We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherating Eastana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cherating Eastana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
lot 1/772, Pantai Cherating | Kg. Cherating Lama, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Kuantan
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice resort !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

stay here with family when i visit Malaysia, even short time cause i don't have enough time that time to visit all place, the room for me clean enough, the price also ok,hot shower and aircon, the beach also beautiful, for sure i will come back here again next time when i visit Malaysia again !

Room Tip: Cause i bring family, choose more bigger room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Room is alright for the price of standard room 100 RM/night (however these go up on weekend days). Town center is nearby and room is clean enough. Hot shower and aircon. Chalets are located in nice garden.

However, the transport they offer is NOT a taxi transport! Some family member with a small car with hardly any room for your luggage, and turned up late! (we had to put our bags next to us in the rear seat because the driver had company with him). It was just 5 RM cheaper to go to Kuantan and not worth it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastanaBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Cherating Eastana Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Elle-trip,

thank you for taking your time to review our resort. We appreciate it a lot and are glad to hear that you had a successful stay.

In addition, we are pleased to let you know that our taxi service has been improved. By now, we possess a van with enough space for a whole family plus luggage and our driver stands-by at the resort.

We hope to see you again at Eastana Cherating and to introduce you to our new restaurant and club.

Thanks again,
The Eastana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked 6 chalets for a group family getaway during the Eid 2012 break. The overall village feel is great, for city folk like us to experience. It must be added that the chalets and surrounds are well taken care of. There have been refurbishments of the chalets, which provide above average comfort. However, do find the plus n minus points as follows:

Plus points:
- Clean chalets and well kept surrounds
- BBq pit for impromptu bbqs (get your supplies from nearby Kemaman town).
- close by shops for emergencies (drink, food etc)
- close to 'night' spots like Little Bali which provide live bands etc
- nearby walking distance to the mangrove swamps for firefly watching

Minus points:
- Small shower n toilet cubicle, but expected for RM120 per nite.
- Should have a small broom in the rooms to sweep dust n sand out.
- Rooms not cleaned throughout the 2 night stay.
- The beds felt small, perhaps for children's size? Did make a complaint on that to the front desk.
- The 'resort' is a good 5minute walk to the beach via a filthy slip road between Duyong resort and Cherating beach resort. Dirty is the word. Made a complaint to the front desk on this as it seriously mars the experience. Why is the a garbage collection pit right on this slip road which holiday dwellers from Eastana, Residence inn and Moon bay resort have to use? To avoid the sight and stench, we walked through Ranting resort, which was not much respite as rubbish (used diapers, broken bottles, plastic bottles, plastic bags) was strewn everywhere on their part of the beach. This is a crying shame, as it is very obvious that the holiday dwellers living in the area are contributing to the rubbish. The waters and the beach itself is beautiful, as it is in a cove which is protected from rough waters (like in Teluk Chempedak). It was heartbreaking seing such rubbish, and until something is collectively done by the resort operators and the council, stay well away to avoid disappointment.

Overall, you get what you paid for ie RM120 per nite, but there are far better resorts for the same price ie Angullia in KT which take care of their stretch of sand for the same price, which is not the same to be said for the operators in Pantai Cherating.

Room Tip: Avoid the font chalets as there are 'mat rempits' at night testing their poor motor skills r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastanaBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Cherating Eastana Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear JemimaBond,

First of all, we thank you very much for your review. We appreciate it a lot.

After reading your complaints, we would like to comment on your review as well. The size of our bathrooms is big enough for everything you need. To call it a cubicle is for sure exaggerated.

If you wish to have your room cleaned during your stay, please let the reception know. We don't want to intrude your privacy, so we only provide this service on request.

To give us a bad review based on the dirt road leading to the beach or the garbage of Duyong is not fair. We have no influence on this matter even though we are very much aware of this issue.

On the other hand, we are pleased to hear that you liked the chalets and the possibility to have a BBQ. You will be happy to hear that soon we can provide our guests with a restaurant and a club on our property.

Hope to see you again in Cherating!

Thank you one more time,
The Eastana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My friends and I were looking for a reasonable priced place to stay in Cherating for two nights. Most places we found were pricey and hence we started looking at B&Bs / Inns. We came across Estana Beach Resort and decided to book two rooms for the weekend. The design of this resort was chalet styled.

Here's my review:

Amenities:
- Two twin beds
- 2 pillows, air-conditioned, small TV with local channels and kettle
- Bathroom attached

Price:
RM 130 per night per room

Pros:
- It's a three minute walk to the beach
- Surrounded by restaurants / stalls and souvenir shops

Cons:
- Tried booking the place via email however they never answer / confirm the booking
- Have to call them up to book the rooms and the reception staff barely speaks English
- The first room we were assigned had ants so we requested for another room. They were willing to give us another room, however the second room was also crawling with ants. I had ants crawling all over my bed and had to use insect repellent (Mosi-guard) to keep the ants at bay.
- The bathroom had poor ventilation and every time somebody poops, the smell remains in the bathroom.
- The place is not very clean and you can see dirt on the walls etc
- The place is hard to find as there are no signs to indicate on the main road where the resort is located
- The resort is poorly maintained

Notes:
- This place is opposite Residence Inn Cherating so when you see the sign on the main road indicating "Residence Inn", get ready to turn right at the junction (if you are coming from KL / Kuantan)
- Bring insect repellant if you want to stay in this place
- Water is available for purchase at the reception for RM 2.00

Overall I would say this place is not really worth staying cause the ants are really a big turn-off....

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastanaBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Cherating Eastana Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear hypernut,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to review Eastana Cherating. We appreciate it a lot.

Unfortunately, we had to learn that you were not satisfied with our service. Especially your complaint about the cleanliness made us wonder, though, since we place special importance to this point. We are located in a small village where you find many insects. If guests bring food to the rooms, it can happen that ants will follow. But of course, we eliminate them as soon as possible.

It is true that there is no sign on the main road. You might be happy to hear that this is already in planning and soon to be installed.

As for the staff, we trained them further towards customer service and can guarantee you English speaking personnel for your future stay.

By the way, within the next few weeks we are opening up a new building on our properties. There you will find a restaurant and a surf club.

We hope to see you again here in Cherating to give you a better image of our resort.

Sincerely,
The Eastana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is a budget accommodation, but the friendly service provided by the manager is unforgettable. The beach and other on-the-beach accommodation nearby are nothing to talk about.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastanaBeachResort, Front Office Manager at Cherating Eastana Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear slowchuan,

Thank you for taking your time to review our chalets. We appreciate the effort and are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Eastana Cherating. Our aim is to satisfy our dear guests and make their holiday an enjoyable experience.

Thanks again!
The Eastana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherating Eastana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherating Eastana Beach Resort

Address: lot 1/772, Pantai Cherating | Kg. Cherating Lama, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2-minute walk from Cherating Beach, this resort features traditional Malay chalets with a private terrace and free Wi-Fi. It offers barbecue facilities and a 24-hour front desk. Eastana Cherating Beach Resort is less than 500 metres from Cherating Turtle Sanctuary and Limbong Art, which offers batik courses. The resort is a 20-minute drive from Kuantan Town and 41 km from Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Airport. Fitted with tiled flooring, simply furnished rooms feature neutral cream and light brown colours. The air-conditioned rooms come with a TV and a private bathroom. A hairdryer is available on request. Guests can sing in the karaoke room, make travel arrangements at the tour desk or head to the nearby beach for water sports such as snorkeling and kayaking. A drink vending machine is available at Eastana Cherating. Open round-the-clock, the front desk offers luggage storage and fax/photocopying services. Free parking is provided. Hotel Rooms: 48. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cherating Eastana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherating Eastana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.