We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and room were great but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan to your Saves list
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Kuantan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Location and room were great but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had booked 3 seaview room. The room were well kept eventhough the furnishing is a little dated. great beach and view.

However, there are things that I felt seriously need some action and improvement. We were horrified with the amount of flies found mingering on all the foods on the breakfast table and all guests table. I'd never seen anything like that in any resorts or hotels. I immediately lost appetite once I saw this. How do they expect guests to eat all the food with hundreds of flies flying around the restaurants. They should have done some pest control measure to prevent this or otherwise it must be serious hygienic issue here. When we ask for cutleries, we were told to serve ourselves. Nevermind, I went ahead to collect the cutleries at the entrance of restaurant, but to my horrid the spoon were still sticked with butter and jam. This is really unacceptable for a 4star resort. furthermore, we paid much more during the hari raya peak season to get such service.The resorts may say they are lack of staffs but to the guests this is not their business. They are there to enjoy their stay. The resorts had been in business for years and they should be experience enough to handle peak season and hygienic issue.
The gym room and the game room were too outdated and cramped in one place. It's time for the managment to do some refurbishment here.

Room Tip: Seaview room but request second floor or higher for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Hotel Kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay with us. We have noted the comments on the flies especially during the breakfast period and relevant measures have now be put in place to try to minimize this problem. The condition of the flatware has also been brought up to the relevant departments to ensure that there is consistency being maintained at all times
We do hope that you will once again stay with us during your next visit to Kuantan and give us an opportunity to show case our Swiss Garden Brand standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    233
    150
    44
    29
See reviews for
237
151
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here during the recent Hari Raya holidays, which was not really a good idea, as the hotel was packed with holiday goers and the swimming pool was too crowded to have a good swim.There was not enough lounging chairs to go around too. Do be careful at the adult pool as the depth is at 5 feet (1.5m), which is a bit deep for the average Malaysians. I have seen a guest panicking as she stepped off the pool stairs only to find the water over her head! Luckily my husband was nearby to help her.

Nevertheless, we enjoyed ourselves at the vast beach where the kids spent hours playing in the shallow tidal pools, catching crabs, fishes and shrimps or just building sandcastles.

We were disappointed with the breakfast which was poor in quality and taste and of the same type of dishes two days in a row. As the hotel has anticipated a large crowd, they opened a function hall in addition to their Garden Terrace Cafe to serve breakfast. But I wished they use a "first come first serve" policy than pre-assigning the breakfast venue with a stamp on our room cards. Like most guests, we preferred to eat in the nicer Garden Terrace Cafe with a lovely view and contemporary decor rather than the dull function room. I could hear other guests muttering their disappointment too when we were turned away from the cafe to be directed to the hall (most guests do not realise what the "Hibiscus Hall" stamp on their room cards meant on their first days).

Our garden view rooms were not too bad, but a bit tired-looking and wornout. And the rates for the arcade games at the games room has tripled since we last stayed here some time back !
This hotel is conveniently located - Kuantan town and seafood restaurants with good food are just a short drive away.

Minor grouses aside, we still managed to have a good time, especially at the beach and trying out the delicious seafood at the nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Hotel Kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay with us. Measures have been taken to further improve our breakfast and a rotation schedule has been reviewed with the introduction of more a la minute stalls.
Due to the peak season an additional venue was opened for breakfast to cope with the influx of guests. We have noted your feedback on the first come serve basis and will implement this in the future. We are looking at refurbishing the Garden View rooms in the first quarter of 2013.
once again thank you for your feed back and look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss Garden Kuantan in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It is perfectly located on a nice beautiful beach!
The swimming pool is lovely.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable!

A bit too far from the city!
The breakfast selection was disappointing!
The staff service needs improvement, I called back the next day as my sister misplaced her driver licence. And I requested the hotel staff to check and let me know if it was in one of the room we stayed in, but we didn't hear from them ever since!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Hotel Kuantan as your choice hotel during your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for not responding fast enough regarding your drivers licence which we have not found in the room.
We have noted your feed back on the quality of breakfast and have since done a review with the chef's and added on two more a la minute stations.
We will continue to train our staff to further improve on the services to uphold our Swiss garden brand standards.
Once again thank you for staying at Swiss Garden Kuantan and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed in a deluxe sea-view room with my husband and 10-month-old baby. The room was clean and very big. There was lots of space to move around, and fit a baby cot. The room overlooks the swimming pool, and some of the sea. It wasn't really noisy, even though it faced the swimming pool, which was popular with babies & kids.

The swimming pool was really great, there was a large wading pool, and a jacuzzi which worked well.

Breakfast was included, and it did its job, there was bread (although not as great a variety as I would like), cereal, fruits, some veggies for salad, hot drinks, local breakfast such as nasi lemak, fried rice/ noodles. On our second morning, there was pancakes, but none for the third morning.

If you do not have your own car, you'll have to catch a taxi to pretty much everywhere. There is a seafood restaurant about 10 minutes drive away (Pak Su restaurant), which had quite good seafood. The taxi ride was pretty expensive though (RM40), although I am not sure whether this was because we visited on the Hari Raya weekend, when most drivers are on leave.

Overall, the resort was good for a relaxing beach holiday, just lazing on the beach, and doing nothing else. If you have children, they will definitely love the pool. There was some kids' game room (arcade machines, basically), but we did not visit that.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Hotel Kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay in Kuantan. We thank you for the positive feed back on our services and hardware and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is my 2nd time staying at this resort after a span of almost 6 years. This resort sits on a perfect location for city escapade. You'll be spoilt by its private sandy beaches.

The garden view rooms spot the same layout and interior compared to that 6 years ago. I'd recommend one to go for seaview room as it comes with better floorboard and more conducive interiors. The air-conditioning system needs an overhaul though. This besides, and for the price we paid, I wouldn't compain much but definitely there is room for further improvement.

The local staff are commendably friendly and helpful. They looked happier than us city dwellers, so to speak! Patience was shown by the reception staff in their service even though they supposed to celebrate the eve of their new year when we checked in.

I will consider returning for my next visit upon when I hope that some refurbishment has been put on. Do keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Go for the seaview rooms with better interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for selecting swissgarden hotel kuantan as your choice hotel during your stay in kuantan. We thank you for taking time to write your feed back during your stay at the Resort. We plan to refurbish the garden view rooms by the 1st quarter of 2013. We have also noted your feedback on the air conditioning system and will look into this matter, especially during peak periods.
We thank you on the positive feed back on our staff who are an asset to us and will continue to strive to deliver the services rendered of the Swiss Garden Brand.
Once again thank you for the feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel was nice, with number of interesting restaurants and a lovely pool and 5 minutes away from the beach, which is very private. Rooms are large, and you shld ask for the ones facing the pool which also faces the beach. They have rooms that face the garden, which are more private. Some quaint food stalls are very close by and also some sea food restaurants too, which are a bit pricey being the only ones around.

The cleaning staff shld do a better job to dust the rooms though, but overall its value for money. You can get better hotels at Cherating, but its much further away and has no nightlife there. So Swiss Garden is a good choice for its location and facilities. Lots of Europeans and Asian families seem to like this place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are lovely but can be noisy due to pool activities. Choose the 4th floor for le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for staying at Swiss garden Resort Kuantan. We have noted your comments on the cleaning services and have notified our Housekeeping department . We have also intensified our daily checking of rooms to ensure that all rooms are clean and in order prior to guests checking in.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuantan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently visited Kuantan (16th to 18th August, 2012) and stayed at the Swiss-Garden(SG) Resort there for the duration of three nights. I had booked for the family package which included breakfast for myself, my wife and my two young kids.The price for this package (RM 588) for two nights and three days was a reasonable price. he SG resort is situated about 12 kms from Kuantan city and is bang on the beach. We stayed in room 8454 on level 4 having a garden view. The room was spacious enough for all four of us and also had a balcony with a view of the surrounding greenery. Everything worked well in the room except for the bed which was kinda old and used to sink in whenever I slept in it. After the first uncomfortable night, the house keeping changed it (after being prompted a couple of times) and I faced no further problem. The beach itself is excellent with fine and soft sand. Our kids had a great time playing in the water and on the sand. There was also a good kiddies pool at the hotel - clean and well kept. Our kids were having such a great time everyday on the beach and in the pool that I decided to extend our stay by one more night which cost me RM 232 - again a very reasonable price. We also could stay in the same room too. Breakfast on all the days was pretty routine. Being vegetarians, we requested the chef to provide some veggie food for us and they promptly obliged with a smile. I must thank the main chef who was always around to look after the needs of the customers. We also had one dinner at the Blossoms Chinese restaurant. This was the only blot on an otherwise peaceful stay at the SG. The restaurant was full and there seemed to be only one lady waitress. Hence, we had to wait for more than an hour for our set meal. (I also wish the hostess payed the same attention to Malaysians and not always just cater to the white tourists, bit disconcerting this). Over all, our stay was pleasant, chiefly due to the smiling attitude and service of all the hotel staff. A quality hotel is known by the way its staff treats its guests. Only this leaves lasting memories of a place - sometimes to last a lifetime. The SG can be such a quality place. if you ask me, whether I would stay at the SG once again - the answer would be definitely yes.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground level as they can be quite noisy being close to the other facilities. Levels 2 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayanKomatt, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for selecting Swiss Garden Kuantan as your choice Hotel during your recent stay at the Hotel.
We have noted your feed back on the beds, and we are currently planning to refurbish these rooms which will be in the first quarter of 2013. Your feed back on the Blossom Restaurant has been noted and we have since re looked into the manning strength.
We are glad that your family had a great time at the pool and beach and also your positive feedback on our head chef whom we acknowledge as an asset to us.
We are glad that you appreciate our staff's friendliness and service delivery which is in line with our Swiss Garden brand standards.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss garden Kuantan on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan

Address: 2656 & 2657, Mukim Sungai Karang | Balok Beach, Beserah, Kuantan 26100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky, sea and sun provide a peaceful backdrop to a landscape so alluring it stirs the emotions. The vivid colours of nature's palette glow in the soft tropical light accenting the purity of air, water and land. From the colors of the sunset, to soothing air greeting you with a warm embrace; the newly refurbished Swiss- Garden Beach Resort, Kuantan, offers sensual delights at every turn with the recent completion of its refurbishment exercise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Resort And Spa
Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.