We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean for a night or two” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Classic Hotel to your Saves list
Classic Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   No.7,Bangunan LKNP (Hotel Pahang), Jalan Besar, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 42 Kuantan B&B and Inns
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean for a night or two”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice, modest hotel near the river. Even the hotel was pretty basic, it was very clean. Bathroom in our room had just been renovated and it was like in better hotels. Also the bed was incredibly nice. There was a new flat-screen TV and pretty many channels. However, not so many English channels is not. The Hotel have free WIFI on common areas and rooms.
Modest breakfast was also included in the room rate. Walking in price for Standard Room was amazing cheap 80RM/night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in quad room. Spacious room. Breakfast simple and good. Kudos to auntie who prepared buffet spread which my family enjoyed. Room windows should be improved.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

My review concurs with the others on this site - there's nothing amazing about this hotel, but it does the required job.

Kuantan doesn't have a lot to attract tourists - it's a place for locals to live and work, not a holiday destination, so many hotels are more geared to businessmen than backpackers or tourists. I stayed there 2 nights while waiting for an available seat on a bus to my onward destination. Rooms are in the mid-range price, rather than budget (I paid 98RM a night, roughly £20).

Classic Hotel is a large, fairly characterless block. The rooms are comfortable and clean. There are decent amenities (wifi, tv, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, ensuite with hot water, hot breakfast included). They changed the sheets every day.

I took a room facing the river - unfortunately there's a fairly derelict plot of land between the back of the hotel and the river (plus the alleyway where they keep the bins) so the view is a little bit spoiled. But I suppose it's better than facing the main street at the front!

There's really nothing much to complain about, just nothing to get excited about either. If you're stuck in town over night and need a clean place to get some sleep, it'll do.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

When we stayed here the hotel was quite empty and very few foreign people. Easy to have a room. They are very basic and charmless. Big cockroach in the bathroom, but he was more afraid than us. Don't stay here more than one night. Except for the beautiful blue mosque there is not too much to do. If you want to buy beers go to the chinese shop.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

On our trip to the Taman Negara Park we stayed for 1 night at the classic hotel. Kuantan is quite a busy and noisy town, so go for the riverview rooms! Room was OK for the price, not far away on the same road is the Tjantek Art Bistro, which is a good food option.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed one night at the Classic Hotel. We checked out the other Lonely Planet recommendations in the area and were not impressed by what we saw. The price of the Classic (92 RM with taxes) was a bit more than we had been spending on rooms but we needed a good rest.
The room was large with a tv and large bathroom as well. The bed was comfy enough. The stay included a great big breakfast with local options as well as eggs and toast type breakfast foods.
Our room looked back onto the river. The hotel is walking distance to most anywhere in the city but we did need to take a taxi to the bus station.
Overall for a one or two night stay this place does the trick. Nothing fancy but it's clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hotel

Address: No.7,Bangunan LKNP (Hotel Pahang), Jalan Besar, Kuantan 25000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Classic Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.