We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal location by the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan

Save Saved
You added Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 hotels in Kuantan
malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An ideal location by the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Prefer this location cos it is 20mins drive down to Kuantan town for meals, hypermarts, mall n teluk chempedak beach. 20mins drive up from the resort takes you to Cherating village. ( It has lost its village appeal compared to the days when backpackers used to flock to this place .Wouldn't want to stay there )..
Resort is apparently well managed. Beach area n lawn is swept every morning. Cleanliness and tidyness seems to be the order of the day.Sports Dept has minimum of 3 daily activities f.o.c. Hope they will provide better arrows during archery lessons cos the ones we had, were short of feathers. Love to swim in the big adult pool ,though I'm very conscious that the pool attendants/lifeguards must be vigilant in spotting people who are not properly attired, from dipping/swimming. It's soooo unhygenic. Buffet B/fast was good with the usual variety of spreads. Can we have waffles please? Buffet dinner was excellent too. We choose to have our meals here rather than go out and search for eateries cos we wanted to relax more in this place. Always looked forward to the min library at the corner foyer. Glad, reading materials left behind found its way to the bookshelves. Was dissappointed, the lounge area didn't have any cakes during the two days.Overall I will stay in this place again, cos it's better managed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We thank you for the positive feedback on the cleaniness and tidyness of the resort and we have also noted your feedback on improvement especially for arrows at the recreation.
We also thank you for the very positive feedback on our breakfast buffet and also buffet dinner and your feedback on the waffles has been noted.
We do hope that Swiss Garden Kuantan will be your choice Hotel during your next stay at our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    210
    135
    42
    27
See reviews for
211
138
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Checked in to the sea view room with a balcony, but was surprised to see the floors were dusty. The view was excellent, the beach area could be better if not for the bulldozer working up the sand. The pool was quite big too but the outdoor jacuzzi only allow 16yr and above. You can play beach volleyball, kites, and sea sports all day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay here. We are currently in the process of upgrading our beach area to further enhance our guests stay at the Resort. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused especially from the machinery works.
We have noted your feed back on the rooms and this matter will be looked into.
We do look forward to meeting up with you during your next visit to kuantan and staying with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Arrived quite late at night from JB. Stayed here for a business visit. The check-in experience was ok.

The room was new & clean. It was spacious & bathroom has a bathtub & shower. Stayed in 2nd floor deluxe garden view. Well, i cannot say its 'garden view'. It was just overlooking shrubs garden.

The breakfast was terrific. Asian & continental breakfast. However, i was irritated by the sound of artificial insects tune which is repeated over & over again. The idea is good but they should have tune it a little bit less screthy or change to another tone.

Pro's : Overall the place was terrific

Con's: Spoil my morning breakfast mood. :)

Will come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We are currently in the process of upgrading our deluxe rooms and the completion is tentatively for the end of June 2013.
We will gladly share your compliments on the breakfast with our kitchen associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations once again.
We certainly look forward to your continous support and more return visits from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I live near Swiss garden and as such use the Gym and Swim package nearly 2 times a week, very nice and well kept and the staff are very welcoming and most of them speak English. Took advantage of my 50% discount at the resteraunt which was also very good food

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback with regards to our Gym and swimming pool facilities and we will gladly share your gracious compliments with our associates.
We also look forward to your patronage to our Restaurants which are continously coming out with various promotions to satisfy the needs of our esteemed guests.
Once again thank you and we look forward to meeting up with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A relaxing beach front hotel...my family had a fabulous time just relaxing by the beach and the poolside. We chilled out totally and my boys enjoyed the games room during the light rain. The food at the coffee house was tasty and authentic. the staff were friendly and very helpful and overall, I must say it had to be one of our most relaxing holidays ever.

Thank you Swiss Garden. Look forward to another vacation with you.

Room Tip: Pool facing has pretty good view of the sea on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thak you for providing us with your valued feedback which is certainly appreciated.
We will gladly share your gracious compliments with our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations once again.
We certainly look forward to your continous support and more return visits from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we had a 2D1N stay the room was perfectly clean spacious and the bathroom room too was spick span clean but the bathtub had a leak or a backflow from the waste but thanks to the rough surface of the tiles there was no accident. the staff are the winning point of the hotel they are so friendly and helpful. the waiters too were excellent. but the tables at the coffeehouse where we had our breakfast stank of egg and were not clean and with food stains. the stench was quite off putting that i lost my appetite and nearly threw up. tea and coffee pots were not refilled and quite a number of guests were asking for coffee and tea. the car park was full and we couldnt park our car. the night staff tried to help us find a space but the ill tempered security guard /parking attendant was so rude and shouted at my husband telling him to park on the side of the road. this incident certainly need to be looked into by the management. the hotel needs a facelift, overall especially the lobby and the lift area. it looks bad and spooky. but the corridors are well lit and clean. please change the brand of the toothpaste, brushing with that toothpaste can spoil anyones day. horrible.
need more signages along the road, there is one near the hotel but wasnt lit so could hardly be seen especially in the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback which is certainly appreciated.
I do sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience and rest assured that these will be reviewed for improvement and that will include re-training, where necessary to prevent this from happening in the near future.
Once again we apologize for not meeting your expectations and welcome another opportunity to restore your confidence with a more positive stay experience during your next visit to the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Everything worked as it was supposed, the staff was friendly and the pool was nice. But hygienically they do have some work to do. The Buffet restaurant needed cleaning and the staff needed education in hygiene. I'm sure they want to do well, but are not capable.

But very easy and early(!) check in, which was great. And the familyrooms are very spacious.

Room Tip: Garden view just means that it is NOT beach/pool view :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Resort & Spa, Kuantan (SGRSK), offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Resort & Spa Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.