We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan

Save Saved
You added Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Kuantan
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
“nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

stayed at executive suite.the panorama was very nice with the big pool and jaccuzi in room.living room suitable for family size.have to improve the quantity n quality breakfast.over all.....keep up the good work:-).not forgeting the servis quite fast.
28 march 2013- maslinda arifin

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Many sincere thanks for your kind words and we are indeed gratified to learn of your positive stay experience. We have noted your feedback on the breakfast, in terms of the quality and quantity. We have currently also included local items like nasi minyak, roti canai to further enhance the breakfast experience.
We naturally look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    204
    128
    42
    25
See reviews for
206
133
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Bought a surprise weekend retreat for myself and hubby for his birthday. A million thanks to Yusnita for arranging the romantic getaway package, it was luxury and comfort all the way. Food was excellent throughout the day, we were upgraded to a suite facing the pool and sea, gorgeous view! The spa service was fabulous as usual, I went for the Royale Samsara treatment and it was amazing.

Pool was great, we went swimming in the morning prior to having breakfast and enjoyed the pool to ourselves. Later after breakfast we went to the activity room where various types of arcade games and Wii are available for rent.

The highlight of the trip has got to be the candle light dinner. We had a special table just for us near the pool, meal was fantastic and we enjoyed the privacy given.

Thumbs up to Yus and the team for your continuous effort in ensuring guests at Swiss Garden arevwell taken care of!

Room Tip: Pool/sea view, definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had stayed here with some friends early last year. It was a nightmare...

This time, a family friend paid for our hotel stay as we were attending her dad's birthday celebrations...we were very apprehensive initially BUT, this trip has changed my opinion.

We had a very pleasant stay and the children were amused and entertained with the new addition of rabbits and tortoises. We had a lovely time just relaxing by the poolside and the food selection was definitely much better.

I was especially taken in by the warmth and friendliness of the staff....even the resort has a cosy feel to it...inviting and relaxing.

Service has definitely picked up here and I will definitely come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We will gladly share your compliments on the improved services with our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations once again.
We certainly look forward to your continous support and more return visits from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is my 2nd day stay in the hotel.We booked a family package for 3D2N. This package is for 2 adults and 2 children below 12 years old. The room facilities provided is not cater for the package at all. They only gave 2 single beds which it definitely not enough to cater for 4 of us. Only 2 towels are given and 1 set of toiletories for 4 of us. Hope the hotel can improve this area. Still scatching my head how are we going to sleep tonight with 2 small single beds.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for staying at Swiss Garden Resort and Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay and remedial action has been taken immediately based on your valuable feed back.
We do hope that you would give us an opportunity and stay with us during your next visit to kuantan
Once again our sincere apologies.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Since our last stay with Swiss Garden Kuantan near to a decade ago, we'd decided to try this hotel again during our recent trip.

First of all, I must compliment the team of staff for the much improved professionalism and politeness. Our check-in was swift and the front desk lady was very friendly and helpful. We were given a sea view room on the 2nd floor (highest is 4th floor). The room had been recently refurbished; with a nice pool view and a glimpse of the sea (partially blocked by trees).

We decided to call for room service. The menu was not found anywhere, so the housekeeper sent it to us soon after we requested for it. I ordered a fried kway teow together with other items. The bill came and shocked us with a RM24++ fried kway teow! It was stated on the menu that char kway teow costs RM17nett. The order taker clarified that fried kway teow and char kway teow were totally 2 different dishes. Chinese in this part of the world uses 'fried' as the English translation of 'Char' in Hokkien, similar to 'fried' (English) and 'goreng' (Malay). Unless specifically stated e.g. Fried Kway Teow with Prawns, Char Kway Teow with Cockles, it puzzles me on the difference of plainly 'Fried' and 'Char'. Another problem is, the menu was just a single page laminated flyer; the RM24 Fried Kway Teow was not even shown on it! When I feedback to the order taker, she defended by saying that she had repeated 'Fried Kway Teow' and I verified correct! Sigh... what could I say but just my luck! I found it hard to explain to a non-Chinese on this miscommunication, as I understand that she was just doing her job. I let it go without escalating. Though it cost us just a few dollars more, it had intensely reduced our satisfaction level. I truly hope the hotel would do something to make such info clearer to guests moving forward.

WIFI in the room was charged at RM10 per 24 hours' block and could only be used for one device throughout. Since we were unwilling to pay anything more, we kept to using it for our iPad. Complimentary WIFI was provided at the reception area and limited to 2 hours per device; ID and passwords were obtained from the front desk. We did some surfing with our cell phones at the lobby area, and were attacked by some hungry mozzies. Tak boleh tahan! We retreated to our room shortly after, itching all over. Would fogging or burning of Citronellas etc help with the situation?

Just under a 10 mins' drive, you would find a nice Chinese Tze-Char coffeeshop called Alor Akar Retaurant. We tried the signature Beggar's Chicken, Yam Ring with Pork Ribs, and Sambal Kang Kong. Yummy!

There were pleasant surprises in the hotel nevertheless. There was a cage of rabbits and a pen of tortoises at the poolside. The bunnies were cute and cheery; they had really brightened our day. The breakfast restaurant had been refurbished too and it was great not to be bothered by swamps of flies like years ago. Could it be that we were just lucky to be there during the non-flies season? Whatever the case, breakfast was an enjoyable one.

Overall, I would rate our stay as slightly above Average. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys close proximity to the beach, yet without burning holes in their pockets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Swiss Garden Resort and Spa and on your frank assesment of our Resort.
We thank you for the positive feedback on the improved professionalism and politeness of our staff which are in line with our Swiss garden Brand standards.
We have briefed our staff on the Charges for the Char Kway Teow and truly apologize for this mix up and confusion.
We are glad that our Rabbits and tortoises have made you all cheery and we are also looking at increasing to add in other animals.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your breakfast which we have been working on to create an experience when guests have their first meal of the day at our Resort.
We look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Prefer this location cos it is 20mins drive down to Kuantan town for meals, hypermarts, mall n teluk chempedak beach. 20mins drive up from the resort takes you to Cherating village. ( It has lost its village appeal compared to the days when backpackers used to flock to this place .Wouldn't want to stay there )..
Resort is apparently well managed. Beach area n lawn is swept every morning. Cleanliness and tidyness seems to be the order of the day.Sports Dept has minimum of 3 daily activities f.o.c. Hope they will provide better arrows during archery lessons cos the ones we had, were short of feathers. Love to swim in the big adult pool ,though I'm very conscious that the pool attendants/lifeguards must be vigilant in spotting people who are not properly attired, from dipping/swimming. It's soooo unhygenic. Buffet B/fast was good with the usual variety of spreads. Can we have waffles please? Buffet dinner was excellent too. We choose to have our meals here rather than go out and search for eateries cos we wanted to relax more in this place. Always looked forward to the min library at the corner foyer. Glad, reading materials left behind found its way to the bookshelves. Was dissappointed, the lounge area didn't have any cakes during the two days.Overall I will stay in this place again, cos it's better managed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We thank you for the positive feedback on the cleaniness and tidyness of the resort and we have also noted your feedback on improvement especially for arrows at the recreation.
We also thank you for the very positive feedback on our breakfast buffet and also buffet dinner and your feedback on the waffles has been noted.
We do hope that Swiss Garden Kuantan will be your choice Hotel during your next stay at our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Checked in to the sea view room with a balcony, but was surprised to see the floors were dusty. The view was excellent, the beach area could be better if not for the bulldozer working up the sand. The pool was quite big too but the outdoor jacuzzi only allow 16yr and above. You can play beach volleyball, kites, and sea sports all day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay here. We are currently in the process of upgrading our beach area to further enhance our guests stay at the Resort. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused especially from the machinery works.
We have noted your feed back on the rooms and this matter will be looked into.
We do look forward to meeting up with you during your next visit to kuantan and staying with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Resort & Spa, Kuantan (SGRSK), offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.