We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best curry noodles in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Hoi Yin

Restaurant Hoi Yin
No. 31, Jalan Teluk Cempedak, Kuantan, Kuantan, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 126 restaurants in Kuantan
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The best curry noodles in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The curry noodles served here come with succulent chicken pieces, cockles and others. The secret to a good bowl of curry noodles lie in the gravy - this is not too spicy, not too thick and very fragrant with dried shrimp and curry spices. Best of all, a lot of malay customers patronise this shop - it is Halal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    6
    13
    18
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
“Very Bad Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very unhappy at this restaurant.. I ordered 2 curry mee, 1 of it don want scallops. The waitress told me today no scallop. Then i ask her got chicken or not, she told me got. When my curry mee come, there is no chicken in the curry mee. I go to aask the boss, the boss said chicken finish. she replace with egg and fish ball only.. I ask them why never inform, she just say if i don wan to eat can leave it there.. what kind of service is this? Maybe is the business is too good so they could don care for the service. When i pay for the bill,the mee is same price with normal(with chicken). I definately will not go back to this restaurant anymore.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average-tastes like anynormal curry mee that's available in food courts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I could easily get better tasting curry mee anywhere. Worth a try if you're just hanging out in TC but not worth the trouble driving from other places

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Read from various sources online that this is a must try in Kuantan.

As I was staying just next door, Hyatt Regency, so it gives me no excuse not to try it.

The food would be rated 3 stars, it is very home cooked style with no frills. Do not expect some fancy restaurant exotic style curry, just plain simple curry noodles like how your mum would do it at home.

The extra star is given for the friendly cordial service from the people there. English speaking locals that are accommodating and helpful.

Please do go there early in the day (breakfast or lunch) as was met with disapointment on the first day when I paid them a visit at 2-3pm on the first day of my stay.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Great Flavour of the curry noodle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Not too thick so you can drink the gravy. Halal and I loved the flavour of the curry...Yumms!!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Hoi Yin also viewed

Kuantan, Kuantan District
Kuantan, Kuantan District
 
Kuantan, Kuantan District
Kuantan, Kuantan District
 

Been to Restaurant Hoi Yin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Hoi Yin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.