We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan

Save Saved
You added Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Kuantan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A very nice place to be with family. But to my dismay, the room amenities are not well maintain. The air-con is not cold. The dimmer switch is faulty. Some of the light switches doesn't work. The buffet breakfast... well, the location is great, good view of the sea while you have your breakfast but the food selection is nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We have noted on your feed back on the ammenities and also on the breakfast selection.
We are currently in the process of upgrading our Garden View rooms amounting to 142 rooms commencing from the 8th July onwards. Swiss Garden International have also recently revamped our ammenities and our new ammenities would be implemented from mid August onwards.
We thank you for highlighting these issues which is for the betterment of our property and we will do our utmost to improve on these aspects that had been mentioned.
Once again thank you and we do look forward to you staying at the Swiss garden Resort and Spa on your next trip to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    206
    129
    42
    25
See reviews for
207
135
9
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is easy to find as its just next to the main road on the way to the Kuantan port. Service was good except that when we were there for our check in and out, there was only 1 staff manning the reception (multi tasking or cost cutting as was on a weekday) . It was mentioned that free wifi provided but when we enquired we were told that its only at the lobby area and only for 2 hours !!!! wifi in the room was chargable at M$10/day of 24 hours !!!!we paid.
Breakfast spread was good except there there were many houseflies as we were in the open area. Beach was wonderful but becos of the haze, we did not go far.
There was makan shops just opposite the hotel for those who dont wish to eat at the hotel and further down the road, there were a numbers of seafood restaurants.

Room Tip: better to get seaview room which is more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to pen down the points of improvement that we could look into. We have noted your comments on the wi-fi charges and have informed the HOD concerned to look into this matter.
We have also noted your feedback on the breakfast and precautionary measures have been implemented to minimize this.
We certainly look forward to your continuous support and many more return visits from you in the near future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a nice, clean resort
Stayed for 3 nights with family. The room is spacious and clean. The pool is excellent and very well maintained. The beach is fantastic and nice to relax away from the city. The service is warm and friendly even though it is full house. Will definitely return again to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan. We thank you for the positive feed backs on our service standards which would surely spur all of us to achieve greater customer satisfaction in line with the Swiss garden Brand Standards.
We also thank you for the positive feedback on our beach and pool which are our focal selling point of the Hotel.
We do hope that you would consider Swiss Garden Resort and Spa during your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to stay in Kuantam for our honeymoon at the resort not knowing what to expect. I have to say that it was a very pleasant trip. The resort itself is very spacious. You have the luxury of having the beach to yourself. There is a mini pool for the kids and another one for the adults. There is a games/arcades area to keep the young busy and activities all throughout the day. The staff are very friendly and hospitable. No issues with security or otherwise. We had a deluxe sea facing room. Contemporary decor. There is a shuttle bus that runs twice a day to the center of town. If you enjoy the peace and tranquility you will enjoy the fruits of the resort. We mainly ate at the resort in either the Garden terrace or Blossom restaurant.

You will ofcourse find that it is very different from Kuala Lampur.
If the resort had anything to improve upon I would say create more tours for snorkelling or such like.
We would just like lend our thanks to the resort and all of the staff that allowed us to have a pleasant relaxing honeymoon. Special thanks to our friend Nassir

Room Tip: get the deluxe room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We are indeed happy and motivated that you had enjoyed your honeymoon at the resort and we do look forward to meeting up with you during your next visit to Kuantan and sincerely hope that you would stay with us and experience our Swiss Garden Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

During our stay @ the resort, we came across the followings:-
a)The lightings in the room & corridors was rather dark. b)There were a lot of houseflies during breakfast.
c)We hope to see more children programmes as well

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa as your choice hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan. We have taken note of your feed back and corrective measures are being put in place to ensure that we could overcome if not minimize on the issues highlighted.
We do hope that you would give us an opportunity and stay with us during your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have a trip to Kuantan I decide to stay at Swiss Garden Kuantan as look like nice resort after careful choose the resort. The staff at resort is very polite. The room I stay is warm due to air con is not power enough and I call to operation to request a standing fan but they answer don't have and will send the technician to checking, I reject cause my friend is on sleeping. After 15minute I feel the room really too warm and I decide go to reception counter to request the standing fan because I don't believe there are no fan in this resort. Finally I get the standing fan. The most disgusting is the place I having breakfast, The Garden Terrance. When I step in the restaurant have some smell come over to me. The glass have fully stain when I take some drink. After taking the food and find a table to sit down I realize there have alot the fly over there at least 50 fly is keep surrounding us!!! This is dining hall how come have alot fly and the staff is not take any action? I so worry about the cleanliness at kitchen as we can't see. This is my first time stay at Swiss Garden and disappointing what I had see as compare to other 4-5star hotel around the world.

Room Tip: Make sure the room air con is power enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your feed back during your recent stay in Kuantan, and we would certainly like to apologize for the experience that you had gone through. Every effort is being made to ensure corrective action plans are being put in place to ensure there is no repitition of this in the near future.
All departments concerned have been briefed on the issues that you have highlighted and we sincerely hope that you would give us another opportunity and stay with us on your next trip to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

stayed 5D4N in a deluxe pool view room. room was spacious and clean. i think we had a newly renovated room as our friend's room looked spartan in comparison. lobby area is big and you can access wifi for free there. actually only for 2 hours. signals in rooms are weak. swimming pool is quite deep, about 1.5m and the beach is great for early morning jog. breakfast spread is good but tends to be crowded. food quality is excellent though. the cafe and chinese restaurant serve delicious food. the chefs deserve to be commended. reception staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are glad that your overall experience had been positive.
Your feedback is very important as we consistently meet or exceed our guests expectations and create a memorable stay for them.
We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Resort & Spa, Kuantan (SGRSK), offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.