We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with great services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan

Save Saved
You added Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Kuantan
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great location with great services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The resort is really beautiful but what really impressed us was the beach which was really relaxing. The services of the Hotel are really genuine whereby you can see the staff are really concerned of their guests. The breakfast and dinner buffets at the main restaurant were very tasty and during the duration of our stay we had all our meals there. The rooms were clean but were a bit old. We will recommend this Hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan. We are are glad that you have especially enjoyed the services rendered by our associates who will be further motivated by your positive feed back.
The breakfast and Dinner menus are continously upgraded to suit the taste of our esteemed guests.
We look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to Kuantan, staying with us at the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    202
    127
    42
    25
See reviews for
205
132
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed for 2D1N at the spacious family room with 1 single king size bed and 2 twin single bed . The room was very clean but the furniture quiet aging , really hope hotel mgt do something on it . Got warm welcome from the hotel staff . The lobby was beautifully decorated and very presentable , according to the staff , it just undergone refurbishment . The hotel was very peaceful , with huge swimming pool and just beside the clean beach and calm sea ... really nice to have ocean swim . Other facilities , the playground, rabbits , tortoise and the games room were the main attraction to my kids , they really enjoyed it ! The outdoor jacuzzi , the gym and the sauna main attraction to the adults . Another attraction , the morning nature wonderful view of the sun rise . The breakfast and the BBQ were very great . The hotel will be more happening if they have some water sports ...an attraction to the youngsters . Definately , will return back for another great holiday ...........

Room Tip: Booked for family room if you have 4 kids ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan. We are currently in the midst of preparing for our room renovations which will commence on the 1st July 2012. We will be renovating a total of 142 rooms.
We have just completed our enhancement of our beach and will soon commence work on our landscape.
All these are in line with making Swiss garden Resort and Spa Kuantan the choice Hotel to stay in Kuantan.
We do look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, everything is good, the hotel is up to the standard, room is spacious, hotel breakfast is great, beach is clean , good resort for a short break, just a distance to Kuantan Town but is ok if you want to away from the bustling city life

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on our Resort and we are truly appreciative of your comments especially on our staff and also on the buffet breakfast which we are constantly enhancing. This is in line with our brand standards and these feedbacks will be passed on to our staff to further motivate them on enhancing guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a wonderful place to relax...beach was excellent- clean and spacious for beach side activity. It is a place where you just can lounge doing absolutely nothing other than enjoying the breeze while catching a nap kind of place.Food joint is just a walking distance if you feel like eating local food. Room is clean with good facilities. Breakfast spread can be improve but it still good. Great place to spend with your family. Will definitely go there again !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on our Resort. We have just completed the enhancement of our beach with the inclusion of a rubble wall. The beach is daily cleaned as part of our environment enhancement projects and one of our key selling points on our resort is the beach. Your feedback on the product and services are appreciated and we do look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to Kuantan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I visited Swiss Garden Kuantan for the first time last week. We were looking for a quiet idyll and found just that. Relaxation in splendid surroundings, matched by really caring staff made for a hugely enjoyable week. We were struck from the very first by how much the staff concerned themselves with every aspect of our comfort, but in an unassuming way..they were "not in our face", but if we needed anything, they were there to help.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lifts offer less passing traffic and are therefore quieter. The higher the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your stay in Kuantan recently.
We are appreciative of your very positive feed back during your stay especially on the services rendered by our staff that were excellent and this will spur us to achieve greater standards.
We do hope that you will select Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan during your next visit to Kuantan and we do look forward to meeting up with you
Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our third stay at Swiss Garden north of Kuantan. They have a lovely, clean beach with good beachside activities for children. The rooms are very well laid out and their breakfast buffet is better than most facilities nearby. It cannot compare to the five star hotels in KL, but for the region it is very good and very clean. What impressed us most this time was their friendly staff. Assistant Front Office Manager Syed Najib Abd Rahman was very courteous and provided exemplary service. He is a star in the making and should be recognized as such. Another person who went beyond his call of duty was Chef Khairul. Chef Khairul recalled that we were particularly fond of his tarts and brought some to our table the next day at lunch. This is what I call personal service. Thank you Chef, thank you Syed Najib and thank you all the staff at Swiss Garden. You have made sure I visit you again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth it. For families ask for connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swissgarden hotel and spa kuantan as your choice hotel during your recent stay in kuantan. We are certainly appreciative of your positive feedback especially on our staff, Syed Najib and Chef Khairul whom we are very proud to have as our team members.
We are constantly upgrading and improving our breakfast menu and we will soon be adding in waffles and pancakes. This will be rotated daily.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss Garden Resort and Spa on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I had to come down to Kuantan for important matter and had decided to stay for the night at this resort. My wife had been to this resort years ago with good review so we look forward for really good time there.

We had called the reservation desk earlier of the day, in the morning actually, to make our reservation. However the person who was attending to our call mentioned there were plenty of rooms available so we were assured and want us to just walk in and we can get the room that we want. We were also been assured there was best rate for the deluxe sea view room king bed. Sounds good for us as we were busy with many matters to attend in KL and later Kuantan in the same day.

We arrived at the resort around 7 p.m., straight to the reception desk to enquire about room
availability and to check in. there were several people in the queue and it takes like 15 minutes or so per pax. mind you it was warm and no fans around there, we were sweating. at last it was
our turn and when we enquire and request for the room that we want (deluxe sea view room king
bed), we were told they were none available. Even for 2 single bed sea view was very limited.
No best rate either for them - we were annoyed and we told the front desk person on our
conversation with the resort earlier in the morning, she denied the best rate was 'no longer' available but can give us. She asked us whether we were contacting the right resort and in some
way wants us to prove it! We showed to her the phone number of the resort that we got from the
website (yes, Swiss Garden Kuantan website, not agency or whatsoever website) only then she
seems to believe but still not explaining to us, like to show it's our fault entirely. Tired and deeply
annoyed, we settled with deluxe garden room view and asked for the room Wi-Fi ID and
password, which was chargeable and we agreed to be charged.

The room was nice and clean, having the amenities as expected. Found out later few electrical
plug points were out of order. Maintenance team should take note to repair them. After
coming inside the room my wife wants to get online, try to log in the room Wi-Fi using to ID and
password given but the hotel Internet access website mentioned it has either expired or need to
be activated. We thought maybe some glitches that can be sorted out later as we were looking
ahead for dinner.

After having our dinner at the resort restaurant, which was very good BBQ buffet, and returned
to our room, my wife tried again on the Wi-Fi and still gave the same problem. gave a call to
front desk to inform about the Wi-Fi and see what they can do to rectify it. When my wife told her
the problem was first observed when she tried to log in after getting into the room (like 2 hours
before we were done with our dinner), the front desk person asked us why we never informed
them when we first encounter the problem and ask u to come over to front desk to get new ID
and password. Like really, does checking the Wi-Fi and quickly report any problem about it was
the most important thing to do when checking in to a hotel room? and then asking us to go all the
way to reception to get all those stuff, at around 11 p.m.? we just told her to cancel the Wi-Fi and doze off after a tiring and annoying day.

Room sound insulation was not that good as we can hear noises and sounds from adjacent room and the club downstair.

The resort does have the ambient, facilities, tidy up keeping and cleanliness. However, either the
work procedure/process or staff attitude is disappointing. If the Resort Management really appreciate the good location, nice pool and facilities they have, please sort out these issues seriously so they would not turn away potential guests.

Room Tip: get sea view room. Get room further away from the bar/club - very noisy at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sir,
We are indeed truly upset at the experience that you had endured during your check in at the Swiss Garden especially as you had booked the deluxe sea view room king.
We have also noted your feed back on the internet and also on certain plug points that were not functioning.
We have taken corrective measures to improve on these areas and we do sincerely apologize and rest assured that this incidents will not happen again. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and look forward to meet up with you during your next stay in Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Resort & Spa, Kuantan (SGRSK), offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.