We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly awful experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bukit Gambang Resort City

Save Saved
You added Bukit Gambang Resort City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bukit Gambang Resort City
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Bukit Gambang Utama, Kuantan 26300 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 hotels in Kuantan
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A truly awful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Firstly we booked a family room at the Caribbean Bay. But after taking our money we were then rang up and told the Caribbean Bay was closed but we would be put in the Arabian resort. So no funfair as advertised. A bad start.
Our room in the Arabian resort was not clean – there were dirty marks all over the walls. Also the fridge didn’t work. I rang reception who said that housekeeping would fix it. Nobody came!
None of the power points worked in the back bedroom. So no TV, and we could not plug in any of our own devices, and there was a leak in the bathroom sink.
After complaining numerous times to reception, eventually on the Friday morning someone came to fix these things.
It got worse, on Friday evening there was the most horrible and loud karaoke party taking place by the pool directly underneath our window. It was scheduled to go on till 11pm and none of my children (or my wife and I) could sleep or do anything above the din.
Other complaints. Almost all the ‘hot’ dishes at the breakfast buffet were cold; and the advertised safari park is almost entirely empty as it is not even close to completion yet. Why open it to the public now?? The worst tour of my life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    50
    23
    16
See reviews for
85
Couples
0
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Was there for a church conference it's a decent resort with decent food and good service from ground staff. Excellent ballrooms and superb wifi coverage for whole resorts !

However rooms are average (carribean) towels were old and the pool need to be repaired as tiles are peeling off from the base of the pool .

Waterpark and safari zoo nearby is a big plus . Would recommend this place for conference producers as for family if there are plans to drive out for sight seeing etc then is fine

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The room was comfortable but troublesome when there's no light in from of our rooms.Quite disappointed with the Arabian Coffee House services. We have to wait for 1 hour for our drinks. When we asked about our order status they just said sorry that asam pedas set is finish so we have to order other food again. So i choose sambal udang set but when we received our food in our rooms after 2 hours which they promise will be ready within 1/2 hours the waitress just said sorry AGAIN that the sambal udang set is finish even though previously she double confirm that food is available. The wild Savannah is not ready yet and the fire show so boring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked a package for Studio Suite (RM768.00) and Family suite (RM1348.00) at Arabian Bay Resort for 3 days and 2 nights last week, what we experienced were as follow:-

1) As the 1st timer, we found no clear sign board along the road outside the Resort for check-in.
2) There is not sign board for "Check-in" / "Check-out" or "Cashier" at the lobby counters.
3) Requested for extra bed, but only supplied a mattress without folded bed for RM50.00 per night.
4) Charged RM2 / person for taking the Tram from Hotel to Safari / Water park and only for one way, should be free for hotel guests.
5) No proper indication and explanation for Tram-ride in Safari park at the ticket counters, we exchanged a red arm-band but later only told that only brown arm-bank is entitled for Tram-ride, how you expect guests with more than 70 years old to walk around the Safari? 6) No proper control for guests to q-up for taking the Tram from Safari park back to Resort. 7) The Wifi signal is poor and complaint to the counter (Cik Shamsia?) at about 9.00am, but no staff attend to it until 12.10 noon after 2nd call to Miss Selina. 8) The corridor is dark outside the rooms during day time. ********Not worth for the packages of RM2116.00********

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I think my topic discusses everything about my thought precisely. I didn't receive the toilet tissue till my 4th day here although I had requested many times. I stayed at the Arabian, the room was OK but there were 'water pool' and 'waterfalls' near the stairs although it wasn't raining days. I need to pass through the stairs to have my breakfast. The food was ordinary just like in RM80/night hotel. The staffs here were unsure or didn't share info of the outdoor activities, i.e: we're told that the time for horse ride was different by different staffs. The safari haven't totally opened yet but they had launched the opening. I felt I had been cheated by the promotion. Barren and half baked safari! We planned to watch animal show on our second night but we're (plus 80-100 audience) attacked by flying termites! Guys, if you plan to go somewhere in Kuantan, it is better to stay in Kuantan which has more activities that you can do. It is nothing here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoesoo, Senior Executive, Marketing & Communications at Bukit Gambang Resort City, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warmest greetings from Bukit Gambang Resort City!

Thank you for taking the time to communicate with us why the services did not meet your expectations. We assure you that the management is taking your comments seriously and we are doing our best to rectify the situation.

We would also like to find out more about your staying experience with us. We would much appreciate if you could write an email to zoe@sentoria.com.my regarding your experience, as well as your check-in date and room number.

Our sincere apologies once again.

Best regards,
Zoe Soo
Senior Executive, Marketing & Communications
Sentoria Themeparks & Resorts Sdn Bhd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed a night on July 27 and it was clean and comfortable. Beautiful area with pool, however didn't have a chance to go in it. Hallways were dim as they turn off some of the lights on our 5th floor at the Arabian Building 1.

I liked the design of the buildings (resort) and the nice mountain view facing out our window. Had their breakfast , lunch and dinner at the restaurant. The food was ok but not spectacular for the price.

The safari was just recently completed and thought we were there more for the construction (since most of the animals were not there yet) then viewing the animals in the safari, however this being said there were also a part where you get to see white lions lying around and sleeping on top of a shelter in the other section of the Safari. There's also a petting zoo inside. The tram ride was the interesting part since it felt like we were in Juraissic part when they opened the double gates, one at a time. The opening of the gates and trail was very narrow, was amazed how the tram got around the place.

Managed to have a pic taken with a boa constrictor albeit a small one, around my neck. Saw the animal show but didn't get a chance to see the fire show.

There were other activities across the hotel, ie ATV activies, flying fox, horseback riding of which we would have to wait for the next time around since we didn't have enough time. Please check if they are open on weekdays.

Overall it was an enjoyable weekend even though 2.5 hours drive from KL 1 way.

Room Tip: If you have time to go east Coast then this place would be a good place to stay a night. Kuantan was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoesoo, Senior Executive, Marketing & Communications at Bukit Gambang Resort City, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Warmest greetings from Bukit Gambang Resort City!

Thank you for choosing BGRC. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliment is an encouragement to our staff to keep up their good work as well as to maintain our good services.

Hope to have your visit again to Bukit Gambang Resort City!

Best regards,
Zoe Soo
Senior Executive, Marketing & Communications
Sentoria Themeparks & Resorts Sdn Bhd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Been to BGR in April with my family and was totally disappointed with the hotel. The flooring was dusty and dirty when we stepped into the room. The air-cons were not cooling at all (despite setting it to the lowest temperature). There were stains on the bed-sheet and the toilet seat was broken. Not to mention, there's this old conventional TV and the channels featured are not clear. Breakfast on a Sunday morning was decent, it's a buffet spread BUT breakfast on a Monday morning was a direct opposite, total turn-off. We can only choose 1 breakfast set each. The waitress who served us was not friendly and when we asked why it's not a buffet style, she just shifted the blame to the chef. The only saving grace is the Gambang Water Park which is located near to the Carribean Bay Resort. Otherwise, the hotel stay is really not worth your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bukit Gambang Resort City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukit Gambang Resort City

Address: Jalan Bukit Gambang Utama, Kuantan 26300 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bukit Gambang Resort City 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bukit Gambang Resort City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukit Gambang Resort City Hotel Kuantan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bukit Gambang Resort City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.