We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average quality hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan to your Saves list
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Kuantan
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Just an average quality hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel in November 2012, on a time-share exchange through Interval International. Upon check-in, we were assigned a room with a serious leak from the bath tub faucet. If the housekeeping staff had used water while cleaning, they should have noticed the water leak. We had already unpacked when the problem was discovered. However, we were transferred to another room. The breakfast buffet offered both eastern, and western dishes, although they did not replenish certain dishes promptly. On a couple of occasions, we had to speak to one of the staff about it. The most disappointing part of our stay was the Chinese Restaurant. Although we wanted to try the Special of the day which was a "buffet" style meal, in which one could order items from a wide selection of menu items, we were told not to order from this menu unless we were really hungry. We were encouraged to order from the regular menu. It cost us more than double the price of the "buffet" and we came away both hungry and disappointed. This is a scam, as it appeared that it was not in their interest to allow two guests to order from a "buffet" menu. Thanks to the floor manager who is a mature oriental lady. The hotel has a great spa, which my wife used.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/ocean view room. Be wise if you order from the regular menu at the Cninese Restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for staying at Swiss Garden Resort Spa during your recent stay in Kuantan. We are extremely concerned on your recent experience at the Hotel and rest assured steps have been taken to further improve our standards in line with the Swiss Garden International brand standards.
We sincerely hope that you would give us an opportunity to serve you again and would improve on the negative aspects mentioned.
We do look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to Swiss garden Resort and Spa Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    233
    150
    44
    29
See reviews for
237
151
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was at Kuantan to attend to some work near the port. So since Swiss Garden is just about 10mins from the port, opted to stay there. First impression, the hotel looks good with ample parking and quite impressive lobby (not air conditioned) with some water features around. Settled for a room on the top floor overlooking the garden which is cheaper compare to the sea facing room. No complaints on the view as it is actually facing some greenery (forest) with some village houses in between. I didn't hear any noise from vehicles plying the road in front of the hotel.

Room was ok at first until I decided to take a bath in the tub. It looked clean until I started filling the tub with water and found hairs (not the ones on the head) floating. Then while taking out the cups for coffee, found a few cigarette butts. The floor where I was staying was supposed to be non-smoking. Clearly house keeping didn't do the necessary thorough cleaning right after the previous occupants have checked-out. The bed sheet had some slight and small greyish stains here and there but was acceptable to me.

The room had individual controlled air-condition. But it was cold even when I turned the dial up to 30C. The room had tiled floor and it was cold if you step barefooted. Luckily the hotel provided a pair of nice comfy light weight sandals.

It was raining and windy for the two days while I was there. While on the way checking out the pool, saw some towels laid on the corridor on the lower ground floor in front of some rooms. Realised that there was leakage from the ceiling.

The pool was great with a small warm jacuzzi catering to those above 16yo. They also have a decent size kids pool available. All these are quite clean with the Spa center just next to the pool. The spa looks good to me. There is also adjacent kids playground and by the beach some recreational items like beach volleyball and beach football pitch. There is also a bar by the beach but didn't seemed open at least when I was down there around 8pm.

There is also a centre which houses some old video games, table tennis, WII, kids club and fitness center. Some items looked old but in good condition. There are also some board games available. The hotel also have planned 3 interesting activities daily catering to all ages (almost all are free) but I didn't have time to check it out.

There was two lifts available but only one was functioning. No complaints on this as the hotel is only 5 storey high and staying during non-peak periods, I didn't have to wait too long.

On the second day, realised the room key card was not functioning. Went back down to the lobby and found another guest having the same problem. Guess the hotel must have deactivate the key card. This shouldn't have happen for a hotel like this. It was already night time when I returned to the hotel, so I would assume there were other guest experiencing the same problem earlier.

The beach was quite clean. The hotel must have 'imported' find white beach sands elsewhere and place it on the volleyball and football area. A little down the beach it was the typical greyish sand. The sea was a bit choppy when I was there and the water quality is nothing to shout about. There are some decks laid on the beach for guess to lazy around.

Breakfast was quite good. For dinner, I would advice you to drive out to a Muslim-Thai restaurant (if not mistaken called Sara Thai restaurant) about 5 mins drive. Just turn right after exiting the hotel, it should be on your right hand side. Good food and cheap prices as well as comfy place if you're into Muslim-Thai food.

Went to visit Cherating after checking out from the hotel. Most of the hotel in that area looked jaded. So was lucky to have chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerteh, Malaysia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I had lunch here today and were really disappointed. We had chosen the resort because of the decent reviews, nice photos, and the fact it had a few restaurants and a 'Parrot Bar', but it really didn't impress.

The hotel entrance is really nice and there's a deli in the foyer which looked quite nice. There's also a chinese restaurant but they were just setting up (2pm). We went looking for the Parrot Bar, which is located right beside the swimming pool but it was closed, despite the hotel website saying it opens at 11am.

The Terrace restaurant was open and this is where we had lunch. We were the only customers, and sat outside overlooking the pool which was okay but without any atmosphere. When we asked for wine, the girl looked at us as if we'd asked for holy water. We did eventually get 2 glasses of wine but they tasted like vinegar. We were given bread rolls that we could have used as deadly weapons, and we had to ask for water a couple of times.

Saying that, the food itself was okay... nothing to shout about but okay. I had a swiss burger and my husband had fish and chips, and after the disappointing build up, we were both pleasantly surprised.

The hotel didn't look busy at all, just a few people around the pool and perhaps this is why it lacked ambience, but they could have at least played some music, put some flowers on the tables anything to spice it up a bit. It is out os season at the moment but I don't think that's an excuse... if the hotel is open then it should be fully functional OR let people know via the website that certain outlets are closed.

All in all we wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for the feed back on the services rendered at Swiss Garden Resort and Spa Kuantan and we will further improve on the mentioned feed back especially on the dining experience at the Garden Terrace Restaurant.
We assure you that all your comments have been passed on to our respective Outlets to ensure that there is no repetition in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to SwissGarden Kuantan on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Good : View from the suite was great., Good restaurant options and food.
The chinese restaurant is one of the best I have eaten in entire Malaysia
Excellent service

The bad: the beach is average...we split between cherating and kuantan and cherating wins hands down on this.

the hotel property is small as in vertically built so not much of a resort :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 14 days and it was a very nice hotel, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and all facileties are there, Gym - Bar - two Restaurants and a Music Bar and a nice SPA. I would say its the nicest hotel as we also visited the Hyatt but the faceleties and beach is nicer at Swiss Garden.
We arrived with our car from Singapore and I recommend to take the "highway" number 3 up top Kuantan. Empty road and relaxed driving. With the car we could leave the hotel and not far away are a lot of nice restaurants. If you drive into Kuantan just at the beginning on th left side is a nice STEAKHOUSE - very good food. We found around one KM further a nice taiwanese restaurant. Its in the fist floor "little Taiwan Kitchen" - very nice taiwan beef noddle soup.
The hotel is very nice for families with kids, at the beach is a beach football place and ATV's can be rent. If you are an "explorer - family" take your car and visit the nearby cave or fireflies. Also empty beaches in the direction of Cherating. Just a few 100m - when you leave the hotel turn right - is a batik shop nice batik pictures and wood carvings. Definetly one of the nicest hotels in Kuantan Chearting.

Room Tip: TIP: When you make a reservation ask for the rooms at the end of the two hotel wings - calm areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at Swissgarden Resort and Spa Kuantan, Your positive feed back on our services has been passed on to our staff who strive to maintain the Swiss Garden International brand standards.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Resort for 14 days and look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Kuantan.
Thank you once again from all of us at Swissgarden Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Been to the worse hotel? Nightmare of your vacation? No? Then try this hotel. Ridiculously dirty! With mosquitos n flies all over, in your room n restaurants. Guess what? Ever tried bedbugs biting you? Visit this hotel, you will get plenty! Heard of a jacuzzi that do not allow children in it? Sound ridiculous n absurd! I love having my daughter around me when m in the jacuzzi, having a lovely chat together. We do it every week at my place. But I can't do it in this stupid hotel! I paid to stay! Not to be chase away! Worst vacation ever!

Room Tip: None of it is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family trip from the 24th to 27th Dec 2012 was made enjoyable for the excellence and friendly service rendered by the staff of all the outlets. Even though it was the monsoon season but they catered to our needs. Special mention to the front office ladies Noor Faiezah and her colleague on the 27th dec night who listen and attended to my rpoblem at 2.30am. Thank you. Not forgetting the GM Mr. Rayan and Tengku of Malibu. thank you..thank you ...thank you

Room Tip: get rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Swissgarden Resort and Spa during your recent visit to Kuantan. It was a pleasure meeting up with you and getting the feedbacks that could help us to further improve our services.
We have also passed on your positive feedbacks to our staff, especially at the malibu and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back during your next visit to Kuantan and I do hope to meet up with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.