We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life in Kuantam after KL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan to your Saves list
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Kuantan
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Life in Kuantam after KL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to stay in Kuantam for our honeymoon at the resort not knowing what to expect. I have to say that it was a very pleasant trip. The resort itself is very spacious. You have the luxury of having the beach to yourself. There is a mini pool for the kids and another one for the adults. There is a games/arcades area to keep the young busy and activities all throughout the day. The staff are very friendly and hospitable. No issues with security or otherwise. We had a deluxe sea facing room. Contemporary decor. There is a shuttle bus that runs twice a day to the center of town. If you enjoy the peace and tranquility you will enjoy the fruits of the resort. We mainly ate at the resort in either the Garden terrace or Blossom restaurant.

You will ofcourse find that it is very different from Kuala Lampur.
If the resort had anything to improve upon I would say create more tours for snorkelling or such like.
We would just like lend our thanks to the resort and all of the staff that allowed us to have a pleasant relaxing honeymoon. Special thanks to our friend Nassir

Room Tip: get the deluxe room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We are indeed happy and motivated that you had enjoyed your honeymoon at the resort and we do look forward to meeting up with you during your next visit to Kuantan and sincerely hope that you would stay with us and experience our Swiss Garden Hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    220
    139
    42
    28
See reviews for
222
141
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

During our stay @ the resort, we came across the followings:-
a)The lightings in the room & corridors was rather dark. b)There were a lot of houseflies during breakfast.
c)We hope to see more children programmes as well

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa as your choice hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan. We have taken note of your feed back and corrective measures are being put in place to ensure that we could overcome if not minimize on the issues highlighted.
We do hope that you would give us an opportunity and stay with us during your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Have a trip to Kuantan I decide to stay at Swiss Garden Kuantan as look like nice resort after careful choose the resort. The staff at resort is very polite. The room I stay is warm due to air con is not power enough and I call to operation to request a standing fan but they answer don't have and will send the technician to checking, I reject cause my friend is on sleeping. After 15minute I feel the room really too warm and I decide go to reception counter to request the standing fan because I don't believe there are no fan in this resort. Finally I get the standing fan. The most disgusting is the place I having breakfast, The Garden Terrance. When I step in the restaurant have some smell come over to me. The glass have fully stain when I take some drink. After taking the food and find a table to sit down I realize there have alot the fly over there at least 50 fly is keep surrounding us!!! This is dining hall how come have alot fly and the staff is not take any action? I so worry about the cleanliness at kitchen as we can't see. This is my first time stay at Swiss Garden and disappointing what I had see as compare to other 4-5star hotel around the world.

Room Tip: Make sure the room air con is power enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your feed back during your recent stay in Kuantan, and we would certainly like to apologize for the experience that you had gone through. Every effort is being made to ensure corrective action plans are being put in place to ensure there is no repitition of this in the near future.
All departments concerned have been briefed on the issues that you have highlighted and we sincerely hope that you would give us another opportunity and stay with us on your next trip to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

stayed 5D4N in a deluxe pool view room. room was spacious and clean. i think we had a newly renovated room as our friend's room looked spartan in comparison. lobby area is big and you can access wifi for free there. actually only for 2 hours. signals in rooms are weak. swimming pool is quite deep, about 1.5m and the beach is great for early morning jog. breakfast spread is good but tends to be crowded. food quality is excellent though. the cafe and chinese restaurant serve delicious food. the chefs deserve to be commended. reception staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are glad that your overall experience had been positive.
Your feedback is very important as we consistently meet or exceed our guests expectations and create a memorable stay for them.
We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed 3D2N early Jun during school holiday.
The hotel was packed even though we booked for weekdays stay.
Check in was smooth, lobby area quite big and cosy.
Beach wide and clean, excellent for my morning jog. Wave not so strong and you can let your children play without worry too much.
Flying kite also great in the evening because strong wind, we brought 2 sets of kite and my kids loved it. You can also purchase kites at the pool counter for reasonable price.
Swimming pool very clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is always pool staff to watch overall safety for the children since the pool was quite pack during our stay, but we still enjoyed it.
Breakfast just average, not bad. I noticed due to school holiday fully booked, the restaurant staff seemed very busy replenishing the food and to prepare enough utensils. If you are patience and reasonable, it is not a problem at all.
For those who love otak otak and satar, should try Otak-otak Chek Wan near Geliga mosque Chukai, 45 min drive further north from hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing ocean will give great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We are indeed happy that your stay has been most satisfying and also on your compliments on our prompt check in and also friendly staff at our poolside. These kind words will further motivate us to excel in raising up our standards in service that will ensure continuity in delivery as per our Swiss Garden brand standards.
We do hope that you will select us as your choice Hotel during your next visit to Kuantan and we look forward to meeting up with you.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Overall the location is good. We had lunch at the restaurant , the jumbo satay and the claypot vege were very yummy. Breakfast was fine. Staff at pool and frontdesk were friendly.
Booked the stay online for 3adult and 1 child but the room only has 3 towels. Request for additional towel and was told need to pay for it. After much clarification then hotel agree to give it to us for free.
There was a cockcroach in our room.
Other then this, everything was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay. Your valuable comments on our a la carte food especially satay and also on the breakfast will help us in our quest to innovate excellence in everything that we do with the ultimate quest towards guest satisfaction in line with the Swiss garden International Brand standards that are always reviewed.
We also thank you for the positive feedback on our friendly staff which are our key towards reaching guest satisfaction.
We have also noted on your feedback regarding the towels, and remedial action has been immediately taken to ensure no repetition in the near future.
We have also intensified our monthly fumigation schedule and have noted your feedback on this.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we do hope that you would stay with us on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went to this hotel during school holidays time with husband and two young kids (5 & 7 years old). We booked for the family packages. And the hotel upgrade us from garden view to pool view room. Give us the extra bed free of charge. And give us the choices of either seafood bbq buffet dinner or chinese set dinner. We are so surprise for the services and offers provided and truly satisfied compare to what we pay off.
The beach is very big and long. Kids are having fun playing kites, balls and play water on the sand. But since it's school holidays, the children is full with children. My sons actually only play water in the pool and really swim in the pool. Suggested that the hotel can build a small slide at the children pool. Children will have more fun and enjoy playing water.
The breakfast is good and enough. But the indoor restaurant space is too small. For those came late need to sit at outside the pool and there are some steps and small water fountain in between the indoor and ourdoor space. Since it's a family resort and childrens walking around to pick the food, it's not so safe go around with this design.
If you compare to 5 star hotel, maybe this is not your choice. But if you compare to the budget you have, this hotel should be one of your consideration.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Warmest greetings from all of us at Swiss garden resort and Spa Kuantan. Thank you for the positive feed back that you had written regarding your stay in Kuantan and we have also noted on your feed back regarding the pool and the Garden Terrace Restaurant.
In view of the anticipated large crowds for breakfast we had erected the canopy at the poolside to accomodate the large crowds.
Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back which will only help us to improve further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.