly. The cleaners must be blind as there were the previous occupants underwear in the middle of the floor when we checked in. The restaurant struggles to cope with guests at breakfast

The pool is good and the location right on the beach is great.

I think this hotel would have been great 10 - 15 years ago, but now does not deserve the 4-star ranking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We have signed up with various companies for internet bookings, and all these companies have signed a contract with the Hotel that ensures that each and every customer is charged accordingly as to what has been advertised on their websites. They cannot downgrade or overcharge.
Please contact me directly and we will look into personally all the grouses that you have stipulated on this company.
We have also noted your feedback on the aging rooms which are currently being renovated and completion is targeted for the 1st week of December.
A total of 142 rooms will be undergoing this renovation process. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings in the room and do hope that you would contact us directly to settle this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here in June to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. Drove down from KL and arrived about 6pm. At check in the girl had trouble with our booking (from Latestays.com) and asked me if I had just booked. I was unnerved by this as I had booked and paid in full 2 wks before. Her query could have been done more diplomatically considering it was late and we just wanted to get to our room esp with a baby in tow. Due to overbooking our Seaview Deluxe got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite, luckily.

Overall the buffet was fine, the beach lovely and clean and the stay a pleasant one. Plenty of local Malay food and seafood a drive away if keen to try something other than hotel dining.

The hotel Chinese Rez was supposed to have great dim sum, but we found it just average and limited in choices.

We managed to get a massage each at the Spa and that was lovely.

It was a nice getaway in general just don't expect 5 stars quality and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent visit to Kuantan.
We are appreciative of your feed back on improvements on the Front Office Check in and have duly informed the Front Office manager on improvements especially on service delivery to be made.
We thank you for your positive feed back on our beach, which is our focal selling point of the Hotel and steps are being taken to further enhance the beach to ensure guests enjoy the serene and tranquil atmosphere.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss garden Resort and Spa on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Baharu, Kelantan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything outside very nice and pleasant to see. Enter the room,the aging start to reveal. Need to upgrade the amenities to it names. The balcony are littered with cigarette although the 4th floor is non smoking section. Food is great,staff not so bad. Others are catching up,need to revamp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts during your recent stay in Kuantan. We are currently in the process of upgrading our Garden View rooms consisting of 142 rooms commencing from the 8th July onwards.which are in line with our Swiss Garden International brand standards on continuous service excellence to our customers.
We do hope that you would consider staying with us on your next visit and experience our newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ended up here after a 8 hrs treasure hunting journey from Kuala lumpur to Kuantan.
Was totally washed up and exhausted. Was hoping for a comforting stay.
Rooms was pleasant, not exactly the posh luxury comfort that we were looking for.
But it didnt disappoint us either.
Enjoyed the beach, the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent treasure hunt and are indeed pleased that you had enjoyed the beach, which is our focal selling point of the property and also the good food dished out by our Kitchen team members.
We do hope that you would select Swiss Garden Resort and Spa during your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A very nice place to be with family. But to my dismay, the room amenities are not well maintain. The air-con is not cold. The dimmer switch is faulty. Some of the light switches doesn't work. The buffet breakfast... well, the location is great, good view of the sea while you have your breakfast but the food selection is nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We have noted on your feed back on the ammenities and also on the breakfast selection.
We are currently in the process of upgrading our Garden View rooms amounting to 142 rooms commencing from the 8th July onwards. Swiss Garden International have also recently revamped our ammenities and our new ammenities would be implemented from mid August onwards.
We thank you for highlighting these issues which is for the betterment of our property and we will do our utmost to improve on these aspects that had been mentioned.
Once again thank you and we do look forward to you staying at the Swiss garden Resort and Spa on your next trip to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is easy to find as its just next to the main road on the way to the Kuantan port. Service was good except that when we were there for our check in and out, there was only 1 staff manning the reception (multi tasking or cost cutting as was on a weekday) . It was mentioned that free wifi provided but when we enquired we were told that its only at the lobby area and only for 2 hours !!!! wifi in the room was chargable at M$10/day of 24 hours !!!!we paid.
Breakfast spread was good except there there were many houseflies as we were in the open area. Beach was wonderful but becos of the haze, we did not go far.
There was makan shops just opposite the hotel for those who dont wish to eat at the hotel and further down the road, there were a numbers of seafood restaurants.

Room Tip: better to get seaview room which is more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to pen down the points of improvement that we could look into. We have noted your comments on the wi-fi charges and have informed the HOD concerned to look into this matter.
We have also noted your feedback on the breakfast and precautionary measures have been implemented to minimize this.
We certainly look forward to your continuous support and many more return visits from you in the near future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.