We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value family beach hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan to your Saves list
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good value family beach hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Checked in to the sea view room with a balcony, but was surprised to see the floors were dusty. The view was excellent, the beach area could be better if not for the bulldozer working up the sand. The pool was quite big too but the outdoor jacuzzi only allow 16yr and above. You can play beach volleyball, kites, and sea sports all day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay here. We are currently in the process of upgrading our beach area to further enhance our guests stay at the Resort. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused especially from the machinery works.
We have noted your feed back on the rooms and this matter will be looked into.
We do look forward to meeting up with you during your next visit to kuantan and staying with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    258
    162
    44
    34
See reviews for
267
159
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Arrived quite late at night from JB. Stayed here for a business visit. The check-in experience was ok.

The room was new & clean. It was spacious & bathroom has a bathtub & shower. Stayed in 2nd floor deluxe garden view. Well, i cannot say its 'garden view'. It was just overlooking shrubs garden.

The breakfast was terrific. Asian & continental breakfast. However, i was irritated by the sound of artificial insects tune which is repeated over & over again. The idea is good but they should have tune it a little bit less screthy or change to another tone.

Pro's : Overall the place was terrific

Con's: Spoil my morning breakfast mood. :)

Will come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Resort and Spa as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan.
We are currently in the process of upgrading our deluxe rooms and the completion is tentatively for the end of June 2013.
We will gladly share your compliments on the breakfast with our kitchen associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations once again.
We certainly look forward to your continous support and more return visits from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I live near Swiss garden and as such use the Gym and Swim package nearly 2 times a week, very nice and well kept and the staff are very welcoming and most of them speak English. Took advantage of my 50% discount at the resteraunt which was also very good food

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for providing your valuable feedback with regards to our Gym and swimming pool facilities and we will gladly share your gracious compliments with our associates.
We also look forward to your patronage to our Restaurants which are continously coming out with various promotions to satisfy the needs of our esteemed guests.
Once again thank you and we look forward to meeting up with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A relaxing beach front hotel...my family had a fabulous time just relaxing by the beach and the poolside. We chilled out totally and my boys enjoyed the games room during the light rain. The food at the coffee house was tasty and authentic. the staff were friendly and very helpful and overall, I must say it had to be one of our most relaxing holidays ever.

Thank you Swiss Garden. Look forward to another vacation with you.

Room Tip: Pool facing has pretty good view of the sea on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thak you for providing us with your valued feedback which is certainly appreciated.
We will gladly share your gracious compliments with our associates who will be delighted to have delivered your expectations once again.
We certainly look forward to your continous support and more return visits from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we had a 2D1N stay the room was perfectly clean spacious and the bathroom room too was spick span clean but the bathtub had a leak or a backflow from the waste but thanks to the rough surface of the tiles there was no accident. the staff are the winning point of the hotel they are so friendly and helpful. the waiters too were excellent. but the tables at the coffeehouse where we had our breakfast stank of egg and were not clean and with food stains. the stench was quite off putting that i lost my appetite and nearly threw up. tea and coffee pots were not refilled and quite a number of guests were asking for coffee and tea. the car park was full and we couldnt park our car. the night staff tried to help us find a space but the ill tempered security guard /parking attendant was so rude and shouted at my husband telling him to park on the side of the road. this incident certainly need to be looked into by the management. the hotel needs a facelift, overall especially the lobby and the lift area. it looks bad and spooky. but the corridors are well lit and clean. please change the brand of the toothpaste, brushing with that toothpaste can spoil anyones day. horrible.
need more signages along the road, there is one near the hotel but wasnt lit so could hardly be seen especially in the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback which is certainly appreciated.
I do sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience and rest assured that these will be reviewed for improvement and that will include re-training, where necessary to prevent this from happening in the near future.
Once again we apologize for not meeting your expectations and welcome another opportunity to restore your confidence with a more positive stay experience during your next visit to the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Everything worked as it was supposed, the staff was friendly and the pool was nice. But hygienically they do have some work to do. The Buffet restaurant needed cleaning and the staff needed education in hygiene. I'm sure they want to do well, but are not capable.

But very easy and early(!) check in, which was great. And the familyrooms are very spacious.

Room Tip: Garden view just means that it is NOT beach/pool view :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I just got back from a 2D1N stay at the Swiss-Garden Kuantan for Chinese New Year, from Feb 12-13. This was actually our second stay here, although the first was way back in 2008 (in a Garden View Room).

First things first, the lobby area was still as nicely done up as it did before, very well-lit by the sun and breezy (it is open-air). I made my reservation via Booking.com and there was no issue there; by giving my MyCard (Malaysia identity card) number, the reception staff assigned us our room and gave two key cards together with the usual breakfast voucher and a couple of towel coupons (supposedly to control cases of missing towels, there is a fine if either the towel or coupon is not returned at the poolside counter).

However, when we entered the room (I booked a Garden-View one), it was on the ground floor and came with two single beds. I actually asked for one with Queen bed as we were traveling with our infant son and decided to contact the Reception for a change of room. Despite the hotel being 100% full at the time, Ms. Norazila (I think that's her name) helped me to locate an alternative and after a few minutes, she called back, asking us to pack up and head back to the Reception.

Our key cards were then reprogrammed and turns out that we were upgraded to a King-bedded Sea-Facing Room on Level 2 and at no added cost (our rate for this stay was RM370.00 net per night); now that's a pleasant surprise! In fact, compared with our 2008 visit (I still have the photos, btw), the room has been very tastefully done up, with a nice wall feature as the backdrop to the bed, and a flat-screen TV sitting on a long table which is combined with the workstation. And for once, opening the window to sit down at the balcony faces the poolside instead of the backyard area!

The wardrobe still faces the bed (unlike other hotels, where it is at the foyer) but compared with the previous stay, the space where we used to place our bags has been changed to one for the minibar and coffee-tea facilities. As for luggage, these can be put at a special rack just next to the TV table, which makes it easier to access our stuff.

As for the toilet, it has obviously been renovated in tandem with the room but they seem to have sacrificed the space for the sink, which gets quite crammed when our things are put there. Most hotels have a long area for the sink and related toiletries but Swiss-Garden's one is in a small corner next to the WC and facing the door. No issues with the bathtub or WC though; the tub had a built-in anti-slip flooring, which was a good safety-related aspect other hotels should consider.

Facilities-wise, the pool was a great one for us to swim our regular laps, despite the large crowd all over the place. Too bad our son did not get to dip in the children's pool, as he is still an infant but there were many kids there as well, proving that Swiss-Garden is indeed a choice resort for families on vacation. The beach is also one of the better ones I've been to, in the same league as neighboring Cherating, especially the nice waves and cool breeze at any time of the day; this combo is something not found in the more "accessible" Penang or Langkawi beaches, unfortunately.

However, when we walked into the Games Room, we noticed how outdated the machines were, i.e. something out of those old-school arcades from the 90s. At the same time, while the Tupai Kids Club is a good idea to keep the children entertained while their parents head out for excursions (the Wii machine is a good indoor-style fitness option), it needs to be modernized and upgraded into the style of some of the resorts at the West Coast (Parkroyal Penang and The Westin LGK come to mind).

As for food, since we were only there for a one night stay, we had our only hotel meal for the next day's breakfast. Unfortunately, we did not get to eat at the Garden Terrace coffee house itself as it was full, so we were ushered to their Ballroom instead (the breakfast buffet was available there as well). Food quality was average, although there was an Egg Station available as well as a range of cereals and freshly-cut fruits.

Location-wise, the Swiss-Garden is in an ideal position of being only 10km from Kuantan City, making it very accessible compared with the more distant Cherating resorts. Which meant that we only took around 15 minutes to reach the restaurant for our family reunion dinner whilst our relatives took more than 1/2 hour from Kemaman, due to heavy traffic!

One last thing before I forget, we had a rather nasty experience during our 2008 stay when it came to the check-out, when we were wrongly-billed certain items as it was crowded at the time and things became rather messy, as a result (we were about to leave Kuantan when the error was spotted, making us turn back to the Resort to get things corrected). This time round, at check-out, it was handled very well and after payment was made, I got back my receipt in less than 5 minutes!

In short, the Swiss-Garden has done a great job in the 5 years between our two visits, especially the beautifully-renovated Pool-facing Room and check-out process, but certain public areas need urgent renovation to keep up with the times. I'll be back for more enjoyable stays, for sure!

Room Tip: If budget is not an issue, by all means go for the Pool-Facing Room; it gives you an obvious poolsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your feed back given on your recent stay at the Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan and also thank you for making us your choice Resort during your recent stay. We are currently in the process of upgrading the garden view rooms that would commence on the 1st April 2013.
We are also in the process of upgrading our current landscape that would commence on the 1st March 2013.
With all these upgrading works in place we do hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Swiss Garden Kuantan.
We thank you once again for for choosing us as your choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.