We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful stay with wonderful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan to your Saves list
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Kuantan
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“peaceful stay with wonderful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

stayed 5D4N in a deluxe pool view room. room was spacious and clean. i think we had a newly renovated room as our friend's room looked spartan in comparison. lobby area is big and you can access wifi for free there. actually only for 2 hours. signals in rooms are weak. swimming pool is quite deep, about 1.5m and the beach is great for early morning jog. breakfast spread is good but tends to be crowded. food quality is excellent though. the cafe and chinese restaurant serve delicious food. the chefs deserve to be commended. reception staff are polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are glad that your overall experience had been positive.
Your feedback is very important as we consistently meet or exceed our guests expectations and create a memorable stay for them.
We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    220
    138
    42
    28
See reviews for
221
141
9
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed 3D2N early Jun during school holiday.
The hotel was packed even though we booked for weekdays stay.
Check in was smooth, lobby area quite big and cosy.
Beach wide and clean, excellent for my morning jog. Wave not so strong and you can let your children play without worry too much.
Flying kite also great in the evening because strong wind, we brought 2 sets of kite and my kids loved it. You can also purchase kites at the pool counter for reasonable price.
Swimming pool very clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is always pool staff to watch overall safety for the children since the pool was quite pack during our stay, but we still enjoyed it.
Breakfast just average, not bad. I noticed due to school holiday fully booked, the restaurant staff seemed very busy replenishing the food and to prepare enough utensils. If you are patience and reasonable, it is not a problem at all.
For those who love otak otak and satar, should try Otak-otak Chek Wan near Geliga mosque Chukai, 45 min drive further north from hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing ocean will give great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at Swiss garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We are indeed happy that your stay has been most satisfying and also on your compliments on our prompt check in and also friendly staff at our poolside. These kind words will further motivate us to excel in raising up our standards in service that will ensure continuity in delivery as per our Swiss Garden brand standards.
We do hope that you will select us as your choice Hotel during your next visit to Kuantan and we look forward to meeting up with you.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Overall the location is good. We had lunch at the restaurant , the jumbo satay and the claypot vege were very yummy. Breakfast was fine. Staff at pool and frontdesk were friendly.
Booked the stay online for 3adult and 1 child but the room only has 3 towels. Request for additional towel and was told need to pay for it. After much clarification then hotel agree to give it to us for free.
There was a cockcroach in our room.
Other then this, everything was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay. Your valuable comments on our a la carte food especially satay and also on the breakfast will help us in our quest to innovate excellence in everything that we do with the ultimate quest towards guest satisfaction in line with the Swiss garden International Brand standards that are always reviewed.
We also thank you for the positive feedback on our friendly staff which are our key towards reaching guest satisfaction.
We have also noted on your feedback regarding the towels, and remedial action has been immediately taken to ensure no repetition in the near future.
We have also intensified our monthly fumigation schedule and have noted your feedback on this.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we do hope that you would stay with us on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went to this hotel during school holidays time with husband and two young kids (5 & 7 years old). We booked for the family packages. And the hotel upgrade us from garden view to pool view room. Give us the extra bed free of charge. And give us the choices of either seafood bbq buffet dinner or chinese set dinner. We are so surprise for the services and offers provided and truly satisfied compare to what we pay off.
The beach is very big and long. Kids are having fun playing kites, balls and play water on the sand. But since it's school holidays, the children is full with children. My sons actually only play water in the pool and really swim in the pool. Suggested that the hotel can build a small slide at the children pool. Children will have more fun and enjoy playing water.
The breakfast is good and enough. But the indoor restaurant space is too small. For those came late need to sit at outside the pool and there are some steps and small water fountain in between the indoor and ourdoor space. Since it's a family resort and childrens walking around to pick the food, it's not so safe go around with this design.
If you compare to 5 star hotel, maybe this is not your choice. But if you compare to the budget you have, this hotel should be one of your consideration.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Warmest greetings from all of us at Swiss garden resort and Spa Kuantan. Thank you for the positive feed back that you had written regarding your stay in Kuantan and we have also noted on your feed back regarding the pool and the Garden Terrace Restaurant.
In view of the anticipated large crowds for breakfast we had erected the canopy at the poolside to accomodate the large crowds.
Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back which will only help us to improve further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family and I love Kuantan beach so much that we always go there on our short holidays and our no. 1 choice of hotel there, the Swiss Garden Resort! It has a clean and never crowded beach, two large pool (for kids and adults), an outdoor Jacuzzi, great choice of breakfast buffet, large rooms, friendly staffs and many other facilities for family holidays.

Although the hotel was fully occupied when we came, as usual the checking-in and checking –out was smooth and fast.

This time we were impressed with the breakfast buffet arrangement. The management had erected 2 large canopies so that the guests will be able to enjoy their breakfast facing the pool and without to wait long for seats. The f&b staffs were busy setting up new tables and chairs whenever the need arises!

However, we hope you could improve the tv receptions in the rooms as ours was blurry in terms of pictures and sounds. Also, the bathroom could do with a minor make over as there were cracks in the tiles and water not flowing smoothly from the shower. But these are very minor things that will not ruin our holidays at your hotel.

Kudos to the management and staffs of Swiss Garden Kuantan especially to Ms Nirma, Mr Kamal, Mr Fitri, Ms Faeizah (front desk) & Mr Saitu (f&b) for their great service and hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss garden Resort and Spa Kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We thank you for the positive feed back on our staff and also on our product. We strive to improve and positive feed back as you have written will only spur us on to improve further and initiate creativity to ensure guest satisfaction at all times.
The breakfast at the poolside was created for the high spillover of guests for breakfast and to ensure guests had not only a good breakfast but a great view of the scenery reliving the calmness of the Resort amidst the large crowd.
Remedial measures are being taken to improve the TV reception, and the cracks in the tiles.
Our preventive maintenance programme will be commencing immediately after the school holidays.
Once again thank you for the positive feed back and we look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent three days in Kuantan in early June Andrew picked the Swiss Garden because they had interconnecting rooms available at a decent price at short notice. To be honest, I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are a bit dated but clean. Amenities aren't the best, but the basics are provided.

They have a large pool, which they managed to keep clean despite the school-holiday rush. Service by the pool is pretty basic - we got our cocktails in take-away coffee cups! - but it's great for the kids have a super time. The beach is wonderful, perhaps the best feature of the resort, but there's no service out there and the loungers are in pretty poor shape. There's no hassle, though, from vendors or touts pushing activities or goodies in your face. Nice and peaceful. The spa (called Samsara, I think) was also okay. At RM340 for an hour massage for both the wife and I, it wasn't expensive for a hotel, decent service, acceotable facilities, but it wasn't the best massage I've ever had, either.

The breakfast isn't fantastic, but it's pretty good. There's a decent mix of western and Asian food, they'll do eggs for you how you want them and there's plenty of fresh fruit. It was very busy, though, so we were left to fend for ourselves a bit, even though the staff tried hard to keep up with everyone. The coffee is awful, though. Industrial lukewarm brown liquid in a large metal "tank" with a tap. You get the idea?

Food is pretty decent and reasonably priced. For us, the highlight was the Chinese restaurant, which was great, with attentive and knowledgeable staff. The barbecue buffet dinner is something we should have given a miss.

All in all, decent quality, good service, great location. For the price, I couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: Away from the pool was quieter, particularly as the music at the pub is pretty loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan. These comments will only motivate us to strive towards exemplary guest satisfaction standards that are in line with our Swiss Garden Brand standards. The beach front is our focal selling point with it's serenity and it is almost like a private beach.
We have also noted your feed back on the rooms being dated, and we are in the midst of commencing our upgrading works for the Garden view rooms consisting of 142 rooms.
We would certainly look into the coffee during breakfast and we would also like to thank you for the positive feed back on the Chinese Restaurant. The staff would certainly be motivated by your positive feed back.
Once again thank you and we do look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to Swiss garden Resort and Spa Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Swiss Garden is a truly beautiful resort. We spent 3 days in the resort with my wife and two children. Everything is great there. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and very spacious. We had a great time with my two children in the swimming pool and also there are lots of activities for children. The breakfast is also very good with a large choice of local and western food every day. Thanks to the Resort we had a great stay in Kuantan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pen your thoughts on your stay at Swiss Garden Hotel Kuantan and we are indeed proud and inspired by your positive feed back that will spur us towards further improvising on our guest satisfaction programmes that are in line with our Swiss Garden International brand standards.
The breakfast buffet is alternated daily on local and western specialities and improvements are made based on customer feed back and remedial action is taken to ensure total customer satisfaction.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.